Switch Theme:

Eldar Deepstriking Warlord Trait  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Had a quick question about the Seer of the Shifting Vector Warlord Trait.

Since it allows friendly units with the Eldar Faction to deepstrike without scatter, would I be able to use that for Fire Dragons in a Dark Eldar Venom? I assume I could do it the other way around with a Wave Serpent full of Grotesque or if I had a Dark Eldar character attached to the Eldar unit, but I'm not as sure about using a different faction's vehicle with an Eldar unit embarked on it.
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





You won't get a clear answer, re: Purifier's in blood angels fast attack pods.


Personally, yes. The unit is arriving by deep strike.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/19 01:03:13


 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





greytalon666 wrote:
You won't get a clear answer, re: Purifier's in blood angels fast attack pods.


Personally, yes. The unit is arriving by deep strike.


Which unit? The transport, or the infantry embarked on it?

I'd also check to see if the warlord trait is restricted by detachment- i,.e Tiggy's Master of Prescience.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Sure the Fire Dragons would arrive without scattering, but it's the Venom they're embarked on that you roll scatter for, no?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Breton wrote:
I'd also check to see if the warlord trait is restricted by detachment- i,.e Tiggy's Master of Prescience.

It applies to "... friendly units with the Eldar Faction..." which would disqualify the Dark Eldar Venom.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





They are ONE unit by virtue of combined unit rules.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 Ghaz wrote:
Breton wrote:
I'd also check to see if the warlord trait is restricted by detachment- i,.e Tiggy's Master of Prescience.

It applies to "... friendly units with the Eldar Faction..." which would disqualify the Dark Eldar Venom.


I went for the easy one first, as DE and Eldar can't be in the same detachment.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
greytalon666 wrote:
They are ONE unit by virtue of combined unit rules.


They are? Or are they two units that arrive together?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/19 02:38:20


My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

greytalon666 wrote:
They are ONE unit by virtue of combined unit rules.

Read the entire rule:

Friendly units with the Eldar Faction arriving by Deep Strike do not scatter as long as the first model is placed within 12" of the Warlord.

The first model to be placed is not a member of a "... friendly unit with the Eldar Faction..." so the unit in the Venom would not benefit, even if it is a unit with the Eldar Faction.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

greytalon666 wrote:
They are ONE unit by virtue of combined unit rules.


And yet you must place and roll scatter for the Venom, which isn't applicable for the benefit of the rule.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Seems reasonable enough. It will be fine the other way around as I said then, right? Eldar vehicles with dark eldar passengers.

Also, I don't really know how to define a unit's faction when it has some models from multiple factions. It sounds like you guys are saying as long as the first model placed is Eldar, than the rest of the unit won't scatter. So Autarch with wings attached to Scourges or something would make the whole unit land with precision as long as the Autarch is the first model I place?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 lessthanjeff wrote:
It sounds like you guys are saying as long as the first model placed is Eldar, than the rest of the unit won't scatter. So Autarch with wings attached to Scourges or something would make the whole unit land with precision as long as the Autarch is the first model I place?

The problem with that however is the IC counts as a member of the unit he has joined for all rules purposes.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 lessthanjeff wrote:
Also, I don't really know how to define a unit's faction when it has some models from multiple factions. It sounds like you guys are saying as long as the first model placed is Eldar, than the rest of the unit won't scatter. So Autarch with wings attached to Scourges or something would make the whole unit land with precision as long as the Autarch is the first model I place?


As Ghaz alludes to, it depends on what the unit being placed's faction is. In the case of the Venom it's of the Dark Eldar faction regardless of what's embarked upon it. In the case of an Independent Character having joined another unit then it will be the unit's, rather than the joined Independent Character's, faction. In the case of one Independent Character joined to another, it will be the faction of the Independent Character who was joined (i.e. the one who did not move into coherency) because of how the rules for Independent Characters joining other units are worded.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 lessthanjeff wrote:


Also, I don't really know how to define a unit's faction when it has some models from multiple factions. It sounds like you guys are saying as long as the first model placed is Eldar, than the rest of the unit won't scatter. So Autarch with wings attached to Scourges or something would make the whole unit land with precision as long as the Autarch is the first model I place?


Probably not. Does the Autarch join the scourges, or do the scourges join the autarch? You're talking about deep strike, so they're off the table (thus nobody "moved into coherency with the other) and every reference I've ever seen says the IC joins the unit.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

When deciding which units are kept as Reserves, you must specify if any of the Independent Characters in Reserve are joining a unit...
- Combined Reserve Units

You specified the order of joining as part of the Reserve process.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





So there's a place where you can specifiy which units are joining IC's or does it only the joining in one direction during that reserves step?

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Where in the Combined Reserve Unit Rule does it grant permission to specify that the Unit is joining the Independent Character?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/07/20 19:18:43


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The venom is not a dedicated transport for the fire dragons, as such, it has different rules and is not a part of the same unit.

Choose the Venom and the dragons can come with it.

Choose the dragons and the venom does not come with them.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




vancouver bc

Hang on, DE are battle brothers to Eldar, and are Eldar Faction to boot, so both the Venom and Fire Dragons would benefit from this warlord trait, no?

Samurai Eldar, Coming to a Croneworld Near You.

Wet Coast GT 2015 Best Overall
TSHFT 3rd Place, Best Eldar
Guardian Cup 8.5 Best General
Attack-X Best Overall
WGWB Best Overall
Tanksgiving Best Overall, Best Painted
22-2 for 2015 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





Eldar and Dark Eldar are not different faction? I thought they were allied in, and you can't ally in the same faction?

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 ibushi wrote:
Hang on, DE are battle brothers to Eldar, and are Eldar Faction to boot, so both the Venom and Fire Dragons would benefit from this warlord trait, no?

Eldar are Faction: Eldar while Dark Eldar are Faction: Dark Eldar. They're not the same Faction.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

effreem wrote:
The venom is not a dedicated transport for the fire dragons, as such, it has different rules and is not a part of the same unit.

Choose the Venom and the dragons can come with it.

Choose the dragons and the venom does not come with them.


Even if the Venom were a dedicated transport for the Fire Dragons it still has different rules and would still not be part of the same unit.

The rules for 'Combined Reserve Units' allows you to choose to role for the unit and/or its transport vehicle/joined independent characters, so if you choose the Venom and have declared the Fire Dragons are embarked then the Fire Dragons will come with it.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: