Switch Theme:

Does command abilities affect the hero using the ability.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in hk
Fresh-Faced New User




When you have command abilities that say for example " affects models within 8" of the hero using the ability", does that mean that the hero gains the ability himself too or not?

I think it's weird that a model is not within range of itself but certain command abilities specifically mention that the General is also afffected. If they're always within the range, saying that they get the rule too would be pointless.

But the wording is quite inconsistent across the board, most seem to imply they are to be used on other units..
   
Made in gb
Repentia Mistress





We play it as written - if it says "affects units within X"..." then that model does not get the bonus unless it states otherwise.

Heroes are buffing units and it makes sense they boost others.
   
Made in hk
Fresh-Faced New User




ShaneTB wrote:
We play it as written - if it says "affects units within X"..." then that model does not get the bonus unless it states otherwise.

Heroes are buffing units and it makes sense they boost others.


So if a command ability let's you choose a 'keyword' unit within certain inches to get a benefit, you would exclude the model from the possible choices.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/23 16:31:45


 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper






I've been playing it as the hero gets it - he is a unit within X after all!

3500 | 1000 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




land of flowers

ShaneTB wrote:
We play it as written - if it says "affects units within X"..." then that model does not get the bonus unless it states otherwise.

Heroes are buffing units and it makes sense they boost others.


I'm sorry but I dont understand this as the commanding model is a model within its own aura.

If we are talking RAW unless it specifies "Other models with X inches" then the origin also has said buff.


V/R
Brork~ the bro-ork.

2000 1000
Selling my skaven for Stormcaste.
Malifaux:Ten Thunders~All day, All the way! 
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

It has to say other. Otherwise it includes itself. According to the English language, that is. Which I'm pretty sure GW uses.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in au
Tough Tyrant Guard







 timetowaste85 wrote:
It has to say other. Otherwise it includes itself. According to the English language, that is. Which I'm pretty sure GW uses.

"The general barked an order. Everyone within earshot stood at attention and saluted." Did the general stand at attention and salute?

Generally we don't talk about someone being within a distance of themselves in English - it's sort of incoherent. We have to look to the rules for guidance as to how they have used it.

My first question is if a single model is "a unit." It seems like even a single model counts as a unit. That being the case, there are some abilities, like the Bretonnian Lord's, who provide their bonus to "units within x" and this model," suggesting that a model is not considered to be within x" of itself. I do not think that a model generally gains a benefit from commanding itself - any such benefit is included in its base stats.
   
Made in hk
Fresh-Faced New User




Upon further reading the warscrolls, the way that they describe the abilities seem to imply that it would only work on other units.

Like I mentioned above, they do specifically mention 'this model' if the General is also afffected.

I would like some clarification from GW, though that seems unlikely.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





If Command Abilities can apply to the General himself, consider the High Elf Prince on a Dragon:

First Amongst Equals: If a High Elf
Prince on Dragon uses this ability, pick up
to three Highborn Heroes from your
army within 16" of him; they can each
immediately use one command ability that
is listed on their warscroll, even though
they are not your general.

He picks 2 heroes to use their command, then picks himself, which lets him pick 2 heroes, then pick himself.... Seems a bit over-the-top.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
It could be argued that "even though they are not your general" excludes the self-pick.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/25 00:00:28


 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: