Switch Theme:

Is a model within X" of itself?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





If an ability (either activated or passive) affects models within X" does it also affect the unit with the ability?

A strict mathematical approach would say yes, but are there situations where that interpretation would clearly break the rules (or where saying a model is not affected by it's own power would break things)?
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Unless it says "other models within X inches" it should count itself. Because 0 inches is still within 6 inches, 3 inches, an inch, etc.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Tricky one to be sure. Tools of War say distances are measured "between the closest points of the models or units you’re measuring to and from."

For abilities:

1. Nominate a model/unit with an ability
2. Measure the distance between this and the target unit
3. Apply the ability

Now, since the distance rule actually says "models", plural, you could argue that what they wrote is what they mean. On that basis, you can't measure the distance between a unit and itself, so applying the ability falls over at step 2 because you can't complete it.

This is different to having another unit that actually touches, or even overlaps, the unit/model with the ability. In this case, the distance is defined, so step 3 is OK.

Please note, I'm not even sure I believe this line of reasoning myself, but it seems to be consistent with the way the rules are written. The question is what would break? Wizards can't Mystic Shield themselves. Presumably tons of other abilities/spells couldn't be used by the unit triggering/casting it.

Working as intended?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/25 02:50:08


 
   
Made in au
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Adelaide, South Australia

 timetowaste85 wrote:
Unless it says "other models within X inches" it should count itself. Because 0 inches is still within 6 inches, 3 inches, an inch, etc.

If you take this interpretation though, you've got to apply it also to negative effects. Say a unit gets the abiltity 'poison gas vents' (some Skaven plague thingie) that affects all models within 6" in some way (wounds, minus to hit etc). The specifics aren't important. But it should be consistent, whichever way you go about it. Reading up on various rules of such a type might provide some insight but it's just as likely not well thought through.

While it's a different game system, Warmachine explicitly states that said models are not the within X of themselves. Again different system but the particular bit was put in for exactly this question. Which isn't to say that's what GW mean, only that at least one game designer has gone the other way and we should be wary of assumptions.

Ancient Blood Angels
40IK - PP Conversion Project Files
Warmachine/Hordes 2008 Australian National Champion
Arcanacon Steamroller and Hardcore Champion 2009
Gencon Nationals 2nd Place and Hardcore Champion 2009 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Just going through some warscrolls to find anything that helps/hinders. Here's on from the skaven:

Gouge-tear their Eyes!: If a Verminlord
Corruptor uses this ability, select this
model or one Skaven unit within 18".
Until your next hero phase, when that unit
is selected to attack in the combat phase,
you can add 1 to the attacks characteristic
of all its melee weapons.

Sort of suggests that if the default position of a command ability is to include the unit itself as a target, then there would be no need to say "this model or....".

And another one:

Cornered Rats: Roll a dice each time a
Skavenslave flees, before it is removed from
the battlefield. On a roll of a 6 the nearest
unit within 6" (friend or foe) suffers 1
mortal wound as the terrified Skavenslave
bites and claws manically to get away.
Remove the Skavenslave if you rolled 5 or
less, or after it has inflicted a mortal wound
in its escape.

This is just an ability for Skavenslaves. If the skavenslave unit was a candidate it would always receive the mortal wound. It seems pretty clear it is supposed to be another unit that suffers.

High Elf Mage:

Shield of Sa phery
The Mage weaves a dome of magical
energy around himself and his allies.
Shield of Saphery has a casting value of 6.
If successfully cast, until your next hero
phase, you can roll a dice each time the
High Elf Mage, or a model in your army
within 18" of him, suffers a wound or
a mortal wound. On the roll of a 6 that
hit is deflected by the magical barrier
surrounding the Mage and is ignored.

Specifically includes the HE mage as a beneficiary.

Personally, I'm seeing enough here to say that "within X"" does not include the model itself, but keen to see counterexamples that cause it to break.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/07/25 07:12:49


 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: