Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 17:05:59
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
It seems to me that it would be possible to determine which side of the board you arrive on and then before actually moving onto the board, you would decide the flight mode.
What I have in mind is using a storm eagle to outflank a unit. But since you might come on to a board side where disembarking might be a bad idea, it would nice if you could know the side before deciding if you want to disembark or not, ie use hover mode.
If it's the wrong side, then you could just stay in flight mode and fly further away instead.
Is this allowed?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 17:13:02
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Roknar wrote:It seems to me that it would be possible to determine which side of the board you arrive on and then before actually moving onto the board, you would decide the flight mode.
Does the Storm Eagle have OutFlank?
If yes ( I honestly don't know), then you could use the OutFlank options. Otherwise, no, without Outflank or another special rule, it is going to come on your deployment edge.
Roknar wrote:What I have in mind is using a storm eagle to outflank a unit. But since you might come on to a board side where disembarking might be a bad idea, it would nice if you could know the side before deciding if you want to disembark or not, ie use hover mode.
If it's the wrong side, then you could just stay in flight mode and fly further away instead.
Is this allowed?
As far as I know, no, it isn't.
Outflank rule is going to give you a 2/3 chance of entering the side you prefer.
As for entering via Hover or Flying, it is simply a matter of Flyer's rules, which state they must come on the table in Flight mode (will try for a page citation, shortly).
Unless, again, there's something in the Storm eagle's rules (GravChute Insertion?),
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/25 17:14:49
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 17:17:03
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
The Storm Eagle doesn't have Outflank but it can gain it via legacy of ruin.
It also has hover, which lets you choose whether or not it comes in zooming or hovering (page 85) at least as far as I can tell.
But I'm not sure if you can decide to hover before or AFTER determining the board edge you come in from.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 17:28:38
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
When an Outflanking unit arrives from Reserves... - Outflanking This means that, if the Flyer arrives from Reserve, you must declare which type of movement it is using before placing it on the board. - Hover Actually, still thinking on this one because it isn't as cut and dry as Sequencing would allow us to believe. It is my opinion that the order of events have to be modified to include a sub-clause within 'Arriving from Reserves' in order to function, allowing the declaration to be made during the arrival itself but before the placement of the model. In that situation it would easily allow for the outflanking player to determine the board edge the models will arrive from before any 'before placing models' clause can trigger. Worse case situation we end up with two Rules triggering simultaneously, which also allow for the outflanking player to decide the order in which they are Resolved, so there is a lot more 'evidence' that you get to decide after rolling for Outflank.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/07/25 17:38:28
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 17:29:04
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Flyers have to come onto the board zooming, then can drop to hover next turn
outflank has no effect on the flight mode of a flyer
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 17:36:07
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
The black box, "Hover" on page 85. Player has choice, so I was wrong in my previous post.
Roknar, I think JinxDragon has it right. Without a specified sequence, you get to roll for Outflank and then decide Hover or Zoom. That would be my call.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 17:45:21
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
die toten hosen wrote:Flyers have to come onto the board zooming, then can drop to hover next turn
outflank has no effect on the flight mode of a flyer
Please provide the actual rule and page for this. This seems to ring some kind of bell but I can't find that anywhere.
Otherwise JinxDragon makes a good point. Either they happen at the same time, in which case the player gets to choose order. (sequencing page 17)
Or I arrive from reserve, decide the board edge as per outflank, and then treat placing it on the board as a sub sequence in which case I get to determine board edge before determining flight mode.
So either way I get to choose after knowing the board edge, unless die toten hosen is right. In which case it doesn't matter.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 18:27:23
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I'm trying to find ways to break that interpretation right now, I don't think it is as strong as I would like, so feel free for further debate please! However, I can state for certain that Die Toten Hosen will needs to put forth more then 'flyers must come onto the board zooming...' if they want to create a conflict with the the Hover Rule literally stating it is the players decision. While I have a few problems with a vestigial Rule found within Moving On From Reserve, where it relates to Abilities or Special Rules that must be used at the Start of Turn, I am uncertain it alone will be enough to over-turn Hover specifically stating the player decides in these situations. Given that I am curious on the topic, the possibility of another Game Workshop screw-up is alluring, I really do hope they can quote some actual Rules to further confuse the issue.... Till then, I have to conclude a Rule specifically stating that the player decides the flight mode before placing the arriving Model is enough to grant permission to choose the fight mode before placing the Model.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/07/25 18:38:40
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 21:56:21
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Can a Storm Eagle even fit onto the table with a 6" move?
I know a Valkyrie requires at least 9" to fit on the table, no matter what angle you place it in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 22:13:17
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It doesn't matter because it can make a 12" move to if it wants to, and since it would be treated like a fast skimmer it can then fire 2 weapons at full bs and a 3rd with potms (which i assume it has).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 22:21:23
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:It doesn't matter because it can make a 12" move to if it wants to, and since it would be treated like a fast skimmer it can then fire 2 weapons at full bs and a 3rd with potms (which i assume it has).
The point of this thread is the OP wants to disembark troops.
This requires a 6" move max in hover mode. Hence why I ask if it can fit on the table?
If the model can't even fit, then that ends the discussion right there
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 20:01:54
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
grendel083 wrote:Can a Storm Eagle even fit onto the table with a 6" move?
I know a Valkyrie requires at least 9" to fit on the table, no matter what angle you place it in.
That's.....a good point lol. I hadn't even considered that XD. Probably not.
@Kaela_Mensha_Khaine: Moving 12 would prevent the unit inside from disembarking. The chaos version does not have PotMS, because you know...reasons.
It might be useful to get in a shot at the rear armour though, so it's still important to know.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 22:29:05
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Doesn't the Storm Eagle have Skies of Fury? Thus allowing disembark after moving more than 6".
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 22:33:40
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
As far as I can tell it's only an assault vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/25 23:03:52
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Sorry, my bad. Was thinking of something else.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/26 03:42:15
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
grendel083 wrote:This requires a 6" move max in hover mode. Hence why I ask if it can fit on the table?
If the model can't even fit, then that ends the discussion right there 
grendel,
Was it in 6e that there was a rule that stated, to the effect, "If the model won't fit (because it's so big) then move it the minimal distance to fit on the table" ... something something? It basically allowed for BaneBlades to move onto the table from Reserve, a rule that in 5e, would have them destroyed or move at Cruising Speed.
I've looked unsuccessfully through 7e's Movement and Vehicle section for it.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/26 04:27:35
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The clause is found in Moving On From Reserve. The problem in this situation is not the above Rule, the Model has more then enough move to fit completely on the board, but the fact the plastic model will need to move more then 6 inches in order to do so. This obviously triggers the Restriction preventing any Units from disembarking of the Vehicle moves more then 6 inches and a few other movement related Rules, so the entire question at hand has been completely side-stepped by not being feasible in the first place. The player can still decide to Hover before moving in from Reserves but as the question on hand involved finding ways for the Unit within to disembark it is not exactly going well. The advantages for arriving in Hover Mode have significantly decreased... unless the plastic model is small enough to fit with a 6 inch move.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/07/26 04:48:58
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/26 05:09:27
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Page 136, 2nd paragraph. Thanks.
And yeah, you're right, it doesn't pertain to the thread's purpose. Still good to learn.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/26 05:39:46
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
Australia
|
JinxDragon wrote:The advantages for arriving in Hover Mode have significantly decreased... unless the plastic model is small enough to fit with a 6 inch move.
Best use for arriving in hover is to come in from reserve and claim an objective (since you only count as scoring if you're hovering).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/26 06:27:53
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The three that jump easily to my mind easily all happen to due with the minimal distance requirements of zooming: Line-of-sight blocking cover closer to the board edge, enemy Units making final placement difficult, and preventing the Flyer from coming into Range of a dedicated anti-Air unit... probably one with interceptor.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/26 06:28:06
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/26 10:41:32
Subject: When does an outflanking hover flyer decide flight mode?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:It doesn't matter because it can make a 12" move to if it wants to, and since it would be treated like a fast skimmer it can then fire 2 weapons at full bs and a 3rd with potms (which i assume it has).
The point of this thread is the OP wants to disembark troops.
This requires a 6" move max in hover mode. Hence why I ask if it can fit on the table?
If the model can't even fit, then that ends the discussion right there 
My bad, forgot about that part of the question  was more commenting on just the general principle of moving a hovering flyer on the board.
|
|
 |
 |
|