Switch Theme:

Cleansing Flame Clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





Greetings all, just a quick rules clarification that came up during my last 40k game revolving around a squad of GK Purifiers in a Transport attempting to Cleansing Flame Nova multiple units.

As I Understand it, all Novas are always Witchfires (one of the 3 subsets of Witchfires including Novas, Focused Witchfires and Beams), which allow it to be fired from a Transport with a firing port (Rhino in this case). The entry on Cleasing Flame saysit is a 9" Nova (Point Blank AoE with a 9" radius) and auto hits all units in range, dealing 2d6 hits, etc.


Question 1: Novas are always Witchfires so the attack is legal, correct?
Question 2: Where on the Rhino do I draw the 9" Radius from? The Hull? The Back Top Hatch?
Question 3: How and How many hits are distributed to units within the radius of effect? If there an enemy unit with 5 models in the unit, a 2nd Unit with 1 model and a flying creature, do I roll 2d6 and distribute that number of hits between all 3 units, does each unit get hit with 2d6 hits (rolled individually for each unit) or does each model suffer 2d6 hits?
Question 4: I understand the unit proc'ing the power is immune for damage from it, as would the transport it is embarked on, but would other friendly units caught in the radius suffer hits as per answer number 3?

Thanks much!


-Typed on my phone, please excuse typos.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Rommel013 wrote:
Question 1: Novas are always Witchfires so the attack is legal, correct?


Yes.

"A Fire Point is a hatch or gun slit from which one or more passengers inside the vehicle can fire shooting weapons (or use witchfire psychic powers)."

Question 2: Where on the Rhino do I draw the 9" Radius from? The Hull? The Back Top Hatch?


From the Fire Point.

"Ranges and line of sight are measured from the Fire Point itself."

Question 3: How and How many hits are distributed to units within the radius of effect? If there an enemy unit with 5 models in the unit, a 2nd Unit with 1 model and a flying creature, do I roll 2d6 and distribute that number of hits between all 3 units, does each unit get hit with 2d6 hits (rolled individually for each unit) or does each model suffer 2d6 hits?


EDIT: Scratch that - I'd go with nwabudikemorgan's statement below.

Question 4: I understand the unit proc'ing the power is immune for damage from it, as would the transport it is embarked on, but would other friendly units caught in the radius suffer hits as per answer number 3?


Emphasis mine, no.

"A nova power automatically targets and hits all enemy units (including Flyers and Flying Monstrous Creatures) within the psychic power’s maximum range."

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/07/29 06:17:55


 
   
Made in ca
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine





Canada

1 - yes
2 - The firing point ( Vehicles > Transports > Fire points > Paragraph 1)
3 - 2d6 each. Each unit gets hit as per the spell's description
4- Only hurts Enemy units ( Psychic phase > Types of Psychic powers > Nova > First bolded bit)

Dark Angels 1st, 2nd, 5th, 10th Companies,
~14,000 points
36-21-4

~ 4500 points of Tau
5-5-1

~2500 points of Admech 40k

~6500 points of Tyranids: Hive Fleet Niadra
1-2-0 
   
Made in it
Longtime Dakkanaut





1) The attack is legal
2) From a fire point in your case. From the hull for open topped vehicles.
3) 2d6 rolled individually for each enemy unit. Remember that only models within 9" can suffer wounds from this.
4) Got to check the BRB for this. I wouldn't be sure though that the transport is safe.

Edit: Ninja

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/29 06:18:58


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: