Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/29 07:31:07
Subject: Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Basecoated Black
|
Well as the title says I was wondering if the devs in the SHAF
Can Share a Drop pod or do I need one for each squad
|
"If you hear a voice within you say 'you cannot paint,' then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced." - Vincent Van Gogh |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/29 07:48:37
Subject: Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
The first sentence of the formation's 'Restrictions' reads:
"Each Devastator Squad must take a Drop Pod as a Dedicated Transport."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/29 07:49:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/29 08:12:15
Subject: Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
paintwhore99 wrote:Well as the title says I was wondering if the devs in the SHAF
Can Share a Drop pod or do I need one for each squad
As per regular rules:
You can only have one unit in your transport (Drop Pod).
valid examples:
2 Devastator Combat Squads of 5 each (of the same unit)
7 Tactical Marines with attached IC (for all rules purposes one unit)
Assault Marines unit of 5
In addition, as Mr. Shine already pointed out - the SHAF formation forces you to buy DPs for each unit anyhow, so even IF you could stuff both Devastator units into one pod, you'd then have an empty spare pod left.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/29 08:13:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/29 17:11:29
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Basecoated Black
|
Okay That Makes Sense I Was Just Testing The Water
Oh And BTW my thought process on the question was that maybe the two 5man could share
|
"If you hear a voice within you say 'you cannot paint,' then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced." - Vincent Van Gogh |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/29 19:39:35
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
paintwhore99 wrote:Okay That Makes Sense I Was Just Testing The Water
Oh And BTW my thought process on the question was that maybe the two 5man could share
You might be referring to the Combat Squad option.
Re-read that section in your marine book and then you'll understand the idea of '2 units in one drop pod', because it's not two to start ....
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/30 00:10:32
Subject: Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Depends on your definition of "to start".
It is 1 unit army entry, but is 2 units even prior to embarking on the transport; although both units must be both halves of a combat squad)so no taking 2 10-man devs, combat squadding both ans having half of each in a transport.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/30 01:54:46
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Basecoated Black
|
That's not what I mean a drop has ten man capacity a dev team is 5 people so 2 could ride a pod right
|
"If you hear a voice within you say 'you cannot paint,' then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced." - Vincent Van Gogh |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/30 01:59:25
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
paintwhore99 wrote:That's not what I mean a drop has ten man capacity a dev team is 5 people so 2 could ride a pod right
No. You may only carry a single unit in a transport, plus any joined Independent Characters. From 'Transport Capacity' in the Transports section of the rulebook:
"A transport can carry a single Infantry unit and/or any number of Independent Characters (as long as they are also Infantry)..."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/30 02:05:39
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Basecoated Black
|
Oh is that new in 7e
|
"If you hear a voice within you say 'you cannot paint,' then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced." - Vincent Van Gogh |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/30 02:11:31
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No. A transport has only been permitted to carry a single unit as far back as 3rd edition, maybe further.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/30 05:03:58
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Nashville, TN
|
Also combat squads tells you that they split after they land on the board..
At least I could have sworn thats what the rule says..
Okay I could be imagining that.
|
Joe Smash. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/30 05:52:07
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Nuwisha wrote:Also combat squads tells you that they split after they land on the board..
At least I could have sworn thats what the rule says..
Okay I could be imagining that.
You are:
"You must decide which units are splitting into combat squads, and which models go into each combat squad, immediately before determining your Warlord Traits. "
In terms of being transported together:
"In an exception to the normal rules, two combat squads split from the same unit can embark in the same transport vehicle, providing its Transport Capacity allows."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/30 15:31:19
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Nuwisha wrote:Also combat squads tells you that they split after they land on the board..
At least I could have sworn thats what the rule says..
Okay I could be imagining that.
That was the rule in 5th Edition. It changed with the 6th Edition codex, and the 7th Edition codex hasn't really changed anything about it.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/07/31 06:45:05
Subject: Re:Can the devs in the sky hammer assault force share a drop pod
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Nashville, TN
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Nuwisha wrote:Also combat squads tells you that they split after they land on the board..
At least I could have sworn thats what the rule says..
Okay I could be imagining that.
You are:
"You must decide which units are splitting into combat squads, and which models go into each combat squad, immediately before determining your Warlord Traits. "
In terms of being transported together:
"In an exception to the normal rules, two combat squads split from the same unit can embark in the same transport vehicle, providing its Transport Capacity allows."
That second one is what I was trying to say, I think.
|
Joe Smash. |
|
 |
 |
|