Switch Theme:

Ongoing Reserves and DS  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




When placing a unit with the Deep Strike special wule in Ongoing reserves... I can choose to make the unit enter via DS, right? but I have to decide it at the moment I place it in Ongoing Reserves (like Deployment) or the moment it is going to enter?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
NVM, just read that

Ongoing Reserves wrote:
If a unit enters Reserve part way through the game, such as a Flyer leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves. Units in Ongoing Reserve always reenter play at the start of their controlling player’s following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves.


So I guess when I place it in Ongoing reserves (just like placing it in Reserves) I must choose the way they are coming back to the battlefield.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/26 15:29:13


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




What does the DS rule state as a requirmement for being able to deepstrike?
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






Wallur wrote:
When placing a unit with the Deep Strike special wule in Ongoing reserves... I can choose to make the unit enter via DS, right? but I have to decide it at the moment I place it in Ongoing Reserves (like Deployment) or the moment it is going to enter?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
NVM, just read that

Ongoing Reserves wrote:
If a unit enters Reserve part way through the game, such as a Flyer leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves. Units in Ongoing Reserve always reenter play at the start of their controlling player’s following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves.


So I guess when I place it in Ongoing reserves (just like placing it in Reserves) I must choose the way they are coming back to the battlefield.


Just be aware that in order for a unit to be eligible to deep strike, they must not only have the deep strike special rule, but they must also have started the game in reserves (unless another rule gives them specific permission to deep strike). I'd recommend reading through the deep strike rules as well as the Reserves rules.
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




In order for a unit to be able to Deep Strike, all models in the unit must have the Deep Strike special rule and the unit must start the game in Reserve. When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike (sometimes called Deep Strike Reserve). Some units must arrive by Deep Strike. They always begin the game in Reserve and always arrive by Deep Strike.

So, it has to start the game in reserves for it to DS from ongoing reserves?
It also says that when it is placed on ongoing reserves (and treating ongoing reserves like reserves) when I place it in (ongoing) reserves I must tell my opponents it will be arriving via DS
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





VA

Yes, you must begin the game in DS Reserve, and even then it's a bit unclear if you can re-enter DS Reserve via ongoing reserves, though that's implied by the fact that Mawlocs and Swooping Hawks have no special permissions to return via DS from ongoing, but have major functions dependent on being able to DS multiple times.

   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




 FTGTEvan wrote:
Yes, you must begin the game in DS Reserve, and even then it's a bit unclear if you can re-enter DS Reserve via ongoing reserves, though that's implied by the fact that Mawlocs and Swooping Hawks have no special permissions to return via DS from ongoing, but have major functions dependent on being able to DS multiple times.


again I think that case is because poorly written Rule, DS is ment to be used only once, since almost all the units that can DS, can't go back to ongoing reserves:
cases that makes sense you can use DS from Ongoing reserves:
-DS Mishap and ending in Ongoing Reserves.
-Mawloc and Burrow.
-The Few Flyers/FMC with DS.
-Skyblight Swarm/Sporefield Formations (on a 4+ you place a new unit of Gargoyles/Spore Mines/Mucolid Spores on Reserves. Gargoyles being jump Inf, can DS, but comingo from your edge jumping, moving 12 is no problem, but Spores, moving 3" from your table edge would make that formation USELESS) and here is where I say the "start the game in reserves" can NEVER apply, you can start your Mawloc or FMC on reserves. But placing a New unit in reserves that it never existed at the start of the turn, and so it could never be placed in reserves at the start of the game.

Anyway. I'd say that if someone wants to DS form Ongoing Reserves:
1) all the models must have the rule.
2) Must say IT WILL BE DEEPSTRIKING when you put that unit in reserves, not later
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Wallur wrote:
Anyway. I'd say that if someone wants to DS form Ongoing Reserves:
1) all the models must have the rule.
2) Must say IT WILL BE DEEPSTRIKING when you put that unit in reserves, not later

What of MisHap cases like the Veil of Darkness or Gate of Infinity which will having units Deep Striking without the rule nor having been required to be in Reserves?

In most other cases, I would agree with your basic list, but this is one of those special cases which gets people kerfluffled.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





VA

Charistoph wrote:
Wallur wrote:
Anyway. I'd say that if someone wants to DS form Ongoing Reserves:
1) all the models must have the rule.
2) Must say IT WILL BE DEEPSTRIKING when you put that unit in reserves, not later

What of MisHap cases like the Veil of Darkness or Gate of Infinity which will having units Deep Striking without the rule nor having been required to be in Reserves?

In most other cases, I would agree with your basic list, but this is one of those special cases which gets people kerfluffled.


Mishaps with Gate or Veil will result in the unit walking on from their own board edge.

   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




 FTGTEvan wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
Wallur wrote:
Anyway. I'd say that if someone wants to DS form Ongoing Reserves:
1) all the models must have the rule.
2) Must say IT WILL BE DEEPSTRIKING when you put that unit in reserves, not later

What of MisHap cases like the Veil of Darkness or Gate of Infinity which will having units Deep Striking without the rule nor having been required to be in Reserves?

In most other cases, I would agree with your basic list, but this is one of those special cases which gets people kerfluffled.


Mishaps with Gate or Veil will result in the unit walking on from their own board edge.


I don't know the Rules for Veil of Darkness or Gate of Infinity. If you could quote them... If those are abilities of a 3rd unit/model, since they don't have the rule, then is what FTGTEvan said. they'll have to walk.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: