Switch Theme:

Jink and FNP - some questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in by
Flashy Flashgitz






Ok, I had a game yesterday and two questions came up:
1) Can you jink when you charge? Ther rule says "when a unit is selected as a target", bu a unit firing overwatch does not select who it shoots. However the unit has to chose wether to overwatch or not. Does that count as "selecting" the charging unit for a shooting attack? I think not, but some of my oponents would argue with that.
2) Can IC's with Eternal warrior use FNP against attacks that would normaly cause the ID? For example Fuegan is hit by Zhadsnrak's Power Klaw. It is S10, while Fuegan is T4, so witout EW he would be instakilled. However, the EW rule says that instead of being killed th model just suffers a wound. But the attack still counts as inflicting ID, so is it possible or not th make a FNP roll against such an attach if you have EW?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/05 07:28:12


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Boulder, Colorado

1 - I think so. just because overwatch is not mandatory.

2 - no FnP. The wound, no matter what still caused instant death.

   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Yes you can Jink Overwatch fire.

No you cannot FNP a wound with ID.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Jimsolo wrote:
Yes you can Jink Overwatch fire.

No you cannot FNP a wound with ID.


This is correct
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




1- Previous discussions we said that overwatch skip steps 1 and 2 (selecting target). I don't know what would be correct, but here seems to be more on the yay camp for jinking overwatch (fluffing it, has sense)

2- no discussion, can't FNP an ID wound.
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter






PG 45 of the BRB, "As soon as a charge has been declared against one of your units, that unit can immediately fire Overwatch at the would-be attacker - it doesn't have to, but it's often a good idea." That should satisfy any semantician or rules lawyer on the "selected as a target for a shooting attack" issue. I don't see a solid argument ~against~ being able to use Jink against Overwatch.
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




 zbg97 wrote:
PG 45 of the BRB, "As soon as a charge has been declared against one of your units, that unit can immediately fire Overwatch at the would-be attacker - it doesn't have to, but it's often a good idea." That should satisfy any semantician or rules lawyer on the "selected as a target for a shooting attack" issue. I don't see a solid argument ~against~ being able to use Jink against Overwatch.


Actually what you posted is against... You are never able to choose a target, it's automatically. so, it's never declared.
But I'd not negate the jink.
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter






Wallur wrote:
 zbg97 wrote:
PG 45 of the BRB, "As soon as a charge has been declared against one of your units, that unit can immediately fire Overwatch at the would-be attacker - it doesn't have to, but it's often a good idea." That should satisfy any semantician or rules lawyer on the "selected as a target for a shooting attack" issue. I don't see a solid argument ~against~ being able to use Jink against Overwatch.


Actually what you posted is against... You are never able to choose a target, it's automatically. so, it's never declared.
But I'd not negate the jink.


That's why I brought up semanticians. "selected as a target for a shooting attack" says "decides to use a shooting attack against the unit" as much as it says "decides on a unit to shoot." Though I guess the actual key to this rule is in the next paragraph of "Resolve Overwatch", on page 45: "An Overwatch attack is resolved like a normal shooting attack (albiet one resolved in the enemy's Assault phase) and uses all the normal rules for range, line of sight, cover saves, and so on." No semantics required, really.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




A target has to be selected, not declared, to jink. A target is absolutely selected through Overwatch, it is just n ot declared - it does not have to be, as the selection is automatic.

As opposed to choosing swoop or glide requires you to make a declaration to invoke the rule; automatic selection does not negate this requirement
   
Made in by
Flashy Flashgitz






Thanks a lot. Two less rule-arguments for us
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: