Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 07:09:36
Subject: Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics?
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
North East, UK
|
Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics? For example, would an Imperial Fists vehicle get to re-roll it's Bolter rolls of 1 using the Bolter-Drill Chapter Tactic?
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 07:11:38
Subject: Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Units only benefit from a special rule if they have that special rule.
Do your vehicles have the Chapter Tactics rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 07:12:47
Subject: Re:Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Only models with the Chapter Tactics rule benefit from it, therefore only vehicles with the Chapter Tactics rule (currently, only Dreadnoughts) benefit from it.
Anyone claiming otherwise is stuck using the previous Space Marine Codex, which made an explicit exception for Iron Hands vehicles (which is not in the 7th edition book).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/10 06:48:04
Subject: Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'd actually like to bring up that point, as my friend plays iron hands scout speeder army. The tactics say all characters and vehicles gain it will not die. The only vehicle with the chapter tactic special rule is a dreadnought. Does that mean only dreads get IWND? or do the overall blanket ruling of "all vehicles" take precedence, giving the speeders IWND?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Iron hands I believe is the only exception, as for bolter drill I believe it specifies models with chapter tactics re-roll 1's. Iron hands don't have this stipulation, it just says Iron Hands vehicles. As I have to choose a chapter for the entire detachment, wouldn't all my speeders be Iron Hands speeders, regardless of whether or not they have the chapter tactics special rule?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/10 06:54:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/10 07:21:35
Subject: Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is an overall blanket "all vehicles"
It does not state "all vehicles with chapter tactics"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/10 08:13:48
Subject: Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:It is an overall blanket "all vehicles"
It does not state "all vehicles with chapter tactics"
Here we go again
The rules will often refer to a model, character or unit by its Chapter; in all cases, this refers to a model, character or unit with the Chapter Tactics special rule that is drawn from the given Chapter.
For example, ‘an Ultramarines unit’ refers to ‘a unit with the Chapter Tactics special rule that is drawn from the Ultramarines Chapter.’
- Chapter Tactics
So when Machine Empathy say:
Iron Hands (...) vehicle - it means:
Vehicle with Chapter Tactics special rule that is drawn from the Iron Hands Chapter.
Also 6th edition Machine Empathy had exception that allowed to expand that rule onto units without CT special rule. Now it is gone.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/09/10 08:20:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/10 09:28:19
Subject: Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:It is an overall blanket "all vehicles"
It does not state "all vehicles with chapter tactics"
So you think all CTs apply to all vehicles? The other CTs refer to all models not all models with CTs. Either all CTs apply to everyone regardless on whether they have the CTs rule (in which case why give some models CTs and some not) or no CTs apply to models without CTs (Iron Hands no more permission than anyone else). Which is it? Automatically Appended Next Post: Iron hands I believe is the only exception, as for bolter drill I believe it specifies models with chapter tactics re-roll 1's. Iron hands don't have this stipulation, it just says Iron Hands vehicles. As I have to choose a chapter for the entire detachment, wouldn't all my speeders be Iron Hands speeders, regardless of whether or not they have the chapter tactics special rule?
Nope all the CTs refer to X chapter models. So in the IF's example it says "all Imperial Fist models..." Either this works for everyone or no one.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/10 09:31:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/10 10:25:42
Subject: Do vehicles benefit from chapter tactics?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
*facepalm* forgot the change to CT rules
Ignore me. Apparently 12 hours a day at work does me no good...
|
|
 |
 |
|