| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/09 15:21:01
Subject: "That Guy" Rules Clarifications
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Hey guys, I was recently at a tournament and was astounded at how people were playing "Whisper". Two different people did K-Turns, shot, and proceeded to put a Cloak token next to their ship. I stepped in (kindly) and mentioned you cannot do that, as it is an action, and you have a stress token. They both had the same reaction: "I have a card that tells me I can." and thus showed me the Advanced Cloaking Device card, which I'm familiar with. I had to explain to them that simply isn't the case, and one guy tried to bring the rulebook out and debate it. I didn't want to seem like a douche, but I said "Actions are actions, regardless of where you get them from". The guy could only find that you can Decloak while stressed, not Cloak. So yeah.
Is this a common interpretation for people? This blew my mind that people were so adamant about this working, when it doesn't. Or am I in the wrong? Was I a douche that told them a rule that (for some reason, somewhere) doesn't actually work like that?
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/09 15:40:43
Subject: "That Guy" Rules Clarifications
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
You were right, they were wrong. They now know better, whether they play better when you're not around is questionable.
The Phantom is quite a handful as it is, without those sort of shenanigans.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/09 16:35:33
Subject: "That Guy" Rules Clarifications
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
If that kind of thing happens at a tournament, call the TO over.
You are right, the rules clearly state that you cannot perform an action, even free actions, when you have a stress token (unless you have an ability which overrides that, which is not the case here).
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/10 12:41:15
Subject: "That Guy" Rules Clarifications
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
Correct. Actions -regardless of how you get them - are impossible whilst stressed.
Note that this is an important difference between, say, Night Beast's "free focus action" and whisper's "assign a focus token",which does work whilst stressed.
|
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/10 13:13:37
Subject: "That Guy" Rules Clarifications
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
Fire Control Systems also work while stressed as it allows you to "acquire" a Target Lock
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/10 13:16:55
Subject: "That Guy" Rules Clarifications
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
locarno24 wrote:Correct. Actions -regardless of how you get them - are impossible whilst stressed.
Note that this is an important difference between, say, Night Beast's "free focus action" and whisper's "assign a focus token",which does work whilst stressed.
Yes, I'm aware of this. I try to point that out as much as possible to people.
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|