Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 10:21:04
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Pic #1
Im inclined to say no on this one - since the whole unit/model has to be placed in the DZ?
Pic#2
Here Im looking at the ratling with the purple hat with white dots on the bottom level.
Wobbly model syndrome cover this?
And the guy with the blue bandana on the upper level partially standing on his friends base. Thats a no correct?
thanks.
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 10:30:17
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Deployment rules say:
"Note that models must be deployed fully within their deployment zone: you can’t have part of a model inside the deployment zone and part of the model outside it!"
I don't know what you're asking in the second picture, as Wobbly Model Syndrome covers situations where you actually cannot place a model because it is likely to fall over so you imagine the model is where you want it while you place it somewhere safer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 10:34:40
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Thanks!
The second picture is mainly that they guy with the purple hat is sort of standing on a railing, his base not fully flush with the ground/walkway. Hes sort of lopsided really.
The guy in blue was partially standing on his friends base.
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 10:34:53
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
I'd be good with both so long as all measurements are done from the hull as he's clearly doing, but the moment he tries to measure from the tip of the barrel of one of those guns, I'd call shenanigans.
|
Warboss Troil
"Less chat, more splat!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 10:41:34
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
FratHammer wrote:I'd be good with both so long as all measurements are done from the hull as he's clearly doing, but the moment he tries to measure from the tip of the barrel of one of those guns, I'd call shenanigans.
Measuring weapon ranges on vehicles is done from the end of the barrel, so that's not shenanigans.
The guy could easily rotate the turrets for deployment without affecting armour arcs or his ability to fire (just rotate them back on T1). But as Mr. Shine pointed out, they should be far back enough that the lascannon is inside the DZ.
The player may be working on the rule from Vehicles & Measuring Distances (p72) that states that, when measuring, you measure to the hull.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 20:59:11
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
I agree Big Q, but I thought we'd proven he was technically doing an illegal deployment already. I was merely stating I would allow it if he measured from the hull for the guns especially if he affixed them with glue and they aren't able to rotate. And it is shenanigans is he starts with it over the line of deployment because he's saying, it doesn't exist for purposes of my deployment, but suddenly exists when the game starts and he goes to shoot. It's one or the other. The weapon exists or it doesn't, not both.
|
Warboss Troil
"Less chat, more splat!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 21:10:30
Subject: Re:Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I see what you're saying Frathammer. Only the first part of my post was meant to be directed at you (about measuring from the barrel), whilst the rest was my thoughts on the topic as a whole, apologies for not being clearer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 21:13:25
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Quanar wrote:
The player may be working on the rule from Vehicles & Measuring Distances (p72) that states that, when measuring, you measure to the hull.
Which would work if it was solely down to measuring, but as the rule (as quoted further up the thread) refers specifically to no part of the model being outside the zone, the fact that measurement is to the hull becomes irrelevant.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 21:21:52
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
insaniak wrote:Which would work if it was solely down to measuring, but as the rule (as quoted further up the thread) refers specifically to no part of the model being outside the zone, the fact that measurement is to the hull becomes irrelevant.
Exactly. Presumably the person deploying the tanks had read the rule I mentioned, but missed the one Mr. Shine posted, leading to the error.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 21:26:27
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Just for arguments sake, if you only measure to the hull, how can you measure to the guns for deployment? Would you not measure to ensure it is with the deployment zone, for which you would ignore the guns etc?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/12 23:28:08
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
statu wrote:Just for arguments sake, if you only measure to the hull, how can you measure to the guns for deployment? Would you not measure to ensure it is with the deployment zone, for which you would ignore the guns etc?
You measure out your deployment zone, and then you put all of your models wholly within that zone.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/13 17:43:37
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'd say the first deployment gives you am advamtage because you measure range from the barrel so it gives you an advantage.
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/13 23:52:52
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sheesh, so it's a bit "that guy" to be forcing that on the guy. I see absolutely nothing wrong with the tank picture. You can rotate your turrets just fine, and the hull is still on the line.
If for some reason my leman russ was wholly obscured except for half an inch of barrel length, I'm not gonna lawyer that I can see the tank.
I'd dock your sportsmanship scores if you pulled that on me.
Rules-wise you are correct though. The second picture is deployed wrong, unless there's an agreement to both players that from "wobbly model syndrome", the models are actually placed an inch back or so, and you intend to move them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 01:05:36
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Mr ghoti wrote:Sheesh, so it's a bit "that guy" to be forcing that on the guy. I see absolutely nothing wrong with the tank picture. You can rotate your turrets just fine, and the hull is still on the line.
The turrets aren't really an issue, but the hull lascannons are. There's no way they could be turned to be behind the line.
If for some reason my leman russ was wholly obscured except for half an inch of barrel length, I'm not gonna lawyer that I can see the tank.
That's a completely different issue. And not being able to see the tank in that situation is actually the way the rules work. There is no wiggle room for 'lawyering' on that one.
Nor is there in the example above. The rules require that no part of the tank be outside the deployment zone. Part of the tank is outside the deployment zone.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 03:53:38
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Don't you ignore modeled upgrades when measuring distances? (for example, a dozer blade isn't used to measure range to a tank)
And the Lascannon is a modeled upgrade, no? The default is a heavy bolter.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 03:58:27
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Instead, for distances involving a vehicle, measure to and from their hull, ignore gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas, banners and other decorative elements. - Vehicles & Measuring Distances Nothing about upgrades, just 'decorative elements.'
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/14 03:58:43
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 04:01:32
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
However, there is something there about gun barrels.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 04:06:05
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The rule in question however has nothing to do with measurement. It instead tells you where you may deploy your models, and no part of the model may be outside of the deployment zone.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 04:06:45
Subject: Were these legal deployments?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah I get it now. I thought the DZ was a measurement from the board edge. (i.e. you can deploy within 12" of your board edge).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/14 04:07:40
|
|
 |
 |
|