Switch Theme:

Krazy Koalas  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Buttons Should Be Brass, Not Gold!






Soviet Kanukistan

H'ok. This is my rudimentary understanding on how they work.

1. They may only declare "move" during the carrying model's active turn.

QUESTION: The Koala's second movement value is only used if the carrier performs move-move? If not does the Koala perform move-null, or may it move as necessary to reposition itself within the users zone of control with move-move? The koala is equipment (also a weapon, as it interacts with spec-fire) represented by a model but it is not synced, so this is unclear.

QUESTION: Do the Koalas function on active turn outside if a model within their ZoC activates in ARO in response to a model other than the one carrying the Koalas?

2. Koalas become "armed" and detatched from their user if they leave zone of control. Koalas also become "armed" and detatched if the user performs a spec-fire action with them during the active turn while in ZoC.

QUESTION: Can the Koalas be "armed" by separating them during the movement phase, either by getting separated due to terrain features, declaring "null" movement with them, or by moving them out of ZoC? I believe that the first scenario seems legal, the second does not, as I understand the Koalas are obliged to stay within the ZoC of their user.

UNRELATED QUESTION: Can Koalas be reloaded by Baggage?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/24 15:33:28


 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

First thing the Koalas are do for a rewrite in N3HS so answers may change.

1) Yes, you only use the second move value if you move twice (ie. move-move or move-jump the only 2 skills it can perform ), if the Koalas can't perform the skill it just doesn't do anything. Note even if the Koalas don't do anything the fact the owner used a Order means the Koalas give up a ARO if a enemy can see it.

Koalas only attack on their Reactive turn, ie. only a Order will cause them to attack, never on a ARO.

2) you can leave the Koalas behind at any point by placing them on "stand by mode" and just moving on. Once on "stand by mode) they will stand until they go off and can't be moved again.

Baggage need the N3 rewirte to be sure but I go with NO for now.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







1. The CrazyKoala has a two-value MOV value because its movement works the same as any other model with SuperJump. The CrazyKoala is deployed equipment, and it acts in the manner described in the rules. It's equipment with a profile and a model, so enemy models can target it and attack it.

In “stand by” mode, CrazyKoalas can stand still without moving where their carrier places them, without spending any Orders. Alternatively, they can follow him anytime he performs a Short Movement Skill but must always stay inside his ZC, although no extra Orders are needed to move them.


If the controller declares a short movement skill, the Koala will declare Move. Otherwise, the Koala declares nothing.

2.
If any CrazyKoalas are out of the ZC of their carrier, or if he falls Unconscious or dies, then they will stand still in “stand by” mode, being activated only in reaction to any enemy Order spent in their ZC. Once out of the ZC of its carrier, the CrazyKoala will stand still in “stand by” mode and cannot be moved again by its player.


What you're calling being "armed" is what that passage in the rules is describing--the Koala will no longer move during the active turn, and will react in ARO against enemy models as described:
The only Skills a CrazyKoala can perform during an active turn are Move and Jump. Its MOV value is only used to move the CrazyKoala in an active turn along with its carrier. In a reactive turn, an activated CrazyKoala will cover the whole distance that separates it from its target, vertically or horizontally, to the limit of its Zone of Control radius. In reactive turn, the only Skill a CrazyKoala can perform is to be activated and attack an enemy. The activation is automatic, and con not be avoided by its player.
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






Noir wrote:
Koalas only attack on their Reactive turn, ie. only a Order will cause them to attack, never on a ARO.


Since this is the rules questions forum, I thought I'd check; you mean "Koalas only attack on their Active turn...", don't you?
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

 AndrewGPaul wrote:
Noir wrote:
Koalas only attack on their Reactive turn, ie. only a Order will cause them to attack, never on a ARO.


Since this is the rules questions forum, I thought I'd check; you mean "Koalas only attack on their Active turn...", don't you?


No only on the owners REACTIVE turn. They only attack when the enemy spend a Order not a ARO.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka






I'm misunderstanding this sentence, then;

"Koalas only attack on their Reactive turn, ie. only a Order will cause them to attack, never on a ARO. "

That reads to me like you have to spend an Order on the Koala to get it to explode, and not when it gets an ARO.
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

You're misreading it
It means that it only triggers if an opponent's model spends an order in range of the CK
But an ARO by the same opponent's model won't trigger the CK, while it would trigger a mine

 
   
Made in ca
Buttons Should Be Brass, Not Gold!






Soviet Kanukistan

 TanKoL wrote:
You're misreading it
It means that it only triggers if an opponent's model spends an order in range of the CK
But an ARO by the same opponent's model won't trigger the CK, while it would trigger a mine

Is this also the case for Koalas on standby? They don't trigger to AROs either?
   
Made in us
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges






Limbo

 keezus wrote:
 TanKoL wrote:
You're misreading it
It means that it only triggers if an opponent's model spends an order in range of the CK
But an ARO by the same opponent's model won't trigger the CK, while it would trigger a mine

Is this also the case for Koalas on standby? They don't trigger to AROs either?


Correct. Krazy Koala will only activate to an opponent's model performing a Short or Long skill with an order. If the opponent's model is performing an action as an ARO (e.g., shooting at one of your models that just moved, etc.), the Krazy Koala does not activate.

DS:80S+GM--B++I+Pwhfb/re#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(O)DM+++

Madness and genius are separated by degrees of success.

Remember to follow the Swap Shop Rules and Guidelines! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Devon, UK

Summarised:

In the active turn they do nothing other than move when their owner moves. Assuming they're still in ZoC.

In the reactive turn they automatically go off when any enemy model acts within ZoC but that's the only thing they do. They won't react to camo or impersonation markers that stay markers but will go off against any marker that reveals.
   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: