Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 13:46:27
Subject: dedicated transports and formations.
|
 |
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge
|
Very sorry if this has been answered a million times before but can units within a formation take dedicated transports that are not listed as their own entries in that formation? Thanks Dakka
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 15:25:43
Subject: Re:dedicated transports and formations.
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Units within formations have the exact same options on their datasheet as units in normal detatchments, this includes the option to take a Dedicated Transport.
Note there are exceptions - some formations require dedicated transports taken (some Harelquin ones), whilst some prohibit the option (such as the Ork Green Tide formation).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 17:00:55
Subject: dedicated transports and formations.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
And some that force a transport also restict the number of models in the unit(a few sm formations that requires all unirs to deepstrike while requiring dreads, must take a drop-pod and deepstrike in it; the limit of 1 dread is also stated)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 19:33:05
Subject: dedicated transports and formations.
|
 |
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge
|
Ah, that's cool! Thanks very much
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 20:20:21
Subject: Re:dedicated transports and formations.
|
 |
World-Weary Pathfinder
|
This opens some interesting rules questions though.
For example, the Airborne Assault Formation from Tempestus Scions requires a CC squad and 3 scion squads. Those squads can take a Taurox Prime as a dedicated transport. They can't start in it, but they could still take it and have ground transport available. (Interestingly.) Are these dedicated transports considered part of the formation? If so it makes the Strategic Intervention rule behave oddly to say the least.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 21:20:16
Subject: Re:dedicated transports and formations.
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Lendys wrote:This opens some interesting rules questions though.
For example, the Airborne Assault Formation from Tempestus Scions requires a CC squad and 3 scion squads. Those squads can take a Taurox Prime as a dedicated transport. They can't start in it, but they could still take it and have ground transport available. (Interestingly.) Are these dedicated transports considered part of the formation? If so it makes the Strategic Intervention rule behave oddly to say the least.
There's no rules restriction, although common sense suggests it's not intended for the theme of the formation. How does it make the Strategic Intervention rule behave oddly? They're certainly part of the formation, and would arrive from reserves with the rest of the formation.
|
|
 |
 |
|