Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/09 04:32:10
Subject: Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So in both IA 13 and Siege of Vraks it states one demagogue in one command squad in the army can select from the devotions listed and they must be your warlord.
However, they are two different lists of devotions in two different army lists in two different books.
So can you take an IA renegade CAD with a demagogue of "x" devotion AND a Siege of Vraks renegade CAD with another demagogue of "y" devotion?
You did not technically break the "only one demagogue in the army may select from this list" rule, because they are two different lists.
This also brings up further questions. Can each CAD take a devotion that is on both lists? For example, can you take a master of the horde and a rogue witch? What about two rogue witches?
Lastly, if you can take two demagogues with devotions in this way, how do you resolve that both "must be your warlord"?
|
Some are glass as glass half-full type of person.
Some are a glass half-empty.
I'm a glass half broken and shoved into someones face kinda guy... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/09 07:21:15
Subject: Re:Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I don't have either book, but "your army" includes all of your detachments. A single detachment within it is not "your army" unless you have no other detachments.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/09 07:56:04
Subject: Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Both have to be warlord. You can only have one warlord, so I take it as you can only take one upgraded demagogue.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/09 08:12:23
Subject: Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
What Bob said ):
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/09 08:25:37
Subject: Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
This doesn't work two fold. Detachments are still part of the same army so having separate detachments doesn't allow you to do it. And an additional requirement is that they're your warlord which you can't have two of.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/09 16:21:52
Subject: Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm aware that your "army" includes both detachments.
As I mentioned, taking a Demagogue in each CAD with a devotion does not violate the "only one demagogue in the army may select from this list" because they are different lists in different books.
Demagogue X selected a devotion from the list in IA 13.
Demagogue Y selected another devotion from a different list in the Siege of Vraks book.
No Demagogue in the army selected a devotion from the same list.
I do agree however that having two guys that "must be your warlord" is more problematic.
|
Some are glass as glass half-full type of person.
Some are a glass half-empty.
I'm a glass half broken and shoved into someones face kinda guy... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/09 16:29:59
Subject: Re:Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Ok, I understand about the different lists now, seems fine with that bit, including taking one that is on both lists.
Three ways it could go with the "must be warlord" part:
(1) Chaos SM characters 'must' declare challenges, but have a clause in case you have multiple characters in the same combat - implication that it's ok as long one of them is the w/l.
(2) Take an Allied Detach instead of a CAD - the Demi in the Allied 'cannot' be the warlord, in the same way if a hypothetical unit had a "must charge if in range" rule but had arrived from reserves that turn - 'cannot' beats 'must'.
(3) Any combination breaks a rule, thus it cannot be taken, just like two of the same 'unique' model.
Honestly, I'm leaning towards 3, but haven't got anything concrete rules-wise to back it up. It's worth emailing Forgeworld with the question though, they occasionally come back with reasonable answers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/10 10:49:39
Subject: Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think the restriction is quite clear. Only one arch demagogue devotion in your entire army.
You can take one extra command squad also, so the rule prevents crazy combinations within the same CAD also, let alone multiple detachments.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/10 15:57:49
Subject: Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Intercessor wrote:I think the restriction is quite clear. Only one arch demagogue devotion in your entire army.
You can take one extra command squad also, so the rule prevents crazy combinations within the same CAD also, let alone multiple detachments.
Except the restriction doesn't say that. It doesn't say only one arch demagogue devotion. What it does say in each of the books is only one arch demagogue in the army can select a devotion from the following list. They are different lists, in different books, for different armies.
I'm not saying it's for-sure allowed. I just think it's worth discussing. The bigger problem, as I mentioned previously, is the warlord issue.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/10/10 16:10:50
Some are glass as glass half-full type of person.
Some are a glass half-empty.
I'm a glass half broken and shoved into someones face kinda guy... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/10 18:58:00
Subject: Multiple Renegade Demagogues?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The restriction is you can only have one warlord, so the rule is clear. Only one arch demagogue since it has to be your warlord. That is what I was saying in my post, with the example of the command squad as a possible explanation why the rule exists. Discuss it all you like though
|
|
 |
 |
|