Switch Theme:

Need help understanding SM Doctrines.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in bg
Storm Trooper with Maglight






So, I've played my Marines only once and it was Custom scenario, where they were used as Death Watch. I'm a total noob with Space Marines and because my english is not fluent (and I'm dumb when understanding rules), so I have a question that will probably make you wanna flame me.
I have a problem, I don't really understand how Doctrines works. I've read the 7th Edition SM codex and took a couple of looks into the 1d4chan, but it's still unclear to me when exactly do you issue a doctrine. I understand that, if you are Ultramarines and bring particular character and formation you can Issue doctrines twice per game (maybe 4?). Currently I'm playing an unnamed chapter until I finally decide what I wanna use them as. So let's say I have Space Marines, let's say they are Ultramarines. Rules says that: "An army that contains any Ultramarine units can use the Assault, Tactical and Devastor Doctrine once each per game. Its effects affect all Ultramarine models in your army". I already know their special rules that you can actually use it twice. Let's say I om other Chapter, rules says that ANY chapter can use one of this doctrines.

My general question is: If I'm not Ultramarines, I use one doctrine on my first turn - Tactical. Can I use my second turn, for example Devastator and on my Third to use Assault? Or I can only use only 1 type out of 3 doctrines only once for the whole game?

Also, Do I have to be in a formation to use Doctrines? If I play unbound army do I lose the opportunity to use Doctrine?

Many apologies for asking such ridiculous questions, but I'm really confused.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/31 19:21:41


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You can use each Doctrine you possess once. So if you have 2 Tactical Doctrines, 1 Assault Doctrine, and 1 Devastator Doctrine, you can use doctrines 4 turns, however 2 turns will be Tactical, one will be Assault and one will be Devastator.

You don't have to use a formation to use doctrines, however, the only way to get them Unbound is to be playing UM, as nobody else has basic access to them,

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in bg
Storm Trooper with Maglight






Thanks a lot for explaining this. So If I understand this correctly, IF I play anything that is not UM i have to be in Formation: Battle-Demi, or some other formation in order to use doctrines. If I go unbound I cannot use doctrines.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






A Demi-company in an Unbound army will still get a Tactical Doctrine - detachments don't recieve Command Benefits in an Unbound army, but Formations still get their special rules.

But yes, unless you're Ultramarines, you don't get much access to Doctrines, only when they are specifically listed (such as the Demi-company).
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 DalinCriid wrote:
Thanks a lot for explaining this. So If I understand this correctly, IF I play anything that is not UM i have to be in Formation: Battle-Demi, or some other formation in order to use doctrines. If I go unbound I cannot use doctrines.

Formations still work while Unbound.... Did you mean pure Unbound without Formations?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in bg
Storm Trooper with Maglight






Charistoph wrote:
 DalinCriid wrote:
Thanks a lot for explaining this. So If I understand this correctly, IF I play anything that is not UM i have to be in Formation: Battle-Demi, or some other formation in order to use doctrines. If I go unbound I cannot use doctrines.

Formations still work while Unbound.... Did you mean pure Unbound without Formations?


Unbound as non-mixed or allied detachment. I just have 500 points of SM and nothing else.
   
Made in us
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor






Gathering the Informations.

Honestly, I feel like the SM book really needs a heavy FAQ for this particular thing.

Why are Doctrines not a basic rule for the army with benefits for Detachments/Formations?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DalinCriid wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
 DalinCriid wrote:
Thanks a lot for explaining this. So If I understand this correctly, IF I play anything that is not UM i have to be in Formation: Battle-Demi, or some other formation in order to use doctrines. If I go unbound I cannot use doctrines.

Formations still work while Unbound.... Did you mean pure Unbound without Formations?


Unbound as non-mixed or allied detachment. I just have 500 points of SM and nothing else. [/quote

In that case either play a UM CAD, or don't worry about them and pick a chapter tactic that works for your collection.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: