Switch Theme:

Holy Requisitioner Requisitioning a Pod  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




I have been looking at the Cult Mechanicus Holy Requisitioner formation. I have a couple of questions that I don't know the answer to.

1) If I have an empty drop pod in my list (say one form a Codex Space Marines CAD) can I put the Magus Dominus in the pod? (I think yes, but I'm not sure)

2) If the Magus Dominus were in a pod would the pod and the breachers be rolled for with a single roll as per the formation? (I think yes, but I'm not sure)

3) Would such a pod scatter if placed within 6" of an objective? (I think yes, but I'm not sure)

4) If the MD were in a pod joined to another unit (say Tac marines) would this change any of the above answers? (I think no, but I'm not sure)

EDIT LATE ADDITION

5) If the pod and breachers came down on the smae turn and MD got out would the breachers then be able to be placed within range of him without scattering?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/16 22:56:26


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

1) What is the level of Allies with the army in question?

2-4) does the rule confer to a Transport they are in?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Charistoph wrote:
1) What is the level of Allies with the army in question?


They are both IoM so battle brothers. This is why requistioning a pod is possible. The question wasn't about how the allies chart works it was just a set up to the rest in case I had missed something in the formation that precluded this.

Charistoph wrote:
2-4) does the rule confer to a Transport they are in?


That is a part of my question. Do you know the answer?

This would be relevant particularly for the no scatter portion of the rule, hence why I think it would scatter.

I don't know if it would be relevant to the roll for reserves this is a tricky one.

As to question 4 I was asking if the addition of a unit to the pod would change anything. I don't know how whether the rule confers to the pod or not is relevant to that one.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/11/16 22:55:08


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Drager wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
2-4) does the rule confer to a Transport they are in?


That is a part of my question. Do you know the answer?

This would be relevant particularly for the no scatter portion of the rule, hence why I think it would scatter.

I don't know if it would be relevant to the roll for reserves this is a tricky one.

As to question 4 I was asking if the addition of a unit to the pod would change anything. I don't know how whether the rule confers to the pod or not is relevant to that one.

You misunderstand my question, and I apparently was not clear. Does the rule actually state it confers to the Transport they are in like the Webway Portal, Infiltrate, and Outflank?

As a default, there is no permission for rules to be conferred from Embarked unit to Transport. Therefore, for a unit's Special Rule to affect their Transport, it must explicitly state as such.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Sorry for any misunderstanding.

It does not say it confers and as such I don't think that it would allow the no scatter deep strike (so that answers Q3).

For the other two (now 3 questions) I don't think it matters whether or not it confers.

In the case of Q2 the Combined Reserve Units rule would mean you roll for the Magus Dominus and the pod simultaneously.

The part of the formation rule is as follows:

"When making reserve rolls make a single roll for the entire formation... "

As such rolling for the pod and magus seems to also be the roll for the breachers, there is no need for the pod to have this rule (it doesn't say anywhere that all models must or anything) and is already being rolled for at the same time as the MD due to Combined Reserves.

I am not sure about this one, although I can't really see a reasonable alternate interpretation.

Other questions kind of hinge on that one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/17 01:07:32


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

It seems to me to be impossible to follow the formation's rules if the Tech-Priest Dominus is embarked on an allied drop pod when you consider the following:

'The Formation’s Tech-Priest Dominus must be placed first, but does not..."

You would be breaking the requirement for him to be placed first because you must place the transport first before disembarking the Tech-Priest Dominus.
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Clearly the rule is related to the formation and the Tech Priest Dominus is placed first of all units in that formation, not all units deep striking that turn or all units in the army.

In the latter interpretation this would mean that the formation could never be used as you must have placed a model during deployment, or DS in a pod T1 to avoid losing at the end of T1.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/11/17 01:08:13


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

The context of the requirement is that when arriving via Deep Strike he be placed first. If you are placing the Drop Pod he arrived embarked upon you are not placing him first.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Mr. Shine wrote:
The context of the requirement is that when arriving via Deep Strike he be placed first. If you are placing the Drop Pod he arrived embarked upon you are not placing him first.


Yep, and the drop pod is not part of the same formation and does not have the special rule in question.

considering the ruling has the word "must" then it has to be followed, if you place him in a drop pod there is no way to resolve the rule as it requires the dominus be placed first- which cannot happen as the drop pod has to be placed first. The special rule does not state it benefits transports the unit uses, so it does not benefit the drop pod.

The only way to follow the rule is to have the Magos not in a drop pod, or any transport for that matter.

   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




However as the pod doesn't have the rule it is not among those things of which the do minus must be placed first.

Reading it as you are would a drop pod arriving on the same turn as the formation, with no formation units in it, being placed before the formation violate this rule? If not could you explain the difference as I'm not getting it?
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

That's not what we're saying at all.

The Apparition Extremis rule provides a single roll for the whole formation, with the Tech-Priest Dominus being required to be placed first when a successful roll is made.

If you're placing the drop pod ahead of the Tech-Priest Dominus (as you necessarily must, before he then disembarks) then you're not placing the Tech-Priest Dominus first.

Indeed, you're not even placing him per Deep Strike at all if he arrives embarked on the Drop Pod - he disembarks from it.
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




As the rule is not passed to the drop pod it should not be considered for which model is placed first, though right?

Now if disembarking means the dominus is not placed at all that would indeed violate the rule. Is that the case?

I should point out I'm not even sure this would be particularly useful (as I agree you would lose the no scatter part of the rule and the reroll), its just an interesting thought experiment.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/11/17 11:14:36


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: