Switch Theme:

[ITC] To ensure no invocation of "one eye open" and skyshield.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson


SCENERIO:
Lets say I have a group of Xeno scum on a skyshield landing pad and they are being surrounded by a group of loyalist defenders of the Empire.

QUESTION:
To ensure that I would not have to roll for "One Eye Open," would I measure diagonally between the xenos and the loyalists or down 3" and out 3"?

REASON FOR QUESTION:
The reason I ask is the possibility of small no scatter deep strikers coming down between the bubble wrap and ruining my day.

SUBQUESTION:
Can the deepstrikers be placed partially under the Skyshield?

Thanks
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Dallas, TX

I looked at deep strike in the 'Stronghold assult' book pg 15, it says depending on what kind of deep strike it is, teleport= it can deep strike any level of building desired, though not in a occupied building, jump/jet= it can deep strike on battlements, tyranid tunnelers can borrow underneath to the ground level.

The question comes to mind is the bottom level of skyshield part of the skyshield space when occupied. I personally think it is, but you should check with your opponent.
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Skyshields are not buildings or ruins or any other definable structure in 40k to the best of my knowledge.

You would measure 6" in a straight line (ie diagonally) - you are never told to measure down and out for this in ruins or anywhere else I can find so why would this be any different?

I am presently looking to see if a building or fortification is part of the faction it is chosen for as this could present an issue if they do indeed become part of the faction rather than army.

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You dont measure down and "out" for ruins either - you measure as usual, point to point. Skyshield is no different.

Technically nothing preventing deepstrikers going underneath the pad, you still measure to see if they are within 1" of enemy models, as normal, and you still have line of sight and size of models (can they physically fit underneath?)
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Dallas, TX

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You dont measure down and "out" for ruins either - you measure as usual, point to point. Skyshield is no different.

Technically nothing preventing deepstrikers going underneath the pad, you still measure to see if they are within 1" of enemy models, as normal, and you still have line of sight and size of models (can they physically fit underneath?)


I just read over the sky shield rules pg33 of stronghold assault book, it states the sky shield is a unusual type of terrain type, the top surface of the sky shield landing pad is open ground, to move onto or off count as moving through difficult terrain. Jump/jet/jet bike/skimmers do not take dangerous terrain for moving onto unfurled landing pad.

This tells me that the bottom space of the landing is considered part of its space, if it has any enemy units on it or in base contact with it, it's consider occupied.

Edit: it is not a building, so it can't be considered occupied fortification, I think it's just open ground on its top space, with difficult terrain moving on or off of it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/26 17:12:08


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No it isn't. There is no such status, and you measure as normal

There is no inside or outside like with a building. It's a poorly defined bit of terrain that needs clearing up.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

@nosferatu: sooooo, my original question? Diagonal vs verical then horizontal?
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Neither.

Range distance is horizontal only. The ruler/tape measure remains level to measure ranges. Imagine looking at a flat map of the table from above.

You measure the vertical distance for movement when changing levels on terrain. Usually 3 inches per level
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

WaughGoff wrote:
Neither.

Range distance is horizontal only. The ruler/tape measure remains level to measure ranges. Imagine looking at a flat map of the table from above.

You measure the vertical distance for movement when changing levels on terrain. Usually 3 inches per level

The above is false.


You measure point of the models base in one unit to the closest point of the closest models base in the unit you are measuring to as normal. (As per the rules for measuring between units).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 doktor_g wrote:
@nosferatu: sooooo, my original question? Diagonal vs verical then horizontal?

I already gave the answer - you measure model to model, same as any other measurement. There is nothing making it any different to any other measurement between units.

Ignore waughgoff, they are absolutely incorrect.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: