| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/28 14:49:55
Subject: Grav Kataphrons vs Leman Russ
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
So I got to field my destroyers for the first time the other day. I fired my grav guns at my buddies Leman Russ and after all the shots I ended up with 2 6's. Here is where we might be doing it wrong. Grav on a 6 causes an automatic hull point with an immobilized result. Any additional immobilized results strip an additional hull point as well as the one from the grav shot. So If i scored 2 sixes it would be a HP and an immobilized for the first result, the second would be an immobilized result and 2 HP's because it is a second immobilized result. This is how I read it. Am I correct? This means most vehicles die to just 2 grav shots.
Here is where we are not clear. Because shots really happen simultaneously, wouldn't the two immobilized results happen at the same time and not consecutively and thus not follow the immobilized rule from the damage chart? This would mean it would only be 2 HP but on the next turn, or next unit firing it would then follow the immobilized rules.
Thanks for the help!
|
Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage's whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/28 15:02:08
Subject: Re:Grav Kataphrons vs Leman Russ
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Miles City, MT
|
So I got to field my destroyers for the first time the other day. I fired my grav guns at my buddies Leman Russ and after all the shots I ended up with 2 6's. Here is where we might be doing it wrong. Grav on a 6 causes an automatic hull point with an immobilized result. Any additional immobilized results strip an additional hull point as well as the one from the grav shot. So If i scored 2 sixes it would be a HP and an immobilized for the first result, the second would be an immobilized result and 2 HP's because it is a second immobilized result. This is how I read it. Am I correct? This means most vehicles die to just 2 grav shots.
The way I understand it this is correct. It doesn't matter that the shots are simultaneous, because it is still two shots.
|
Twinkle, Twinkle little star.
I ran over your Wave Serpents with my car. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/28 16:41:27
Subject: Re:Grav Kataphrons vs Leman Russ
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
NorseSig wrote:So I got to field my destroyers for the first time the other day. I fired my grav guns at my buddies Leman Russ and after all the shots I ended up with 2 6's. Here is where we might be doing it wrong. Grav on a 6 causes an automatic hull point with an immobilized result. Any additional immobilized results strip an additional hull point as well as the one from the grav shot. So If i scored 2 sixes it would be a HP and an immobilized for the first result, the second would be an immobilized result and 2 HP's because it is a second immobilized result. This is how I read it. Am I correct? This means most vehicles die to just 2 grav shots.
The way I understand it this is correct. It doesn't matter that the shots are simultaneous, because it is still two shots.
Doesn't matter if it is two shots. The requirement is already Immobilized, in other words, before the shot is resolved, not additional Immobilized. There is no definition provided for the results to be considered one before the other on a lone Vehicle.
Squadrons are a different matter, though, oddly.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/29 04:12:02
Subject: Re:Grav Kataphrons vs Leman Russ
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
Charistoph wrote: NorseSig wrote:So I got to field my destroyers for the first time the other day. I fired my grav guns at my buddies Leman Russ and after all the shots I ended up with 2 6's. Here is where we might be doing it wrong. Grav on a 6 causes an automatic hull point with an immobilized result. Any additional immobilized results strip an additional hull point as well as the one from the grav shot. So If i scored 2 sixes it would be a HP and an immobilized for the first result, the second would be an immobilized result and 2 HP's because it is a second immobilized result. This is how I read it. Am I correct? This means most vehicles die to just 2 grav shots.
The way I understand it this is correct. It doesn't matter that the shots are simultaneous, because it is still two shots.
Doesn't matter if it is two shots. The requirement is already Immobilized, in other words, before the shot is resolved, not additional Immobilized. There is no definition provided for the results to be considered one before the other on a lone Vehicle.
Squadrons are a different matter, though, oddly.
This is how I'm seeing it. Still confusing though and it did happen again today too.
|
Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage's whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/29 06:00:19
Subject: Re:Grav Kataphrons vs Leman Russ
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
thekerrick wrote:This is how I'm seeing it. Still confusing though and it did happen again today too.
And it's not just Grav Weapons this can happen with. Any weapon that can provide more than one shot from a unit and Penetrate a Vehicle can do this, from Multimeltas and Lascannons to the lowly Pulse Rifle (depending on the target), so this is not just a Gravitation problem.
It's caused by a couple of weird combinations in how the rules work, surprise surprise.
A group of Weapons fire at the same time. They roll to Penetrate, and check Results. At no point is it ever reset to represent individual actions unless dealing with a Squadron, at which point, each Hit is resolved one at a time.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/29 10:09:17
Subject: Grav Kataphrons vs Leman Russ
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
We know that wounds are resolved one at a time, this is spelled out explicitly.
The vehicle rules only ever talk about resolving singular hits.
Why wouldn't we resolve hits on a vehicle one at a time?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/29 11:04:59
Subject: Grav Kataphrons vs Leman Russ
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
There's a rather nebulous statement in the vehicle damage table that either implies all rolls can occur at the same time, or it's just a clarification that you can only explode once, so stop rolling. Has been used by some in similar discussions before. Rulebook, page 76 wrote:7+ - Explodes! {...} The vehicle is destroyed. {...}, otherwise nearby units suffer a Strength 4 AP- hit for each model within D6" of the vehicle (resolve this once, regardless of how many times the result is inflicted), as flaming debris scatters across the area.
I've always played it as the second Immobilized causing two hull points, even if during the same shooting attack (as you mention, the normal process is to resolve one-at-a-time against non-vehicles, and that section of the rules only deals with a single hit), and it's never to my benefit so it's not just bias I hope.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/11/29 16:39:38
Subject: Grav Kataphrons vs Leman Russ
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
Well I am even more confused. We played it yesterday as them hitting simultaneously which didnt end up making that much of a difference. Is this just a house rule kinda thing?
|
Civilization is the progress toward a society of privacy. The savage's whole existence is public, ruled by the laws of his tribe. Civilization is the process of setting man free from men. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|