Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/02 07:39:45
Subject: Ending a units movement in a spot they began from?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
So, ETC has FAQ'd Tzeentch Screamers so that they may claim to have moved over ( "over" as a word having multiple definitions, including merely passing over something partially ) and do their sweep attacks ( basically allowing the models to remain put and the player just saying they now flew a circle over an enemy unit and returned to where they were. )
Personally I'm fine with this, because nowhere in the rules is a unit forbidden to end it's movement where it began ( or if so, please point to the page and paragraph ) and I could also physically pick up the models, fly a circle above the enemy unit and put them back in their original positions. Just saves time not doing so.
However, now a new Eldar Corsair unit has a designer's note forbidding basically this very thing: http://i.4cdn.org/tg/1449038077081.jpg
The rules do not forbid a move to end where it began, but in essence that Designer's Note does. It's also not a rule, it's a Designer's Note, that also asks you to play a singular Forgeworld unit sort of not how things can be played according to the rules. Can you just ignore this Designer's Note and play the unit according to the game rules, holding it still and saying it moved, or do you need to abide by it?
If the latter, then in essence the core rules would be overwritten by a singular units Designer's Note, also quite a sketchy outcome. So how is it now then?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/02 07:46:02
Subject: Ending a units movement in a spot they began from?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
If it's in the rulebook and tells you how a rule should be played or works, why is a designer's note somehow not a rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/02 07:47:55
Subject: Re:Ending a units movement in a spot they began from?
|
 |
Experienced Maneater
|
The Designer's note is still a valid rule explanation for this special rule. That doesn't mean it carrys over to other rules, like the one you mentioned.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/02 07:50:17
Subject: Ending a units movement in a spot they began from?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
I checked the rulebook and on page 18. it's clearly described that moving the way you came from ( and therefore stopping on the spot you started if you have the sufficient movement ) is perfectly fine.
It is perfectly fine to measure a units move in one direction, and then change your mind and decide to move it somewhere else ( even the opposite way entirely! )
Just adding this here so the discussion won't be derailed besides the main issue by folks who think this is not the case.
I also find it a bit odd that the note says "it's not permissible" when infact permission to do the very thing discribed is given in the core rulebook.
So the correct interpretation is that every other model in the game can claim it has moved in a circle, but this single unit cannot because of the Designer's Note?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/12/02 08:09:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/02 08:24:47
Subject: Ending a units movement in a spot they began from?
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Runic wrote: It is perfectly fine to measure a units move in one direction, and then change your mind and decide to move it somewhere else ( even the opposite way entirely! ) I don't think this means what you think it does. That line of the rules simply mean that measuring your move before moving models isn't binding and you can change your mind and choose to move them in an entirely different direction or not at all. That said though, the rulebook doesn't actually say you can't move and end up where you began, so you can. And yes, the Designer's Note would still mean the Corsair unit can't benefit from its special rule. It means it isn't permissible for the unit to remain still to benefit from it, not that it isn't permissible in general to end your movement where you began and yet not be stationary.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/12/02 08:26:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/02 08:26:44
Subject: Ending a units movement in a spot they began from?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
That's possible, but as you said the point still stands.
So I guess the unit in question is the only unit in the game which isn't allowed to end it's move where it began, contrary to the core rules of the game... as silly as it sounds.
Then again, WH40K.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/02 08:36:49
Subject: Ending a units movement in a spot they began from?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Runic wrote:So I guess the unit in question is the only unit in the game which isn't allowed to end it's move where it began...
It can end it's move in exactly the same spot as it began. What it can't do is claim the benefits of a certain special rule it has if it does so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/02 19:26:35
Subject: Ending a units movement in a spot they began from?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It's similar to how GW had ruled vehicle movement during 5th edition for the purposes of close combat - you can move all you want, however, for the purposes of being hit on close combat, you check displacement.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|