Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/12 13:31:55
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
uk
|
This happened the other night and we both said no, it seemed too much for a unit to do under pressure.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/12 14:08:25
Subject: Re:Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Revving Ravenwing Biker
|
I don't think there is a rule that prohibits overwatch if the squad regrouped after falling back.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/12 17:27:04
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
If a unit falling back cannot fire Overwatch, it would not be possible to regroup and fire overwatch.
Declare charge.
Fire overwatch (can't as you are falling back)
Roll charge range.
If unit is in range, attempt regroup
Carry on as normal.
Again this is predicated on a falling back unit being disallowed overwatch.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/12 18:07:11
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
I cannot seem to find any such restriction or mention of Falling Back and Overwatch affecting each other at this point.
Keep in mind that units Falling Back can still Shoot, Snap Firing conditions do not stack to being unable to fire.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/12 20:42:33
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
The problem is one of timing. As I understand it, you don't roll to regroup until the possibility of firing Overwatch has passed.
It occurs to me you might mean a unit that regroups in their movement phase, only to be charged in the next assault phase (so they were firing Snap Shots in their last shooting phase). IF that's what you meant, then they would still be able to fire Overwatch normally.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/12 20:54:19
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
From the rules for 'Fall Back and Shooting':
"Units that are Falling Back can only fire Snap Shots and cannot Run or Turbo-boost. Units that are Falling Back cannot Go to Ground and automatically pass Pinning tests."
I cannot find anything else to restrict a Falling Back unit's ability to resolve Overwatch, so unless it says otherwise, yes they can.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/12 22:23:43
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Jimsolo wrote:The problem is one of timing. As I understand it, you don't roll to regroup until the possibility of firing Overwatch has passed.
Timing would only be an issue if any shooting was not allowed while Falling Back. There is no restrictions on this.
Even if you have Regrouped the previous Movement Phase:
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/13 15:24:32
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Charistoph wrote: Jimsolo wrote:The problem is one of timing. As I understand it, you don't roll to regroup until the possibility of firing Overwatch has passed.
Timing would only be an issue if any shooting was not allowed while Falling Back. There is no restrictions on this.
Even if you have Regrouped the previous Movement Phase:
My bad. I mistakenly thought Happyjew was quoting rules. Mea culpa.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/13 17:25:04
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Sorry JimSolo. I thought I had made it clear, that what I stated was based on a rule disallowing overwatch when falling back.
Just out of curiosity, does overwatch have falling back as a restriction? I know units locked in combat cannot.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/13 20:08:13
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Happyjew wrote:Sorry JimSolo. I thought I had made it clear, that what I stated was based on a rule disallowing overwatch when falling back.
Just out of curiosity, does overwatch have falling back as a restriction? I know units locked in combat cannot.
Neither references the other, as far as I' have found, as I stated earlier.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/13 20:54:20
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
Crescent City Fl..
|
Page 59 hard back rule book.
Under regrouping Last paragraph under the last bullet point.
"Once the unit has regrouped it cannot otherwise move( so cannot run in the shooting phase or charge in the assault phase)However, it can shoot(Including Overwatch),but counts as having moved and can only fire snap shots."
Next is regrouping when assaulted. Same page.
A fleeing unit has a charge declared against it. It passes a LD test to regroup if it passes the test to regroup.
Fires over watch.
The charge move is resolved.
If it fails it is removed as a casualty at the end of the charge subphase.
|
The rewards of tolerance are treachery and betrayal.
Remember kids, Games Workshop needs you more than you need them. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/13 21:35:11
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
warhead01 wrote:."Next is regrouping when assaulted. Same page.
A fleeing unit has a charge declared against it. It passes a LD test to regroup if it passes the test to regroup.
Fires over watch.
The charge move is resolved.
If it fails it is removed as a casualty at the end of the charge subphase.
Small point perhaps but I think the test to regroup is made once the charging unit is found to be in charge range, so Overwatch is resolved before the test.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/13 22:53:55
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
Crescent City Fl..
|
In that case I would say no overwatch for a fleeing unit with an assault/charge declared against them. Due to the charge range needing to be met, which is determined after overwatch.
Suck to be them.
|
The rewards of tolerance are treachery and betrayal.
Remember kids, Games Workshop needs you more than you need them. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/14 00:03:24
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
warhead01 wrote:In that case I would say no overwatch for a fleeing unit with an assault/charge declared against them. Due to the charge range needing to be met, which is determined after overwatch.
Suck to be them.
How are you coming to this conclusion? Where does it state that Overwatch is impossible if Falling Back?
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/14 00:15:01
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
Crescent City Fl..
|
If the requirement to Overwatch is that the fleeing unit rallies and to rally the charge distance has to be determined to reach the unit in order to rally then at what point would they Overwatch.
Overwatch is done prior to rolling the charge distance. Then at what point would they rally. Maybe the charge is illegal because it skips the Overwatch.
|
The rewards of tolerance are treachery and betrayal.
Remember kids, Games Workshop needs you more than you need them. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/14 00:19:31
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
You don't need to rally in order to overwatch
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/12/14 01:06:04
Subject: Can a unit that is falling back both regroup and snap fire if charged?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
warhead01 wrote:If the requirement to Overwatch is that the fleeing unit rallies and to rally the charge distance has to be determined to reach the unit in order to rally then at what point would they Overwatch.
Overwatch is done prior to rolling the charge distance. Then at what point would they rally. Maybe the charge is illegal because it skips the Overwatch.
No permission is stated or required. Allowance is made for when Regrouping. This is not a restriction against using it at other times. Especially when Falling Back does not carry any such restrictions against any level of Shooting, either (aside from the obvious having moved, Snap Firing, etc).
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|