Switch Theme:

Do Units in Assault still score objectives?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




United States

Sorry if this has been discussed already, I could not find any definite answers elsewhere, and I could not find the answer looking through the Rule Book.

The Question: If a unit is in assault on top of an objective, do they score it (considering they are Objective Secured, etc.), or do they contest it, or do they become non-existent in terms of scoring objectives until they are no longer in assault?

Does anyone know where this would be in the book?


2000+

"Can we stop saying CCSM and CSM to just say CSM and SM? I mean really, don't we already know they have a codex? Plus my colon key is broken."  
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






Yes. There is no rule saying they don't, so they follow the usual rules for scoring even in Assault.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




United States

Thanks Shark, That is what I was leaning toward.

2000+

"Can we stop saying CCSM and CSM to just say CSM and SM? I mean really, don't we already know they have a codex? Plus my colon key is broken."  
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






Yes, if that unit has Objective Secured.

You control an objective if you have a scoring unit within 3" of it, and your opponent does not have any scoring units within 3" of it. Assault doesn't change this, and contesting isn't a "thing" anymore. You either control the objective, or you don't. If you have Objective Secured, and your opponent's unit does not, you still control the objective. This works both offensively and defensively. If both units have ObjSec, no one controls it. See 7th ed rules, p134.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/14 20:08:54



My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Cleatus wrote:
Yes, if that unit has Objective Secured.


Unless the enemy unit has a rule specifying it never counts as a scoring unit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: