Switch Theme:

Formations and Detachments  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





So i am confused on how formations and detachments work?

Can I use Combined Arms Detachment and Reclamation Legion Formation in the same 500 point army? Do i get the rules benefits for both?

What about Necron Decurion and a Reclamation Legion Formation and a Destroyer Cult formation in the same list? Do both formations get the benefits as well as the decruion benefits?


Im being told the Combined Arms Detachment and Reclamation Legion Formation cant be used together and I dont understand why.

Necrons 2000+
Space Wolves 2,000+  
   
Made in ca
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential





You can use them in the same list, it would just be a list with two detachments. The units you selected that were in the formation are part of that detachment and the units you selected that were in a CAD are part of the CAD. The CAD troops get objective secured and the formation units get their command benefits. Your list would then be a 2 detachment battle forged army.

I am not a huge necron knowledge guy, but I'm pretty sure the requirement for a decurion is a reclamation legion formation and an auxiliary formation, so if I'm right you should be able to build a decurion out of a reclamation legion and a destroyer cult. If you can fit it in 500 points is another matter, I don't know the points values. If you do this all units get decurion command benefits, as well as the command benefits of the formation they belong to, which in your example would be a reclamation legion and a destroyer cult.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/18 00:37:36


7500 pts Chaos Daemons 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Here is the example.

500 Points
Combined Arms - 500
Reclamation legion

1x Overlord - 95
1x Solar Staff

5x Immortals - 85

10x Warriors - 130

10x Warriors - 130

3x Tomb Blades - 60

Do i get the rules for both combined arms and reclamation? or can i not double count the troops and such?

Necrons 2000+
Space Wolves 2,000+  
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

AncientSkarbrand wrote:
You can use them in the same list, it would just be a list with two detachments. The units you selected that were in the formation are part of that detachment and the units you selected that were in a CAD are part of the CAD. The CAD troops get objective secured and the formation units get their command benefits. Your list would then be a 2 detachment battle forged army.

I am not a huge necron knowledge guy, but I'm pretty sure the requirement for a decurion is a reclamation legion formation and an auxiliary formation, so if I'm right you should be able to build a decurion out of a reclamation legion and a destroyer cult. If you can fit it in 500 points is another matter, I don't know the points values. If you do this all units get decurion command benefits, as well as the command benefits of the formation they belong to, which in your example would be a reclamation legion and a destroyer cult.

Pretty much, except the Formation doesn't carry Command Benefits. A mild distinction, but important to remember when dealing with Unbound.

But for the first, consider you're looking at 2 Warrior Squads, 1 Immortal Squad, 1 Tomb Blade Squad, 1 Overlord, in addition to the 1 HQ and 2 Troops from the CAD. That would be very difficult to fit in to 500 points.

Same goes for the Decurion. The Reclamation Legion is expensive, points-wise, and the Destroyer Cult as well. 9 Destroyers and a Destroyer Lord at a minimum is hard to fit in 500 points with an Overlord, 20 Warriors, 5 Immortals, and 3 Tomb Blades, and that is just the minimums! Larger point levels would be much easier to fit all this in.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 mrwittwer wrote:
Here is the example.

500 Points
Combined Arms - 500
Reclamation legion

1x Overlord - 95
1x Solar Staff

5x Immortals - 85

10x Warriors - 130

10x Warriors - 130

3x Tomb Blades - 60

Do i get the rules for both combined arms and reclamation? or can i not double count the troops and such?


No. Units can only belong to a single detachment. Formations are a type of detachment. So the above list could either be a Reclamation Legion (in which case you get the Reclamation Legion benefits) or it would be a CAD (in which case you get the CAD bonuses).

Detachments such as the Decurion are special in that they are made up of formations, so a Reclamation Legion taken as part of a Decurion would have both the Reclamation Legion and Decurion bonuses.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






I think whoever told you that is refering to your units not getting the benefits of both the formation and the CAD (for example, the Reclaimation Legion's Warriors would not get Objective Secured, since they're part of the Reclaimation Legion Formation, not the CAD). The only confusing part is when you add in the Decurion, which can be thought of as a Force Organization Chart made up of Unit Entries and Formations. This is one of the instances where the Formation's rules are combined with that of another Detachment. Formations, Decurions, and the CAD are all considered types of "Detachments" and, as of the newest edition, you are allowed to have as many Detachments as you have the points to pay for.

So, in the examples you gave:

If you take a CAD and a Reclaimation Legion, units from each detachment will only get the rules from that one Detachment. so say you have a unit of Immortals and you decide they will go to your CAD. They will receive Objective Secured from the CAD, but not Relentless, Move Through Cover or Enhanced Reanimation Protocols, as those are the rules from the Reclaimation Legion. Likewise, you must buy enough units to fulfill each detachment's requirements separately, so if you decide that you want a unit of Immortals in your CAD, you must buy at least one more unit of Immortals for your Reclaimation Legion.

If you take a Reclaimation Legion and Royal Court, you can declare it to be a Necron Decurion. In this case, you must take a Overlord for your Royal Court and a second Overlord for the Reclaimation Legion. Furthermore, the Royal Court Overlord would receive the rules for the Decurion and the Royal Court, but NOT the rules from the Reclaimation Legion. Likewise, the Legion's Overlord would receive the rules from the Decurion and the Reclaimation Legion, but NOT the Royal Court.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/18 06:11:53


Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 MechaEmperor7000 wrote:
If you take a Reclaimation Legion and Royal Court, you can declare it to be a Necron Decurion. In this case, you must take a Overlord for your Royal Court and a second Overlord for the Reclaimation Legion. Furthermore, the Royal Court Overlord would receive the rules for the Decurion and the Royal Court, but NOT the rules from the Reclaimation Legion. Likewise, the Legion's Overlord would receive the rules from the Decurion and the Reclaimation Legion, but NOT the Royal Court.

Be advised you still need one Auxiliary Choice in order to be a Decurion, and the Royal Court does not qualify for this as it is a Command Choice. This could be a unit of Deathmarks or Flayed Ones, or it can be a Destroyer Cult or Canoptek Harvest.

But the Special Rules going out from there were covered quite well.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Charistoph wrote:
 MechaEmperor7000 wrote:
If you take a Reclaimation Legion and Royal Court, you can declare it to be a Necron Decurion. In this case, you must take a Overlord for your Royal Court and a second Overlord for the Reclaimation Legion. Furthermore, the Royal Court Overlord would receive the rules for the Decurion and the Royal Court, but NOT the rules from the Reclaimation Legion. Likewise, the Legion's Overlord would receive the rules from the Decurion and the Reclaimation Legion, but NOT the Royal Court.

Be advised you still need one Auxiliary Choice in order to be a Decurion, and the Royal Court does not qualify for this as it is a Command Choice. This could be a unit of Deathmarks or Flayed Ones, or it can be a Destroyer Cult or Canoptek Harvest.

But the Special Rules going out from there were covered quite well.


Aie I've been forgetting small bits like that all week. This is gonna hurt my image as a rules Lawyer But yeah, you need an Auxillary Choice.

This would be a good time to also point out that not all Auxillary Choices are Formations (like the Flayed One Pack) so not all of them can be fielded alone.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: