Switch Theme:

CC + Multiple models?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I'm new to infinity and going over the close combat rules at the moment, im reading over "Close combat and several enemies" on Pg 40 of the core rule book under Close Combat and the rule im wondering about states:
"Close Combat against several enemies
Troops declaring CC Attack apply a MOD of +1 to their B for
each ally that is in base to base contact, and in Engaged state,
with the target of their attack and is not activated either by
an Order or an ARO"
In my case, i'm running USAriadna with DevilDog/Antipode, who i believe move, shoot and CC together. so would the Devildog get a +1 to his burst CC weapon if the antipode is with him, touching base to base with the Devil dog?
Ex1. DevilDog moves 4" into CC, Antipode follows, touching the base of the Devildog but not the Fusiller , ARO from from a Fusiller is shoot, He misses, Devildog doesn't need to take a Guts check and is declaring CC as his second short order.
Does he get his normal Burst of 1 or does he get +1 because he has his little Antipode with him?

Ex2. DevilDog moves 4" into CC, Antipode follows, touching the base of the Devildog and the Fusiller , ARO from from a Fusiller is shoot, He misses, Devildog doesn't need to take a Guts check and is declaring CC as his second short order.
Does he get his normal Burst of 1 or does he get +1 because he has the little Antipode with him?

And while i am on the topic, instead of opening a new thread, what does it mean if a model has a CC over 20? The Devildog has a CC of 21 and my understanding is: the Devildog will automatically hit, but on a roll of a 19+ he will critical hit. Is that correct?
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

No, the Devil dog will NOT (nor will the antipode) get the +1b in cc as they are BOTH activated by the same order.

He will get his normal b in cc (b1). In all cases except if he moves into b2b with an ALREADY engaged model (that is engaged with one of his units already).

CC over 20 does 2 things adds the difference between 20 and your skill to the die roll. A cc26 model, for example, even on a roll of a 1 gets a 7 as their result.

Increases your crit range. With cc20, you crit on a 20. With 21, you crit on a 19-20, 24 crits on a 16-20, etc



I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you, but what does that mean for rolls when its over 20?
When you roll for CC, you roll using your CC stat, and the Dmg is your PH(+-).
so when i roll a d20 for a model with CC 26 and get a 1, it turns into a 7 (because the amount over 20 is 6 + the 1 you got as a roll?) so when they have to Face to Face roll with me, they need to beat a 7, instead of a 1?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
One more thing, the Antipod rule, it says on page 68 under Antipod:
ยป In Close Combat, only one of the Antipodes may make a
CC Roll, but that one Antipode benefits from a MOD of +1
B and +1 Damage per other member of the Pack in base
to base contact with the target, and in Engaged state"
So the Antipod would have a CC B of 2 right? and also the Devildog has his of 1, so a total of 3 CC rolls, right??

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/25 00:19:34


 
   
Made in fr
Kelne





That way,then left

You're mixing things up. The antipode special rule isn't part of the k9 profile, it's for the antipode assault pack in the main ariadna army.
In the case of the devil dog, each model attacks once with no special modifier from being engaged with the same enemy
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







omnome wrote:
I'm new to infinity and going over the close combat rules at the moment, im reading over "Close combat and several enemies" on Pg 40 of the core rule book under Close Combat and the rule im wondering about states:
"Close Combat against several enemies
Troops declaring CC Attack apply a MOD of +1 to their B for
each ally that is in base to base contact, and in Engaged state,
with the target of their attack and is not activated either by
an Order or an ARO"
In my case, i'm running USAriadna with DevilDog/Antipode, who i believe move, shoot and CC together. so would the Devildog get a +1 to his burst CC weapon if the antipode is with him, touching base to base with the Devil dog?
Ex1. DevilDog moves 4" into CC, Antipode follows, touching the base of the Devildog but not the Fusiller , ARO from from a Fusiller is shoot, He misses, Devildog doesn't need to take a Guts check and is declaring CC as his second short order.
Does he get his normal Burst of 1 or does he get +1 because he has his little Antipode with him?

Ex2. DevilDog moves 4" into CC, Antipode follows, touching the base of the Devildog and the Fusiller , ARO from from a Fusiller is shoot, He misses, Devildog doesn't need to take a Guts check and is declaring CC as his second short order.
Does he get his normal Burst of 1 or does he get +1 because he has the little Antipode with him?

And while i am on the topic, instead of opening a new thread, what does it mean if a model has a CC over 20? The Devildog has a CC of 21 and my understanding is: the Devildog will automatically hit, but on a roll of a 19+ he will critical hit. Is that correct?


Just to be clear on a few things:
- In your examples, you're rolling the dice for the AROs too soon. The proper sequence is
1. Declare first skill of the order (move into close combat)
2. Declare ARO for the Fusilier (shoot)
3. Declare second skill of the order (close combat)
4. Resolve skills

The Fusilier's shooting roll is going to be face to face with the close combat roll of whoever is getting shot. So that CC21 devil dog vs the BS 12 Fusilier may miss if the devil dog rolls an 8 and the fusilier rolls a 9.

- Even though the shooting is declared against the devil dog while it's moving in to base contact (and in this case was declared before the close combat), the shooting is STILL going to be face to face against the close combat.

- The K-9 Antipodes DO NOT have the Antipode rule. The K-9 Antipodes have the Ghost: Synchronized rule. The army profiles list the special skills that the models have, and they mean it.

- The fusilier declares which of the active models he's shooting at when the ARO is declared. Unless I'm forgetting something, the current version of Ghost:Synchronized means that both the Devil Dog and the K-9 Antipode activate and get B1 on their close combat attack. If they both move into base contact, and everyone declares CC it that resolves as: Model A (the model the Fusilier attacked) vs. Fusilier, both sides face-to-face rolls; and Model B (the other one), Model B gets a normal roll on close combat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/12/27 20:57:21


 
   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: