Switch Theme:

IA11 Eldar Corsair scout Venoms assault turn 1  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

No. Can it Scout redeploy without the WG or other Eldar units having Scout? It's the same thing with the OP intepretation of the rules.

I'm asking as Scout on a vehicle for Eldar is nothing new, and if the rule is so clear, is there evidence this is widely accepted?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/03 13:56:59


No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




What interpretation? The one that literally follows the rules, or your one, which doesn't?

   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Yeah I see people scouting transports all the time heck your interpretation makes the Ork Battle Wagon formation pointless as only the battle wagons ever have scout. Are you stating that vehicles that have passengers only scout redeploy 6"? Again do you have ANY evidence in the form of rules to support this?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

I'm asking as the way you are indicateing it works has existed in the Eldar and Dark Eldar codex for last 7-8 months, yet you use an Ork detachment as an example of how it should be allowed.

If your interpretation is that clear, where has this been over the past 8 months with Eldar /DE armies?



No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





It has been there. Not sure what you are getting at? Yes you can do this with Eldar and have been able to for a while. No it isn't very good so it isn't something people use in competitive play.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

So why are we discussing an Ork detachment as to provide evidence why this is legal? It's been an Eldar thing for awhile now. This gives turn 1 assault capability to units that are considered mediocre/poor. Said units are only considered poor because they have no way to reliably get into assault. This provides the solution and those units are still universally panned (Banshees, Scorpions and Wraithblades).

What I am getting at is that your intepretation of the rules which allows this turn 1 assault is not as clear as you describe for this particular situation.




No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Those units ONLY get into assault if you get that Warlord Trait take the Raiders for them AND go first. This is why it is not seen very much. But it has undoubtedly been around for a while now.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Sarigar wrote:
I'm asking as the way you are indicateing it works has existed in the Eldar and Dark Eldar codex for last 7-8 months, yet you use an Ork detachment as an example of how it should be allowed.

If your interpretation is that clear, where has this been over the past 8 months with Eldar /DE armies?



No, we're saying the only rule disallowing this exists with the orks. Meaning that it is more than likely it is possible, barring a rule otherwise - which you cannot provide

It's allowed. Your examples pretty terrible in game as well.
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

 FlingitNow wrote:
Those units ONLY get into assault if you get that Warlord Trait take the Raiders for them AND go first. This is why it is not seen very much. But it has undoubtedly been around for a while now.


Eldrad, Tantalus and fill up to taste. Guaranteed Scout Warlord Trait. It's pretty easy.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





You still need first turn or you've wasted 200+ points on a fairly weak tactic.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Given a tantalus is a ton of points, even going first you've just killed your tantalus.,.
   
Made in fi
Fresh-Faced New User




scout LR full of terminators?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yawn. You could do 3 in 5th with shrike. It was terrible then and still is.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Sarigar, we provided the Ork Example because it contained a rule which called out the specific scenario in order to DISALLOW it. It is the only instance of a rule which RESTRICTS units from charging after their transport has scouted. Yes, Eldar/Dark Eldar combos have been able to scout and charge for some time, and it's not overly great due to the fragility of Dark Eldar transports so if you don't go first it's super unreliable. The Ork formation provided a rules example that specifically called out the scenario in question and said "These guys specifically needed a special rule to prevent them from charging after their transport scouts", because normally units CAN do it.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/01/03 19:46:48


 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






The Dog-house

Bojazz wrote:
Sarigar, we provided the Ork Example because it contained a rule which called out the specific scenario in order to DISALLOW it. It is the only instance of a rule which RESTRICTS units from charging after their transport has scouted. Yes, Eldar/Dark Eldar combos have been able to scout and charge for some time, and it's not overly great due to the fragility of Dark Eldar transports so if you don't go first it's super unreliable. The Ork formation provided a rules example that specifically called out the scenario in question and said "These guys specifically needed a special rule to prevent them from charging after their transport scouts", because normally units CAN do it.


But no one but you guys have come up with the idea, which leads me to believe that if the transport Scouts, the unit inside does too because their position on the tabletop has changed during the Scout Phase.

H.B.M.C.- The end hath come! From now on armies will only consist of Astorath, Land Speeder Storms and Soul Grinders!
War Kitten- Vanden, you just taunted the Dank Lord Ezra. Prepare for seven years of fighting reality...
koooaei- Emperor: I envy your nipplehorns. <Magnus goes red. Permanently>
Neronoxx- If our Dreadnought doesn't have sick scuplted abs, we riot.
Frazzled- I don't generally call anyone by a term other than "sir" "maam" "youn g lady" "young man" or " HEY bag!"
Ruin- It's official, we've ran out of things to talk about on Dakka. Close the site. We're done.
mrhappyface- "They're more what you'd call guidlines than actual rules" - Captain Roboute Barbosa
Steve steveson- To be clear, I'd sell you all out for a bottle of scotch and a mid priced hooker.
 
   
Made in gb
Killer Klaivex




The dark behind the eyes.

 Tactical_Spam wrote:
But no one but you guys have come up with the idea, which leads me to believe that if the transport Scouts, the unit inside does too because their position on the tabletop has changed during the Scout Phase.


That's faulty reasoning if ever I heard it.

 blood reaper wrote:
I will respect human rights and trans people but I will never under any circumstances use the phrase 'folks' or 'ya'll'. I would rather be killed by firing squad.



 the_scotsman wrote:
Yeah, when i read the small novel that is the Death Guard unit options and think about resolving the attacks from a melee-oriented min size death guard squad, the thing that springs to mind is "Accessible!"

 Argive wrote:
GW seems to have a crystal ball and just pulls hairbrained ideas out of their backside for the most part.


 Andilus Greatsword wrote:

"Prepare to open fire at that towering Wraithknight!"
"ARE YOU DAFT MAN!?! YOU MIGHT HIT THE MEN WHO COME UP TO ITS ANKLES!!!"


Akiasura wrote:
I hate to sound like a serial killer, but I'll be reaching for my friend occam's razor yet again.


 insaniak wrote:

You're not. If you're worried about your opponent using 'fake' rules, you're having fun the wrong way. This hobby isn't about rules. It's about buying Citadel miniatures.

Please report to your nearest GW store for attitude readjustment. Take your wallet.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Tactical_Spam wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
Sarigar, we provided the Ork Example because it contained a rule which called out the specific scenario in order to DISALLOW it. It is the only instance of a rule which RESTRICTS units from charging after their transport has scouted. Yes, Eldar/Dark Eldar combos have been able to scout and charge for some time, and it's not overly great due to the fragility of Dark Eldar transports so if you don't go first it's super unreliable. The Ork formation provided a rules example that specifically called out the scenario in question and said "These guys specifically needed a special rule to prevent them from charging after their transport scouts", because normally units CAN do it.


But no one but you guys have come up with the idea, which leads me to believe that if the transport Scouts, the unit inside does too because their position on the tabletop has changed during the Scout Phase.

No, their deployment has not altered - embarked. That's proven.

So you are saying the infantry unit inside restricts the transport to only displacing 6"? Yes or no.
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






The Dog-house

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Tactical_Spam wrote:
Bojazz wrote:
Sarigar, we provided the Ork Example because it contained a rule which called out the specific scenario in order to DISALLOW it. It is the only instance of a rule which RESTRICTS units from charging after their transport has scouted. Yes, Eldar/Dark Eldar combos have been able to scout and charge for some time, and it's not overly great due to the fragility of Dark Eldar transports so if you don't go first it's super unreliable. The Ork formation provided a rules example that specifically called out the scenario in question and said "These guys specifically needed a special rule to prevent them from charging after their transport scouts", because normally units CAN do it.


But no one but you guys have come up with the idea, which leads me to believe that if the transport Scouts, the unit inside does too because their position on the tabletop has changed during the Scout Phase.

No, their deployment has not altered - embarked. That's proven.

So you are saying the infantry unit inside restricts the transport to only displacing 6"? Yes or no.


Their deployment has altered by 12", if you moved them that far. The vehicle has Scouted, therefore the occupants have also Scouted with the vehicle. They must Scout with the vehicle because they can't disembark in the Scout Phase. If the vehicle infiltrated or outflanked, would the occupants still be able to assault?

H.B.M.C.- The end hath come! From now on armies will only consist of Astorath, Land Speeder Storms and Soul Grinders!
War Kitten- Vanden, you just taunted the Dank Lord Ezra. Prepare for seven years of fighting reality...
koooaei- Emperor: I envy your nipplehorns. <Magnus goes red. Permanently>
Neronoxx- If our Dreadnought doesn't have sick scuplted abs, we riot.
Frazzled- I don't generally call anyone by a term other than "sir" "maam" "youn g lady" "young man" or " HEY bag!"
Ruin- It's official, we've ran out of things to talk about on Dakka. Close the site. We're done.
mrhappyface- "They're more what you'd call guidlines than actual rules" - Captain Roboute Barbosa
Steve steveson- To be clear, I'd sell you all out for a bottle of scotch and a mid priced hooker.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So you cannot answer a single simple question. Good to know

Nope, their deployment, which is embarked, has not altered. That is true, regardless of you ignoring it.

Their position on the table hasn't altered.

The embarked unit hasn't scouted, if they had, you could provide a rule stating this. You cannot. Added to this we have the persuasive argument that it is still less usual for GW to write a redundant rule than it is for theme to write a rule which has function as such, the existence of the ork rule adds to the case that, simply put, you are wrong.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

So... what we're saying is that in a permissive ruleset, where you have to have permission to do anything, restricting something for something else is the same as permitting it for someone else?

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 deviantduck wrote:
So... what we're saying is that in a permissive ruleset, where you have to have permission to do anything, restricting something for something else is the same as permitting it for someone else?

No, that isn't it at all

I have permission to assault (presuming within 12" etc)

Deny me that permission. Do it, or concede the position

As was explained multiple times, the restriction mentioned acts as persuasive evidence in support of the defacto position. It in no way helps out the contrary.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

 Tactical_Spam wrote:
But no one but you guys have come up with the idea, which leads me to believe that if the transport Scouts, the unit inside does too because their position on the tabletop has changed during the Scout Phase.

That's completely false. No one but us in all of the world has come up with assaulting out of a scouted transport? This has been a topic of debate on dakka MANY times before. A forum search will find those threads for you. Here's two.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/620687.page
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/601816.page
A simple google search will find many more.

The threads usually consist of someone saying they can't and someone saying they can. Outflank and Deep Strike come up as comparable situations, but ultimately no one ever provides any evidence that the unit inside the transport has made a scout redeployment. The unit has generic permission to assault in the assault phase, and since there is no rule in the book which states they count as having made a scout redeployment if their transport does, then there is nothing restricting the permission to assault.
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






The Dog-house

Bojazz wrote:
 Tactical_Spam wrote:
But no one but you guys have come up with the idea, which leads me to believe that if the transport Scouts, the unit inside does too because their position on the tabletop has changed during the Scout Phase.

That's completely false. No one but us in all of the world has come up with assaulting out of a scouted transport? This has been a topic of debate on dakka MANY times before. A forum search will find those threads for you. Here's two.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/620687.page
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/601816.page
A simple google search will find many more.

The threads usually consist of someone saying they can't and someone saying they can. Outflank and Deep Strike come up as comparable situations, but ultimately no one ever provides any evidence that the unit inside the transport has made a scout redeployment. The unit has generic permission to assault in the assault phase, and since there is no rule in the book which states they count as having made a scout redeployment if their transport does, then there is nothing restricting the permission to assault.


I've given up this argument, dude. In the meantime, I've figured out a way to get Calgar in assault Turn 1

H.B.M.C.- The end hath come! From now on armies will only consist of Astorath, Land Speeder Storms and Soul Grinders!
War Kitten- Vanden, you just taunted the Dank Lord Ezra. Prepare for seven years of fighting reality...
koooaei- Emperor: I envy your nipplehorns. <Magnus goes red. Permanently>
Neronoxx- If our Dreadnought doesn't have sick scuplted abs, we riot.
Frazzled- I don't generally call anyone by a term other than "sir" "maam" "youn g lady" "young man" or " HEY bag!"
Ruin- It's official, we've ran out of things to talk about on Dakka. Close the site. We're done.
mrhappyface- "They're more what you'd call guidlines than actual rules" - Captain Roboute Barbosa
Steve steveson- To be clear, I'd sell you all out for a bottle of scotch and a mid priced hooker.
 
   
Made in ch
Fresh-Faced New User




I've updated the Original post
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

 Tactical_Spam wrote:


I've given up this argument, dude. In the meantime, I've figured out a way to get Calgar in assault Turn 1


Is it a reliable and reasonably costed way?

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






The Dog-house

 jokerkd wrote:
 Tactical_Spam wrote:


I've given up this argument, dude. In the meantime, I've figured out a way to get Calgar in assault Turn 1


Is it a reliable and reasonably costed way?


Reliable? If you play Hammer and Anvil it may work, but your enemy would have had to deployed like an idiot.
Reasonably costed? Nope. Assault Terminators + Calgar + LR Crusader + Inquisitor.

H.B.M.C.- The end hath come! From now on armies will only consist of Astorath, Land Speeder Storms and Soul Grinders!
War Kitten- Vanden, you just taunted the Dank Lord Ezra. Prepare for seven years of fighting reality...
koooaei- Emperor: I envy your nipplehorns. <Magnus goes red. Permanently>
Neronoxx- If our Dreadnought doesn't have sick scuplted abs, we riot.
Frazzled- I don't generally call anyone by a term other than "sir" "maam" "youn g lady" "young man" or " HEY bag!"
Ruin- It's official, we've ran out of things to talk about on Dakka. Close the site. We're done.
mrhappyface- "They're more what you'd call guidlines than actual rules" - Captain Roboute Barbosa
Steve steveson- To be clear, I'd sell you all out for a bottle of scotch and a mid priced hooker.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Why not just take a Skyhammer if you want Calgar in combat turn 1? Also grab Belial for the guarantee.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in fi
Fresh-Faced New User




https://www.frontlinegaming.org/2016/01/04/rules-debate-scouting-vehicles-and-first-turn-assaults/#comment-462608
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






The Dog-house

 FlingitNow wrote:
Why not just take a Skyhammer if you want Calgar in combat turn 1? Also grab Belial for the guarantee.


Because Terminators > Assault Marines

H.B.M.C.- The end hath come! From now on armies will only consist of Astorath, Land Speeder Storms and Soul Grinders!
War Kitten- Vanden, you just taunted the Dank Lord Ezra. Prepare for seven years of fighting reality...
koooaei- Emperor: I envy your nipplehorns. <Magnus goes red. Permanently>
Neronoxx- If our Dreadnought doesn't have sick scuplted abs, we riot.
Frazzled- I don't generally call anyone by a term other than "sir" "maam" "youn g lady" "young man" or " HEY bag!"
Ruin- It's official, we've ran out of things to talk about on Dakka. Close the site. We're done.
mrhappyface- "They're more what you'd call guidlines than actual rules" - Captain Roboute Barbosa
Steve steveson- To be clear, I'd sell you all out for a bottle of scotch and a mid priced hooker.
 
   
Made in gb
Killer Klaivex




The dark behind the eyes.

 Tactical_Spam wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Why not just take a Skyhammer if you want Calgar in combat turn 1? Also grab Belial for the guarantee.


Because Terminators > Assault Marines


That seems debatable.

 blood reaper wrote:
I will respect human rights and trans people but I will never under any circumstances use the phrase 'folks' or 'ya'll'. I would rather be killed by firing squad.



 the_scotsman wrote:
Yeah, when i read the small novel that is the Death Guard unit options and think about resolving the attacks from a melee-oriented min size death guard squad, the thing that springs to mind is "Accessible!"

 Argive wrote:
GW seems to have a crystal ball and just pulls hairbrained ideas out of their backside for the most part.


 Andilus Greatsword wrote:

"Prepare to open fire at that towering Wraithknight!"
"ARE YOU DAFT MAN!?! YOU MIGHT HIT THE MEN WHO COME UP TO ITS ANKLES!!!"


Akiasura wrote:
I hate to sound like a serial killer, but I'll be reaching for my friend occam's razor yet again.


 insaniak wrote:

You're not. If you're worried about your opponent using 'fake' rules, you're having fun the wrong way. This hobby isn't about rules. It's about buying Citadel miniatures.

Please report to your nearest GW store for attitude readjustment. Take your wallet.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: