Switch Theme:

Can Assassin's even be taken in a drop pod? Hear me out...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




San Diego, CA

A buddy of mine brought this up (saying you are not allowed to per Raw) and I totally shut him down a few times because it sounded ludacris and because it seems to be a staple in so many other people's armies.

However, my question still stands - Can an assassin be taken in a drop pod? e.g. a Culexus coming in to potentially shut down a psychic deathstar?

I am now currently of the thought that you can't due to the fact that Assassin's must infiltrate.

Due to the shoddy wording of the GW FAQ on this matter, infiltrators MUST infiltrate, which means they deploy after the rest of the army and during that infiltration phase.

Since a drop pod is in reserve during the normal deployment phase and all units that are coming in via a drop pod must be placed in there at that time, is it even possible?

Maybe I'm missing something but hopefully someone can shine a bit more light on this.

Thanks!

Cooper Waddell

Heresy White Scars

Winner of the 2015 Hammer of Wrath 40k GT - White Scars

Best Overall at the 2018 SoCal Open - Tyranids 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Which FAQ are you referring to?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Infiltrators must Infiltrate if they are deployed normally, but may still be put into reserve - note how a unit with Infiltrate also gains the Outflank rule by default (Infiltrate rule, p167 or the rulebook).

Infiltration still takes place "during deployment", which is when the "combined reserves" rule requires. The fact that the transport will already be in reserves shouldn't matter to the process, and it's not actually a requirement to do both at the same time.

Note that it must be a non-dedicated Drop Pod for this to work.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Quanar wrote:
Infiltrators must Infiltrate if they are deployed normally, but may still be put into reserve - note how a unit with Infiltrate also gains the Outflank rule by default (Infiltrate rule, p167 or the rulebook).

Infiltration still takes place "during deployment", which is when the "combined reserves" rule requires. The fact that the transport will already be in reserves shouldn't matter to the process, and it's not actually a requirement to do both at the same time.

Note that it must be a non-dedicated Drop Pod for this to work.


Flesh Tearers to the rescue. the Emperors Uber.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: