Switch Theme:

MC Problems  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Dakka Veteran





So I have a few questions about MC's, Particularly the Keeper of Secrets and Daemon Prince. I understand that MC's get both smash and hammer of wrath special rules, smash meaning all melee attacks resolve at AP2. Although hammer of wrath states no other special rules can be accounted for when resolving the initial charge attack. My main question is does hammer of wrath resolve at AP2? Also can someone please better explain hammer of wrath? Im not sure if it resolves as a single seperate attack, or one of the units attacks (for example 1 of the KoS's 6 attacks) or do all of a models attacks during the charge resolve at 10 strength? If it resolves as a seperate attack, does that mean my keeper of Secrets gets 8 attacks? 6 initial attacks, 1 for charging and 1 for hammer of wrath?

Would appreciate any help.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No, Hammer of Wrath does not resolve at AP2, because HoW specifically states no other special rules can be accounted for when resolving Hammer of Wrath.

Also can someone please better explain hammer of wrath?

it is a single extra attack at the listed initiative at base strength and AP-. This has nothing to do with the Attacks value on the profile.





"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Ohhhhh I see, I thought it was resolved at Str10 So does that mean when assaulting keeper of secrets has 8 attacks? 1 extra from charge and 1 hammer of wrath?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/16 08:52:38


 
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





How uses the unmodified Str Value, auto hit at I 10 but is always AP- unless other wise stated by some USR

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Reavas wrote:
Ohhhhh I see, I thought it was resolved at Str10 So does that mean when assaulting keeper of secrets has 8 attacks? 1 extra from charge and 1 hammer of wrath?


6 base (assuming he has 6 base, I don't have the codex to check), and 1 From The charge.

He also gets 1 attack at base Str and AP- from HoW. So 7 regular attacks and 1 HoW attack.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you want S10 then you have to use the other part of the smash rule, but you only ever get one attack.
   
Made in gb
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch





Eye of Terror.

nosferatu1001 wrote:
If you want S10 then you have to use the other part of the smash rule, but you only ever get one attack.

But you also get a Hammer of Wrath attack at your base Strength as well as this because HoW is revolved at I10 with no special rules, before the point when you can use Smash

At War With Fate? Maybe I am and maybe I'm not... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: