Switch Theme:

Karandras outflank question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Been brainstorming at work (and away from my books), and I got to wondering if Karandras can drag another IC into the enemy's deployment zone turn 2 by both joining a squad of Scorps.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Goobi2 wrote:
Been brainstorming at work (and away from my books), and I got to wondering if Karandras can drag another IC into the enemy's deployment zone turn 2 by both joining a squad of Scorps.

How would he go about doing this?

If you mean by Hunter's Strike, nope, it specifically prevents it.

Also, Karandras and Scorpions have Infiltrate, which make it... difficult for an IC to join them before Turn 1.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Away from codex, but IIRC the rule specifically says no other ICs allowed.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Short answer is no. Long answer is clear when you get back to your book.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Thanks! I knew Reserves opened a handful options, but being specifically prohibited sealed the deal
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





The only way I could see an IC joining them would be if Karandras and Scorpions outflanked near the said IC and joined the said IC by the end of their movement phase OR have an IC deep strike next to where they will enter the board.

However no IC can join the squad in their outflank maneuver.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Erik_Morkai wrote:
The only way I could see an IC joining them would be if Karandras and Scorpions outflanked near the said IC and joined the said IC by the end of their movement phase OR have an IC deep strike next to where they will enter the board.

However no IC can join the squad in their outflank maneuver.

Specifically "Character", so even an Exarch may prevent it. It depends on how you define "join"

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Charistoph wrote:
 Erik_Morkai wrote:
The only way I could see an IC joining them would be if Karandras and Scorpions outflanked near the said IC and joined the said IC by the end of their movement phase OR have an IC deep strike next to where they will enter the board.

However no IC can join the squad in their outflank maneuver.

Specifically "Character", so even an Exarch may prevent it. It depends on how you define "join"


Since the only rules we have on characters joining units are under the IC special rule, and Exarchs are not ICs, I think we can safely claim RAW, Exarchs don't join the unit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Happyjew wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
 Erik_Morkai wrote:
The only way I could see an IC joining them would be if Karandras and Scorpions outflanked near the said IC and joined the said IC by the end of their movement phase OR have an IC deep strike next to where they will enter the board.

However no IC can join the squad in their outflank maneuver.

Specifically "Character", so even an Exarch may prevent it. It depends on how you define "join"

Since the only rules we have on characters joining units are under the IC special rule, and Exarchs are not ICs, I think we can safely claim RAW, Exarchs don't join the unit.

As I said, "may" "depending on your definition of 'join'".

Also remember that some Characters do join units without being ICs, though I don't know of any Eldar that do, Dark or Craftworld.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: