Switch Theme:

Are you allowed to stuff 2 squads or independent characters inside a single transport?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Manhattan

I'm thinking if I can stuff 1 harlequin 5 man troupe and 1 solitare (he can never join a unit) inside a single Starweaver (6 man capacity)

Can the Solitare remain inside if the 5 man troupe disembarks or charges out?

This applys to any faction like Rhinos, or Dark Eldar 10 man raiders, etc.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Unless otherwise stated transports can only carry 1 unit at a time.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 CrownAxe wrote:
Unless otherwise stated transports can only carry 1 unit at a time.

Indeed.

Rhinos and Land Raiders can sort of get away with this because of how Combat Squads work, but that's based more on the units' rules and not the individual Transport's. Storm Raven does specifically also list a way to carry more than one unit, but one usually has to be a Dreadnought.

Aside from those snowflake situations, only Super Heavy Transports can carry multiple units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/26 06:35:42


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission



Eastern VA

Note one quasi-exception: you can put multiple ICs in one transport if they're allowed to join units normally, because they join each other to form one unit. However, AFAIK, they all have to disembark together. (Though they could disembark out of coherency - normal IC rules, after all.)

~4500 -- ~4000 -- ~2000 -- ~5000 -- ~5000 -- ~4000 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

jade_angel wrote:
Note one quasi-exception: you can put multiple ICs in one transport if they're allowed to join units normally, because they join each other to form one unit. However, AFAIK, they all have to disembark together. (Though they could disembark out of coherency - normal IC rules, after all.)

They no more have to Disembark together than with any other unit. Transport rules state that.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Manhattan

jade_angel wrote:
Note one quasi-exception: you can put multiple ICs in one transport if they're allowed to join units normally, because they join each other to form one unit. However, AFAIK, they all have to disembark together. (Though they could disembark out of coherency - normal IC rules, after all.)


So if I have 3 Death Jesters, or say 3 Eldar Autarchs whatever in 1 Starweaver or Venom they can all join together to make 1 squad?

What do you guys think about a Starweaver with 3 Death Jesters flying around pumping out Shuriken 15 S6 AP3 shots?
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






If the Death Jesters all have the Independent Character Rule (which is different from "Character") then they can all join together to form a "mega-unit" and ride in a single transport. But they all have to fire at the same target, get off at the same time, etc.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

They do not have to disembark togethef, as Charistoph pointed out above.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Manhattan

Related question to this. If an IC is attached to a squad.. say Harlequin troupes and a shadowseer or Death Jester who is an IC, can at any point they detach from the squad and run towards a different objective?
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

DorianGray wrote:
Related question to this. If an IC is attached to a squad.. say Harlequin troupes and a shadowseer or Death Jester who is an IC, can at any point they detach from the squad and run towards a different objective?

Only in the Movement Phase can they deliberately separate from a unit. Any other separation requires destruction of the IC or unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/28 15:33:03


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

DorianGray wrote:
Related question to this. If an IC is attached to a squad.. say Harlequin troupes and a shadowseer or Death Jester who is an IC, can at any point they detach from the squad and run towards a different objective?
Yup. All an IC has to do to separate from a squad is move 1 (or 2, I forget) inches away from them in the movement phase.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Unless otherwise stated transports can only carry 1 unit at a time.


One notable exception to this is super-heavy transports. They may carry as many infantry units as can fit inside - for example, 3x squads of burnas with meks in a stompa is perfectly legal.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/01/28 15:37:15


"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: