Switch Theme:

Formation rules and non-formation IC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 gmaleron wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
That's a load of unsupported leaps, and yet again confusing command benefits - which detachments have - and what formations lack. Note what unbound says about command benefits vs the special rules of formations, if you want to understand the difference.

IC is a normal member of the unit for all rules purposes.

undermines the whole of your argument

Confer != benefit. I do not need to HAVE the rule in order to BENEFIT from the rule

This is proven. Your concession that you cannot provide a rules quote for anything you claim is noted, as you have been asked and found wanting at every turn.


You are WRONG the IC unless taken in the FORMATION is from a DIFFERNT DETACHMENT, it clearly states on page 118 that a unit from a DIFFERNT DETACHMENT cannot benefit or gain the Special Rules from another Detachment, and a Formation is listed as another Detachment. You have NOTHING to stand on.


The rules simply do not say what you claim they say, and that's enough reason for me to leave this thread since this is clearly not going anywhere. Page 118 does simply not say that a unit cannot benefit from a Special Rule when it is not part of the detachment granting the Special Rule as their Command Benefit - which is what you claim, from what I understand from your post (you might want to calm down a tad again, though - getting hard to read there). It simply doesn't. You keep making these claims based on you literally replacing words with other words in your mind - see "to confer vs to benefit" previously - in order to fit your own narrative. Enjoy it while the thread remains open, I'm out.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

gmaleron, where in the rules for Formations, does it say that the rules granted, are Command Benefits?
Take the BA codex, for example.

Blood Angels Battle Company (Formation)
Units you must take
Restrictions.
Special Rules

Baal Strike Force (Detachment)
FOC (aka units you must take and can take)
Restrictions
Command Benefits

Detachments have Command Benefits. Formations (while a type of Detachment) do not have Command Benefits, they have special rules.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which I pointed out, but was ignored as presumably it's inconvenient.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Charistoph wrote:

Now that IS bull crap. Command Benefit rules state no such thing:"COMMAND BENEFITS
This section of the Detachment lists any special rules or benefits that apply to some or all of the models in that Detachment. For example, the units in a Combined Arms Detachment benefit from the Ideal Mission Commander and Objective Secured special rules.
If a Detachment or Force Organisation Chart does not list any Command Benefits then the units that make it up receive no additional benefits." I see no place where a joined IC from another detachment are specifically exempted any more than any other interaction between ICs and units. The only limitations between detachments involves the Ally relationship, and Battle Brother rules do not provide any such exemption, either. The other levels of alliance do, but that is because they prevent the joining in the first place.


Page 118 clearly states:
Detachments Page 118:
"However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more then one detachment

Meaning if an IC was taken from a different Detachment he does not belong to the Formation Detachment. Which leads me to this:
Command Benefits Page 121:
This section of the Detachments lists any Special Rules or benefits that apply to some or all models in that Detachment. For Example, the units in a Combined Arms Detachment benefit from the Ideal Mission Commander and Objective Secured Special Rules

Command Benefits list the Special Rules or Benefits for all or some of the models in that specific detachment (aka Special Rules are a type of Command Benefit) and since a unit cannot belong to more then one Detachment he cannot benefit from another Detachments Special Rules.

 Happyjew wrote:
gmaleron, where in the rules for Formations, does it say that the rules granted, are Command Benefits?
Take the BA codex, for example.
Blood Angels Battle Company (Formation)
Units you must take
Restrictions.
Special Rules
Baal Strike Force (Detachment)
FOC (aka units you must take and can take)
Restrictions
Command Benefits
Detachments have Command Benefits. Formations (while a type of Detachment) do not have Command Benefits, they have special rules.



It States that Special Rules are listed under Command Benefits which means they are a type of Command Benefit when taken as a part of a Detachment, a Formation is a type of Detachment. I am not ignoring it at all and it is perfectly clear, IC's from a different Detachment cannot benefit from the Special Rules of another no matter how hard you try to find a loophole there is none.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:12:46


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 gmaleron wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
That's a load of unsupported leaps, and yet again confusing command benefits - which detachments have - and what formations lack. Note what unbound says about command benefits vs the special rules of formations, if you want to understand the difference.

You are WRONG the IC unless taken in the FORMATION is from a DIFFERNT DETACHMENT, it clearly states on page 118 that a unit from a DIFFERNT DETACHMENT cannot benefit or gain the Special Rules from another Detachment, and a Formation is listed as another Detachment. You have NOTHING to stand on.

I'm going to need a better reference since I do not always have the book handy, but I do have the epub on my phone to reference. The only rule I find that states "different detachment" is regarding the number of units of a Role an FOC may have, and if you want more than the FOC allows, you need to take a different detachment to put them in.

 gmaleron wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Well you've changed at least one word in that quote because that makes no sense in English. So you might want to have another go at that. However no one is claiming a unit can belong to more than 1 detachment other than you.

That is Word for Word from the Rulebook, so I haven't changed anything.

No, you changed words from the rulebook, or at least, mistranslating them.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Charistoph wrote:

No, you changed words from the rulebook, or at least, mistranslating them.


Lol you are so full of it, so now I have to be mistranslating because I am writing something that you don't agree with? Wow I guess that's one way to try and win an argument, claiming im misleading, figures.

Im going to read everything word for word from the Rule Book:

Detachments Page 118:

"However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more then one detachment

Command Benefits Page 121:

This section of the Detachments lists any Special Rules or benefits that apply to some or all models in that Detachment. For Example, the units in a Combined Arms Detachment benefit from the Ideal Mission Commander and Objective Secured Special Rules.

Formations Page 121:

Formations are a Special Type of Detachment, each specific grouping of units renowned for their effectiveness on the battlefields of the 41st millennium. Whilst some Formations provide you with all the gaming information you will need to use them in your games, it is not uncommon for them to simply describe a number of special rules that apply when you include several specific units together. Instead of including a Force Organization chart, the Army List Entries that comprise a Formation are listed on it, along with any special rules that those units gain.

Here it is again WORD FOR WORD from the Rulebook, not my fault it doesn't say what you want it to.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:16:04


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 gmaleron wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
gmaleron, where in the rules for Formations, does it say that the rules granted, are Command Benefits?
Take the BA codex, for example.
Blood Angels Battle Company (Formation)
Units you must take
Restrictions.
Special Rules
Baal Strike Force (Detachment)
FOC (aka units you must take and can take)
Restrictions
Command Benefits
Detachments have Command Benefits. Formations (while a type of Detachment) do not have Command Benefits, they have special rules.



It States that Special Rules are listed under Command Benefits which means they are a type of Command Benefit when taken as a part of a Detachment, a Formation is a type of Detachment. I am not ignoring it at all and it is perfectly clear, IC's from a different Detachment cannot benefit from the Special Rules of another no matter how hard you try to find a loophole there is none.


Correct, Special Rules are listed under Command Benefits. No one has said otherwise. Which means Command Benefits are special rules, but not all special rules are Command Benefits. Formations don't have Command Benefits they have special rules. Just like Army List Entries don't have Command Benefits, they have special rules.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 gmaleron wrote:
Charistoph wrote:

Now that IS bull crap. Command Benefit rules state no such thing:
"COMMAND BENEFITS
This section of the Detachment lists any special rules or benefits that apply to some or all of the models in that Detachment. For example, the units in a Combined Arms Detachment benefit from the Ideal Mission Commander and Objective Secured special rules.

If a Detachment or Force Organisation Chart does not list any Command Benefits then the units that make it up receive no additional benefits."

I see no place where a joined IC from another detachment are specifically exempted any more than any other interaction between ICs and units. The only limitations between detachments involves the Ally relationship, and Battle Brother rules do not provide any such exemption, either. The other levels of alliance do, but that is because they prevent the joining in the first place.

Page 118 clearly states:

Detachments Page 118:

"However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more then one detachment


Meaning if an IC was taken from a different Detachment he does not belong to the Formation Detachment. Which leads me to this:

Command Benefits Page 121:

This section of the Detachments lists any Special Rules or benefits that apply to some or all models in that Detachment. For Example, the units in a Combined Arms Detachment benefit from the Ideal Mission Commander and Objective Secured Special Rules


Command Benefits list the Special Rules or Benefits for all or some of the models in that specific detachment (aka Special Rules are a type of Command Benefit) and since a unit cannot belong to more then one Detachment he cannot benefit from another Detachments Special Rules.

You seem to be ignoring one critical point often forgotten "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters." The IC's unit identity is sublimated while joined to another detachment. It is not a Captain unit inside a Vanguard unit, it is a Captain model inside a Vanguard unit who reverts back to being a Captain model in a Captain unit when they separate from each other.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Happyjew wrote:
Correct, Special Rules are listed under Command Benefits. No one has said otherwise. Which means Command Benefits are special rules, but not all special rules are Command Benefits. Formations don't have Command Benefits they have special rules. Just like Army List Entries don't have Command Benefits, they have special rules.


They have Command Benefits because Special Rules are a TYPE of Command Benefit. And it still doesn't change the fact that they are part of a different Detachment than the IC attempting to join the unit in the Formation, he cannot belong to both and in that case cannot benefit from both.

Charistoph wrote:
You seem to be ignoring one critical point often forgotten "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters." The IC's unit identity is sublimated while joined to another detachment. It is not a Captain unit inside a Vanguard unit, it is a Captain model inside a Vanguard unit who reverts back to being a Captain model in a Captain unit when they separate from each other.


You are ignoring what I have been quoting all along, Independent Characters have to go about Special Rules a certain way:

When an Independent Character joins a unit, it might have different Special Rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn Special Rule), the units Special Rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character and the Independent Characters Special Rules are not conferred upon the unit."

So if the Special Rule itself does not state it affects the IC he cannot use it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:20:07


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 gmaleron wrote:
Charistoph wrote:

No, you changed words from the rulebook, or at least, mistranslating them.


Lol you are so full of it, so now I have to be mistranslating because I am writing something that you don't agree with? Wow I guess that's one way to try and win an argument, claiming im misleading, figures.

No, you are mistranslating them because you are ignoring all the rules regarding the situation, which I have pointed out above.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Page 118 clearly states: 

Detachments Page 118: 

"However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more then one detachment 

Meaning if an IC was taken from a different Detachment he does not belong to the Formation Detachment. Which leads me to this: 


Again with the misquote. It states that nowhere on page 118 because that makes no sense in English. If you're going to quote then quote what the actual rules state.

However we all know an IC is not from a Formation he was not selected for. However what detachment(s) is the combined IC and Squad unit from? 3rd time of asking now.


Command Benefits Page 121: 

This section of the Detachments lists any Special Rules or benefits that apply to some or all models in that Detachment. For Example, the units in a Combined Arms Detachment benefit from the Ideal Mission Commander and Objective Secured Special Rules 

Command Benefits list the Special Rules or Benefits for all or some of the models in that specific detachment (aka Special Rules are a type of Command Benefit) and since a unit cannot belong to more then one Detachment he cannot benefit from another Detachments Special Rules. 


Sorry why can't a unit benefit from another Detachment's special rules? Nothing in your quote states or supports that. You have a quote say a unit can only belong to 1 detachment (well you've tried to quote that at least). You have a quote that says models in a Detachment gain it's benefits but nothing stating no one else can benefit.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 gmaleron wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
Correct, Special Rules are listed under Command Benefits. No one has said otherwise. Which means Command Benefits are special rules, but not all special rules are Command Benefits. Formations don't have Command Benefits they have special rules. Just like Army List Entries don't have Command Benefits, they have special rules.

They have Command Benefits because Special Rules are a TYPE of Command Benefit. And it still doesn't change the fact that they are part of a different Detachment than the IC attempting to join the unit in the Formation, he cannot belong to both and in that case cannot benefit from both.

No, Formation Special Rules are NOT Command Benefits and nothing states as such, especially Formation datasheets. Command Benefits are Special Rules.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





You people are the ones mistranslating, I am literally reading word for word out of the book and not misquoting anything, if you are the ones attempting to translate rather then speak your native language its probably on your end (no offense intended).

"Command Benefits: page 121

This Section of the Detachment lists any Special Rules or Benefits that apply to some or all of the models in that detachment"


No Special Rules area type of Command Benefit not the other way around.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:23:19


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 gmaleron wrote:
Charistoph wrote:

No, you changed words from the rulebook, or at least, mistranslating them.


Lol you are so full of it, so now I have to be mistranslating because I am writing something that you don't agree with? Wow I guess that's one way to try and win an argument, claiming im misleading, figures.

Im going to read everything word for word from the Rule Book:

Detachments Page 118:

"However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more then one detachment

Command Benefits Page 121:

This section of the Detachments lists any Special Rules or benefits that apply to some or all models in that Detachment. For Example, the units in a Combined Arms Detachment benefit from the Ideal Mission Commander and Objective Secured Special Rules.

Formations Page 121:

Formations are a Special Type of Detachment, each specific grouping of units renowned for their effectiveness on the battlefields of the 41st millennium. Whilst some Formations provide you with all the gaming information you will need to use them in your games, it is not uncommon for them to simply describe a number of special rules that apply when you include several specific units together. Instead of including a Force Organization chart, the Army List Entries that comprise a Formation are listed on it, along with any special rules that those units gain.

Here it is again WORD FOR WORD from the Rulebook, not my fault it doesn't say what you want it to.



Well that page 118 quote isn't word for word is it? Actually look at what the rulebook has written in it.

However that doesn't change anything does it? What Detachment(s) does the combined IC and Squad unit belong to? 4th time now.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Right, so their claim now is that ANY special rule is a Command Benefit?

Logical fallacy or what!

A-> B does not imply that B-> A.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 FlingitNow wrote:
However that doesn't change anything does it? What Detachment(s) does the combined IC and Squad unit belong to? 4th time now.

It does and I answered you earlier, the situation in question deals with as follows:
-An IC from a CAD
-A Unit from a Formation
So the IC joins the unit in the Formation, however because he is from a Different Detachment he cannot benefit from another Detachments Command Benefits which Special Rules are listed under.
Also as mentioned repeatedly and repeatedly ignored by everyone this is listed on page 166:

When an Independent Character joins a unit, it might have different Special Rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn Special Rule), the units Special Rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character and the Independent Characters Special Rules are not conferred upon the unit."

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Right, so their claim now is that ANY special rule is a Command Benefit?
Logical fallacy or what!
A-> B does not imply that B-> A.

Its what is listed in the Rule Book, take it up with GW if you have a problem, just like your "claim" of how a character from another detachment can get the benefits from another detachment while ignoring two lines of rules along the way.

nekooni wrote:
The rules simply do not say what you claim they say, and that's enough reason for me to leave this thread since this is clearly not going anywhere. Page 118 does simply not say that a unit cannot benefit from a Special Rule when it is not part of the detachment granting the Special Rule as their Command Benefit - which is what you claim, from what I understand from your post (you might want to calm down a tad again, though - getting hard to read there). It simply doesn't. You keep making these claims based on you literally replacing words with other words in your mind - see "to confer vs to benefit" previously - in order to fit your own narrative. Enjoy it while the thread remains open, I'm out.


I have not replaced anything and I read everything word for word from the Rulebook, just because it doesn't cater to your opinion doesn't mean you have to lie and make accusations to try and suit your needs. Im sorry I proved you wrong and that you had no facts to support your claim (despite many instances to do so) and I am perfectly calm despite yet again, you trying to instigate something I am not. Next time when getting into a rule debate I would recommend reading through the entire Rulebook as it paints a clearer picture like I just proved. Good luck and thankfully I don't have to play you, I feel sorry for your opponents being taken advantage of by your House Rule.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:35:00


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 gmaleron wrote:
You people are the ones mistranslating, I am literally reading word for word out of the book and not misquoting anything, if you are the ones attempting to translate rather then speak your native language its probably on your end (no offense intended).

Yes, you are mistranslating at best. Missing context allows for mistranslation. You ignore the fact that when an IC joins a unit, it does not count as the unit it was before, but counts as being part that unit. A Blood Angels Captain joining a Dark Angels Tactical Squad is not treated as two units in one, but one single unit, the Dark Angels Tactical Squad which has Sergeant, Marines, and Captain models within it.

 gmaleron wrote:
"Command Benefits: page 121

This Section of the Detachment lists any Special Rules or Benefits that apply to some or all of the models in that detachment"


No Special Rules area type of Command Benefit not the other way around.

Yes, the Legend states that it lists any Special Rules that apply to that detachment, which makes Command Benefts a type of Special Rule instead of all Special Rules being a type of Command Benefit. Just like the full section I quoted earlier.

My Chaplain does not have the Command Benefit of Zealot, he has the Special Rule of Zealot. My Decurion Warriors do not have the Command Benefit of Relentless, they have the Special Rule of Relentless, but they do have the Command Benefit of Ever-Living which is a detachment special rule.

I should also point out the the restrictions on Special Rules is not just limited to detachments (formation or otherwise), but is part of ANY Special Rule in the game. Read the introduction to the Special Rules section, particularly what it says in "What Special Rules Do I Have?"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:33:21


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

So is everyone just going to ignore Charistoph's clear and concise interpretation of the rules that he listed on page 3? I have yet to see anyone address this clear, line for line, with quotes, interpretation. I'll quote it again here.

Charistoph wrote:
gmaleron wrote:The rule I'm referring to comes from the IC page in regard to Special Rules:

When an Independent Character joins a unit, it might have different Special Rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn Special Rule), the units Special Rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character and the Independent Characters Special Rules are not conferred upon the unit."

Taking that into account when you look at a formation you will see that they have to take specific units listed in the army list entry in order to run the formation. Those units then get additional special rules. At that point you have to look at independent characters and how they deal with special rules which the above paragraph details. According to what is listed under independent characters unless the special rule says it confers to the independent character they do not get the special rule, to me there's no room for interpretation at that point.

Now some points have been brought up in regards to it not stating that the IC cannot benefit from the special rule. At that point you would have to read the specific special rule to see what it entails as it is the only place to answer that question. If the special rule says that independent characters from outside the formation can get the special rule or something along the lines of all models in a unit or the unit is affected by the said special rule then he would be able to get the special rule.

To me you keep ignoring one key portion of that rule you keep quoting. When you bold it to highlight it, you keep skipping the important part where it provides and example. Here let me show you:

When an Independent Character joins a unit, it might have different Special Rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn Special Rule), the units Special Rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character and the Independent Characters Special Rules are not conferred upon the unit."

So, we have a rule that says ICs do not have the special rules conferred on them, or in other words, do not have the special rules "granted or bestowed" upon them (using the Oxford online dictionary, how much more British can you get?). Yet, it does provide an exception if it specifies as in the Stubborn Special Rule.

Well, let's review the Stubborn Special Rule for how it confers on the IC:
"When a unit that contains at least one model with this special rule takes Morale checks or Pinning tests, they ignore any negative Leadership modifiers. If a unit is both Fearless and Stubborn, it uses the rules for Fearless instead."

Hmm, no mention of conferring (or any of its synonyms) or Independent Character exists in this rule. So how then does an IC not have its Leadership negatively affected while in a Stubborn unit? He doesn't get it. It is not bestowed or conferred upon him, yet the IC rule specifically points this rule out as the IC as the example of how an IC does get the rule from a unit (or vice versa).

The only possible solution is to review another portion of a rule and the target of the Stubborn Special Rule. From Joining and Leaving a Unit in the IC rules:"While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters." What is the target of the Stubborn rule? A unit that is somehow carrying the rule.

Then we continue on to Independent Characters and Ongoing Effects which states:
"Sometimes, a unit that an Independent Character has joined will be the target of a beneficial or harmful effect, such as those bestowed by the Blind special rule, for example. If the character leaves the unit, both he and the unit continue to be affected by the effect, so you’ll need to mark the character accordingly.

Conversely, if an Independent Character joins a unit after that unit has been the target of an ongoing effect (or joins a unit after himself having been the target of an ongoing effect) benefits and penalties from that effect are not shared.
"

Which indicates that Special Rules that affect a unit that the IC has joined WILL be affected as well, even if the IC leaves the group afterward. 92% of the unique rules provided by Formations are rules that have a Trigger and an effect, such as "When a unit with this special rule arrives from Deep Strike Reserves, it may Charge in the next Assault Phase." If the IC is with the unit when this Trigger occurs, it receives the beneficial effect from the rule just as much as it would be disabled if the unit was hit with a Blind Attack. Conversely, if the IC joins after the trigger, it is not affected.

So say you have a Vanguard unit with this Formation rule to charge and you have Marneus Calgar both waiting in Deep Strike Reserves as separate units and they both roll to come in on the same turn. You Deep Strike in the Vanguard unit, and seeing an opportunity for this unit to have even more punch, you Deep Strike Marneus Calgar in to Coherency with the unit (you gutsy player you) with no Mishaps. The Vanguard unit has fulfilled the conditions of its rule and the Trigger is activated and the unit receives the benefit. Calgar is not part of this unit when it happens as he arrives later and isn't considered a member of the unit till the end of the Movement Phase. This unit will not be able to charge because Calgar does not have any permission or Special Rule effect to override the Deep Strike and Reserves conditions.

BUT, if Calgar is in the Vanguard unit from deployment and Deep Strikes with the unit, he receives the benefit of the rule since he was a member of the unit when it received the effect of the Special Rule.

Do you see the difference?



This seems to be a very logical and clear line of reasoning.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:36:13


6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 gmaleron wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
However that doesn't change anything does it? What Detachment(s) does the combined IC and Squad unit belong to? 4th time now.

It does and I answered you earlier, the situation in question deals with as follows:
-An IC from an CAD
-A Unit from a Formation


Cool so how many Detachments do you have listed there? Is that number more than 1? Because according to the actual quote from page 118 it can't be:

BRB page 118 wrote:
However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more than one detachment.



So the IC joins the unit in the Formation, however because he is from a Different Detachment he cannot benefit from another Detachments Command Benefits which Special Rules are listed under.


Why can it not? Again what rules support to do have for this. Remember a rule saying X gets Y is not the same as a rule saying if not X then you can not get Y.


Also as mentioned repeatedly and repeatedly ignored by everyone is this on page 166:
When an Independent Character joins a unit, it might have different Special Rules from those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn Special Rule), the units Special Rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character and the Independent Characters Special Rules are not conferred upon the unit."


Who has ignored that rule? How does that rule in any way damage our argument?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 FlingitNow wrote:
 gmaleron wrote:
Charistoph wrote:

No, you changed words from the rulebook, or at least, mistranslating them.


Lol you are so full of it, so now I have to be mistranslating because I am writing something that you don't agree with? Wow I guess that's one way to try and win an argument, claiming im misleading, figures.

Im going to read everything word for word from the Rule Book:

Detachments Page 118:

"However, all of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more then one detachment

Command Benefits Page 121:

This section of the Detachments lists any Special Rules or benefits that apply to some or all models in that Detachment. For Example, the units in a Combined Arms Detachment benefit from the Ideal Mission Commander and Objective Secured Special Rules.

Formations Page 121:

Formations are a Special Type of Detachment, each specific grouping of units renowned for their effectiveness on the battlefields of the 41st millennium. Whilst some Formations provide you with all the gaming information you will need to use them in your games, it is not uncommon for them to simply describe a number of special rules that apply when you include several specific units together. Instead of including a Force Organization chart, the Army List Entries that comprise a Formation are listed on it, along with any special rules that those units gain.

Here it is again WORD FOR WORD from the Rulebook, not my fault it doesn't say what you want it to.



Well that page 118 quote isn't word for word is it? Actually look at what the rulebook has written in it.

However that doesn't change anything does it? What Detachment(s) does the combined IC and Squad unit belong to? 4th time now.

You do realize no where in the rules does it state a model can transfer from one detachment to another just by joining another unit. The IC always belongs to its original detachment and thus does not gain another detachments command benefits. The IC is always an HQ choice (or whatever type you originally purchased it from) these do not change if you join a unit. If the game gave you a victory point for every HQ unit killed the IC (if purchased originally from HQ) would still give you a victory point. No where in the rules does it state two detachments can't join models in one unit. There is a line that states every unit must belong to a detachment and can not belong to more then one detachment but that only further clarifies how an IC is not part of that detachment. This is for a legal army At the start of a game when detachment rules are gained.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:42:18


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 FlingitNow wrote:
Cool so how many Detachments do you have listed there? Is that number more than 1? Because according to the actual quote from page 118 it can't be:

That is the POINT I am trying to make
Why can it not? Again what rules support to do have for this. Remember a rule saying X gets Y is not the same as a rule saying if not X then you can not get Y

Because it is clearly stated on pages 118 and 166 that a unit from a Different Detachment cannot gain the Command Benefits (Special Rules) of another Detachment. Page 166 describes it at the unit level.
Who has ignored that rule? How does that rule in any way damage our argument?

Everyone has, noosferatu and nekooni have stated that because it doesn't say if the IC can benefit from the Special Rule or not. The problem is that you have to read the Special Rule to see what it has to say, however it should never get to this point because he is part of a different detachment.

gungo wrote:
You do realize no where in the rules does it state a model can transfer from one detachment to another just by joining another unit. The IC always belongs to its original detachment and thus does not gain another detachments command benefits. The IC is always an HQ choice (or whatever type you originally purchased it from) these do not change if you join a unit. If the game gave you a victory point for every HQ unit killed the IC (if purchased originally from HQ) would still give you a victory point. No where in the rules does it state two detachments can't share models in one unit. However it does state no model can ever be part of two detachments.


I don't understand how or why they keep ignoring it.


This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:42:38


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





You do realize no where in the rules does it state a model can transfer from one detachment to another just by joining another unit.


So what Detachment is the combined unit from? Remembering that the answer can only be 1 detachment?

The IC always belongs to its original detachment and thus does not gain another detachments command benefits.


Yes the IC model does not gain the command benefits. He however can still be effected by them.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

gungo wrote:
You do realize no where in the rules does it state a model can transfer from one detachment to another just by joining another unit. The IC always belongs to its original detachment and thus does not gain another detachments command benefits. The IC is always an HQ choice (or whatever type you originally purchased it from) these do not change if you join a unit. If the game gave you a victory point for every HQ unit killed the IC (if purchased originally from HQ) would still give you a victory point. No where in the rules does it state two detachments can't share models in one unit. However it does state no model can ever be part of two detachments.

So again, we are going back to the two units in one argument which has yet to be supported anywhere? So the IC rule about when it joins another unit it counts as part of that unit for ALL rules purposes is never stated? Which rulebook are you using?

The IC has the HQ role when he is a unit, as the UNIT has the Role, not the model. When the IC is in a Troops unit, he is not operating as an HQ unit, but a model in a Troops unit. It really is quite simple and explicit, I don't understand why you choose to ignore it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:44:28


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 FlingitNow wrote:
So what Detachment is the combined unit from? Remembering that the answer can only be 1 detachment?

I see how you are getting confused, the question started with a Space Marine Combined Arms Detachment containing an IC joined a unit from a Space Marine Formation. As long as an IC is listed as Battle Brothers with a unit from a different Detachment he can join them, however he does not benefit from their Special Rules because they are from a Different Detachment.

Charistoph wrote:
So again, we are going back to the two units in one argument which has yet to be supported anywhere? So the IC rule about when it joins another unit it counts as part of that unit for ALL rules purposes is never stated? Which rulebook are you using?
The IC has the HQ role when he is a unit, as the UNIT has the Role, not the model. When the IC is in a Troops unit, he is not operating as an HQ unit, but a model in a Troops unit. It really is quite simple and explicit, I don't understand why you choose to ignore it.


If the IC were to join a unit from HIS Detachment then he has the potential to benefit from that Units Special Rules if said Special Rule can carry over to the IC such as Stubborn. Stubborn works because how the rule is setup "a model in the unit effects the whole unit". However since the Formation is a different Detachment he cannot benefit from the Command Benefits (Special Rules) of the other Detachment. We are not ignoring it, its just a fact that it doesn't work at all because it never gets past the "from a different detachment" stage.



This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:50:01


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gmaleron - so again, IC from cad joins unit from formation

The combined unit is a) from one detachment or b) from two detachments ? A or b. Pick one

Have you read the rule stating that the IC is a normal member of the unit yet?

IC unit from cad joins formation. IC Unit CEASES to exist. IC model is a normal member of the unit for all rules purposes.

And we're done. The unit is allowed to benefit from its special rules. (Not command benefits. Have you bothered to understand the difference yet??? A implies B does not mean B implies A. That's a logical fallacy YOU are committing, not GW. GW never said what you are claiming, so stop pretending otherwise). The IC, as a normal member, also benefits

There is no rule disallowing this, and the special rule in question permits it.

Done. Proven. Old argument, disproven every time. Confer != benefit.
   
Made in us
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor






Gathering the Informations.

Per your logic, the IC's special rules no longer exist since the IC unit ceases to exist.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 gmaleron wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Cool so how many Detachments do you have listed there? Is that number more than 1? Because according to the actual quote from page 118 it can't be:

That is the POINT I am trying to make


So now you accept the combined unit according page 118 can not belong to multiple Detachments. Also that due to page 166 the IC is a normal member of the unit and the unit is therefore still part of its detachment and only its Detachment.


Why can it not? Again what rules support to do have for this. Remember a rule saying X gets Y is not the same as a rule saying if not X then you can not get Y

Because it is clearly stated on pages 118 and 166 that a unit from a Different Detachment cannot gain the Command Benefits (Special Rules) of another Detachment. Page 166 describes it at the unit level.


Sorry but the rules don't say that as has been pointed out to you so you have intentionally lied here. Intentionally lying is rude so against the forum politeness rules, furthermore it does not enhance your position as the fact you have to lying implies you know your position is incorrect. Finally lying in such a blatant manner makes it impossible to move the discussion forward.


Who has ignored that rule? How does that rule in any way damage our argument?

Everyone has, noosferatu and nekooni have stated that because it doesn't say if the IC can benefit from the Special Rule or not. The problem is that you have to read the Special Rule to see what it has to say, however it should never get to this point because he is part of a different detachment.


Following what the rule says is not ignoring it. The IC does not gain a special rule merely by joining a unit with said special rule. However that special rule can still effect him. The rule in question sheds no light on whether or not the UK is effected by the special rule so is entirely irrelevant. Likewise the command benefit rule from page 121 puts no restrictions on who is effected by rules it just details models from a Detachment gain that detachments command benefits.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kanluwen wrote:
Per your logic, the IC's special rules no longer exist since the IC unit ceases to exist.


Nope those special rules are granted to the IC model which does still exist. If the IC was say a Chaplain and a rule that "units of Chaplains gains benefit X" then whilst the Chaplain was joined to a unit he would indeed lose benefit X.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/03 16:56:56


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Gmaleron - so again, IC from cad joins unit from formation
The combined unit is a) from one detachment or b) from two detachments ? A or b. Pick one
Have you read the rule stating that the IC is a normal member of the unit yet?
IC unit from cad joins formation. IC Unit CEASES to exist. IC model is a normal member of the unit for all rules purposes.
And we're done. The unit is allowed to benefit from its special rules. (Not command benefits. Have you bothered to understand the difference yet??? A implies B does not mean B implies A. That's a logical fallacy YOU are committing, not GW. GW never said what you are claiming, so stop pretending otherwise). The IC, as a normal member, also benefits
There is no rule disallowing this, and the special rule in question permits it.
Done. Proven. Old argument, disproven every time. Confer != benefit.


Wrong wrong wrong yet again you are ignoring rules to suit your own needs, here we go again:

-It would be a unit from 2 different detachments, which if you were to READ THE RULES you would see that a unit from one Detachment cannot benefit from the Command Benefits (Special Rules) of another Detachment.
-Yes I have read the rule however you are forgetting about the fact it is a different Detachment
-You are also forgetting about the rule which I have quoted stating that unless the Special Rule says it affects the Independent Character he does not benefit from it, but it doesn't matter because he is from a different Detachment.

You are twisting words to suit you own needs, Special Rules are listed under Command Benefits for Detachments which a Formation is a type of Detachment. Done and done, no argument or leg to stand on to support your claims.

 FlingitNow wrote:


You are making zero sense dude, what are you asking? You are asking the same thing over and over even though I answered your questions and you are asking questions that don't make sense?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 17:01:22


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 gmaleron wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
So what Detachment is the combined unit from? Remembering that the answer can only be 1 detachment?

I see how you are getting confused, the question started with a Space Marine Combined Arms Detachment containing an IC joined a unit from a Space Marine Formation. As long as an IC is listed as Battle Brothers with a unit from a different Detachment he can join them, however he does not benefit from their Special Rules because they are from a Different Detachment.

Charistoph wrote:
So again, we are going back to the two units in one argument which has yet to be supported anywhere? So the IC rule about when it joins another unit it counts as part of that unit for ALL rules purposes is never stated? Which rulebook are you using?
The IC has the HQ role when he is a unit, as the UNIT has the Role, not the model. When the IC is in a Troops unit, he is not operating as an HQ unit, but a model in a Troops unit. It really is quite simple and explicit, I don't understand why you choose to ignore it.


If the IC were to join a unit from HIS Detachment then he has the potential to benefit from that Units Special Rules if said Special Rule can carry over to the IC such as Stubborn. Stubborn works because how the rule is setup "a model in the unit effects the whole unit". However since the Formation is a different Detachment he cannot benefit from the Command Benefits (Special Rules) of the other Detachment. We are not ignoring it, its just a fact that it doesn't work at all because it never gets past the "from a different detachment" stage.



So being general seems to confuse you so I'll try to be more specific. We have an IC From a CAD. It joins an Assault Squad from a Skyhammer Annihilation Force. What Detachment is the combined unit from?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 FlingitNow wrote:
So being general seems to confuse you so I'll try to be more specific. We have an IC From a CAD. It joins an Assault Squad from a Skyhammer Annihilation Force. What Detachment is the combined unit from?

Lol no I am just fine when it comes to tactics and overall strategy, it is your English and line of questioning that is difficult to understand. As I stated earlier:

-It is x2 Detachments, nothing stops an IC from joining the unit from another detachment as long as they are battle brothers.
-The fact that they are part of x2 Detachments means that the IC cannot benefit from the units Special Rules (a type of Command Benefits)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/03 17:09:43


19th Krieg Siege Army 7500pts.
40k/HH Night Lords 5000pts.
Orks Waaaghmacht Spearhead 2500pts.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: