Switch Theme:

Can Dreadclaw Drop Pods be dedicated transports for Khorne Berserkers?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





So, I ordered two Dreadclaw Drop Pods off of ForgeWorld for my girlfriend's KDK army. I have the Imperial Armor 13 with the rules and it states that the Dreadclaw counts as a Fast Attack choice unless taken for a couple different choices. I'm wondering if I can use one for her Khorne Berzerker squad and it still be a dedicated troop transport, or are they technically not Chaos Space Marines? Obviously in friendly games, this doesn't really matter, but I want to fall in line with ITC, and I couldn't find anything on the subject.


"You are a fool! I am going to crush you, and throw you into the wind!" 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Moved to 40k You Make Da Call
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Well since it doesn't list Bezerkers as having option of taking it as a dedicated transport, no you can't.

You have to take is an an empty fast attack choice (in a CSM detachment since its not a KDK unit option)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/04 23:24:44


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Berserkers are indeed CSM.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Dozer Blades wrote:
Berserkers are indeed CSM.

No, Beserkers are Beserkers. Chaos Space Marines are their own unit entry on Pg95 of the codex
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Berzerkers are units and models in several different Factions. The ones in the KDK faction do not have access to Dreadclaws as Dedicated Transports. In the base codex, they do not hav access to Dreadclaws as Dedicated Transports.

It is possible that one of the Forgeworld books will allow Dedicated Transport access to the Dreadclaw for Berzerkers, but I am not familiar with all of them.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

There is a formation that i believe consists of 20 beserkers and a dreadclaw. So it wont effect your other detachments


"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

BattleScribe lets you take DC as a transport for Berserkers I believe.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

It is a Kharybdis Assault Claw with the 20 Bezerkers.


It has the Drop Pod abilities and the formation adds the ability to assault when you disembark out of deepstrike and if you scatter onto a vehicle the Kharybdis gets immobilized, but the vehicle takes a D hit. It also adds Blood for the blood god rule to the Kharybdis.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/05 02:32:16


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Ok, the exact wording is " The Dreadclaw may be taken as a Dedicated Transport for Chaos Space Marines and Chosen Squads". So, I guess that means I can only take them as a DT for the CSM entry in the KDK book.

"You are a fool! I am going to crush you, and throw you into the wind!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Dozer Blades wrote:
BattleScribe lets you take DC as a transport for Berserkers I believe.


Battle Scribe is not a codex and it has several errors. It's a useful tool but you should always look at what the actual books say.
   
Made in no
Dakka Veteran




 jokerkd wrote:
There is a formation that i believe consists of 20 beserkers and a dreadclaw. So it wont effect your other detachments



That's a Kharybdis Assault Claw, the huge version for over 200 points, the Dreadclaw only has a transport capacity of 10. And no, you may not take it as a dedicated transport for Berzerkers.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






 Sweeping_Advance wrote:
Ok, the exact wording is " The Dreadclaw may be taken as a Dedicated Transport for Chaos Space Marines and Chosen Squads". So, I guess that means I can only take them as a DT for the CSM entry in the KDK book.


Not even that. IA13 refers to the CSM codex and the CSM codex alone in terms of marines. KDK can't use ANY of the IA13 stuff, at least not officially.
I have heard though, that they have stated that you can take stuff for KDK that can be khorne dedicated but then you MUST dedicate them, such as a Blood Slaughterer or a contemptor with dedication to khorne. In that case you STILL can't take a claw, as they can't be dedicated to khorne, with the exception of the kharybdis claw in that formation.

So if you want berserkers to be using a Claw, they have to either (1) be codex csm berserkers, (2) take the claw in a csm detachment and just use it as a taxi service since they are battlebrothers ,or (3) screw that noise and just use it anyway because it would be stupid not to seeing as how even forgeworld let them use the kharybdis in a formation. I don't see why anybody would contest that. Or at least anybody I care to play against.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






Not even that. IA13 refers to the CSM codex and the CSM codex alone in terms of marines. KDK can't use ANY of the IA13 stuff, at least not officially.


Wow, I totally missed that. I guess I wasted $200. So, quickly do formations take up force organization slots? Could I max out my CAD then take a Charnel Cohort formation?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/05 23:24:44


"You are a fool! I am going to crush you, and throw you into the wind!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

You can play an unbound list too.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Sweeping_Advance wrote:

Not even that. IA13 refers to the CSM codex and the CSM codex alone in terms of marines. KDK can't use ANY of the IA13 stuff, at least not officially.


Wow, I totally missed that. I guess I wasted $200. So, quickly do formations take up force organization slots? Could I max out my CAD then take a Charnel Cohort formation?


Formations are separate from the Combined Arms Detachment (And separate from any detachment that I know of).

I do not know of any force organization slot that a formation would occupy.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






I wanted to make her list tournament legal. I suppose I could swap it over to CSM and take a detachment of KDK.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/05 23:30:54


"You are a fool! I am going to crush you, and throw you into the wind!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

That's a great combo !

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Sweeping_Advance wrote:
So, quickly do formations take up force organization slots? Could I max out my CAD then take a Charnel Cohort formation?

Let's see. Formations are Detachments. Formations do not have a Role. A Combined Arms Detachment's Force Organization Chart does not carry an Formation Choices, just choices based on Role such as HQ, Troops, Fortification, etc.

The Decurion, Gladius Strike Force, and other such detachments do allow Formations to be taken as certain Choices, such as Core, Command, and Auxiliary.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/05 23:55:28


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: