Switch Theme:

Would this Company of the Great Wolf detachment be legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




USA

As some of you know Iron Priests will count as HQs now with a nicer stat.

So i plan on running this:

HQ
4x IP on TW mount

Elites
2x Servitor

The servitor thrall rule states: “If Servitors are included in a Detachment that includes at least one Iron Priest, the Servitors do not use up a Force Organisation slot.”

I believe the list is legal because It states "does not use up a FO slow" but it still satisfy the detachment tax of two elites since they are still Elites.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If they do not use a slot, then any mandatory slots are still unfilled.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

From 'Selecting Detachments':

"1) Force Organisation Chart

This shows the number of units of each battlefield role that you may include in this Detachment. Black boxes are choices you must include to take this Detachment, whilst grey boxes are optional choices."


On the one hand you have taken the required two Elites battlefield role choices for the detachment, but on the other hand you're told they do not use up a Force Organisation slot.

I'm not sure if there's a slight difference between being required to select a battlefield role choice and that choice actually needing to use up a slot to count as a compulsory choice.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




USA

 Mr. Shine wrote:
From 'Selecting Detachments':

"1) Force Organisation Chart

This shows the number of units of each battlefield role that you may include in this Detachment. Black boxes are choices you must include to take this Detachment, whilst grey boxes are optional choices."


On the one hand you have taken the required two Elites battlefield role choices for the detachment, but on the other hand you're told they do not use up a Force Organisation slot.

I'm not sure if there's a slight difference between being required to select a battlefield role choice and that choice actually needing to use up a slot to count as a compulsory choice.


"Black boxes are choices you must include to take this detachment"! Therefore regardless or not the choice takes up slot towards the FO as LONG as the choices are taken! Therefore the servitors can legally count as the compulsory choices in order to take the detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/12 05:39:16


 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






This looks like the same wording in the Dark Eldar book about the Court of the Archon. If the Iron Priest is not taken, Servitors count as an Elite choice, right? It's the Iron Priest that makes them slotless. So taking HQ choices and two Servitors should work unless I'm missing something that makes this a different situation than the Court of the Archon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/12 05:54:42


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 SharkoutofWata wrote:
This looks like the same wording in the Dark Eldar book about the Court of the Archon. If the Iron Priest is not taken, Servitors count as an Elite choice, right? It's the Iron Priest that makes them slotless. So taking HQ choices and two Servitors should work unless I'm missing something that makes this a different situation than the Court of the Archon.


Servitors have the Elites battlefield role regardless of whether or not the Iron Priest is taken.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




USA

 SharkoutofWata wrote:
This looks like the same wording in the Dark Eldar book about the Court of the Archon. If the Iron Priest is not taken, Servitors count as an Elite choice, right? It's the Iron Priest that makes them slotless. So taking HQ choices and two Servitors should work unless I'm missing something that makes this a different situation than the Court of the Archon.


I don't think your missing anything. They just don't occupy any slots because of the thrall rule, therefore I can probably spam 10x10 servitors units if I wanted while still count as "elites choices" taken to fulfill a FO of a detachment.

I guess I'm good for ITC and NOVA tournys
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






 Mr. Shine wrote:
 SharkoutofWata wrote:
This looks like the same wording in the Dark Eldar book about the Court of the Archon. If the Iron Priest is not taken, Servitors count as an Elite choice, right? It's the Iron Priest that makes them slotless. So taking HQ choices and two Servitors should work unless I'm missing something that makes this a different situation than the Court of the Archon.


Servitors have the Elites battlefield role regardless of whether or not the Iron Priest is taken.


If a unit does not fill a slot, it can not fill a required slot in a Force Org Chart. The Force Org Chart shows slots that have to be filled to be allowed to use that Detachment. How do you propose filling those slots with something that can't fill slots? The question isn't what role they have, but if they can fill the required slots. Keep in mind 'slots' is defined in the Rulebook. So they are specifically told that they can not fufill the requirements of an Elite on the Force Org Chart if an Iron Priest is present. If one is not present, that's fine though.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 SharkoutofWata wrote:
If a unit does not fill a slot, it can not fill a required slot in a Force Org Chart. The Force Org Chart shows slots that have to be filled to be allowed to use that Detachment. How do you propose filling those slots with something that can't fill slots? The question isn't what role they have, but if they can fill the required slots. Keep in mind 'slots' is defined in the Rulebook. So they are specifically told that they can not fufill the requirements of an Elite on the Force Org Chart if an Iron Priest is present. If one is not present, that's fine though.


"The boxes on a Force Organisation Chart are referred to as slots. Each slot will typically specify a Battlefield Role. Each slot allows you to take one unit. Black boxes are compulsory selections – you must take at least this many units of the appropriate Battlefield Role to include this Detachment in your army. If you cannot include the compulsory number of units, you cannot include that Detachment."

I think there's a slight disconnect between the assumed requirement to "fill slots" with units of that Battlefield Role and the actually stated requirement to "take units" of the appropriate Battlefield Role for compulsory selections.
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






Then compare it to Thrall on the Servitor.

"If Servitors are included in a Detachment that includes at least one Iron Priest, the Servitors do not use up a Force Organization slot."

So 'slot' has been defined as the boxes, either gray or black, that must be filled on a Force Org Chart. Taking an Iron Priest, HQ or Elite version, is in the same Detachment. They no longer can fill a slot and so the black boxes are not filled. Doesn't matter what Battlefield Role they have. The boxes are not filled.

I see where you might force the connection though, but it's ignoring the actual definition of compulsory in favor of ONLY treating the word as it is defined. Each slot needs to be filled because that is what compulsory means. Mandatory. Defining the word compulsory in a way that uses 'Battlefield Role' instead of 'filled slot for the designated Battlefield Role' is a failure on the rules writer, but it can only be exploited out of context of the rules we have already been told to follow. It truly does boil down to 'Black Boxes are mandatory slots. Servitors can't fill a slot (with an Iron Priest present in the Detachment). Don't fill the slot, can't take the Detachment'.

But I do get where you're coming from, but I think there is too much separating the sections of rules from each other to be kosher. When taken all together, it is unavoidable.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




USA

Are you allow to take lone wolves without troops choices
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: