Switch Theme:

vehicle ordnance.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





UK

When firing an ordnance weapon it forces all other weapons to be fired as snapshots.

....Could you not just elect to fire the ordnance weapon last? "ok fired off all my secondaries, now I'm gonna fire the big gun and snapshoot from now on. BANG. Shooting done."
Is there something preventing you from doing this, or is it just a move?

Chaos undivided: 8300, Tau empire: 5600, Ork speed freaks: 1750

 
   
Made in it
Scouting Shade






Ideally, all weapons on a vehicle shoot at the same time. They're just resolved in order, as it'd be confusing to roll for all the weapons at the same time. Thus, if you shoot full BS with the non-ordnance weapons, you can't fire the ordnance one, as shooting with an ordnance forces you to snapshot the other weapons.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You're not allowed to,break rules. By not firing as snapshots you've broken the ordnance rule.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 hippyjr wrote:
....Could you not just elect to fire the ordnance weapon last? "ok fired off all my secondaries, now I'm gonna fire the big gun and snapshoot from now on. BANG. Shooting done."
If you fire an ordnance weapon, your other weapons can only make snap shots.
It doesn't say "if you fire a ordnance weapon, your other weapons can only make snap shots from that point onwards".

Let's say I have £20. Item A costs £20, Item B costs £10, and Item C costs £5.
Buying Item A prevents me from buying Items B or C.
Could I get around this restriction by buying Items B and C first, and then buying Item A?
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 hippyjr wrote:
When firing an ordnance weapon it forces all other weapons to be fired as snapshots.

....Could you not just elect to fire the ordnance weapon last? "ok fired off all my secondaries, now I'm gonna fire the big gun and snapshoot from now on. BANG. Shooting done."
Is there something preventing you from doing this, or is it just a move?

Literally speaking, there is nothing preventing the timing.

However, it is a move to try because all of your other shots that turn.are to be Snap Shots. I would either start putting casualties back so you can try again, or packing up.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman





Hmmn.... here's how I see it:

-In Warhammer 40k, the shooting phase consists of rolling to hit, then to wound, then your opponent makes saves.

-All weapons are treated as having fired simultaneously, as indicated by the generation of a wound pool. otherwise, heavy and special weapons could be fired after the standard weapons in the unit.

for example:
Player A has a squad of cultists, and a Chaos Lord in terminator armour. Player B has a Tactical squad, Sgt with combi-melta.
by your logic of choosing the order in which your weapons fire, the tactical squad could open up with the bolters and murder all the cultists, then the sgt could fire the combi to try and ID player B's warlord, due to the lack of ablative wounds...

besides, the unit declares an attack, which is then resolved. the option to elect an order in which they are fired is never given...

I'm also 99.9999% sure it's a case of wording on the ordnance rule, pretty sure it's that "In the shooting phase in which a vehicle fires an ordnance weapon, all other weapons must fire as snapshots." IE, by firing the heavy bolters in your example first, you are disqualifying yourself from being allowed the fire the big gun....

either way, If you tried that against me I'd either be standing mini's back up and demanding you re-fired as snapshots, refusing to then let you fire your ordnance weapon if you wouldn't, or just packing up and leaving. Charistoph has the right idea here...

...2nded on the D***move though...

Just my thoughts on the matter....



   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Weapons are NOT fired simultaneously in 7th edition. This is explicit.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Weapons are NOT fired simultaneously in 7th edition. This is explicit.

Correct. Weapons withe same name are considered fired simultaneously, but between different Weapon Names, they no longer are treated as simultaneous.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





UK

Just to be clear - I had no intention of doing this, I fully understand that it is a thing to do.
There's just something I find enjoyable at poking holes in GWs crappy rule writing

Chaos undivided: 8300, Tau empire: 5600, Ork speed freaks: 1750

 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

If you fired a non-ordinance weapon not in snap shots, you will be unable to fire the ordinance weapon, as doing so would violate the rules.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ordnance
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 hippyjr wrote:
When firing an ordnance weapon it forces all other weapons to be fired as snapshots.

....Could you not just elect to fire the ordnance weapon last? "ok fired off all my secondaries, now I'm gonna fire the big gun and snapshoot from now on. BANG. Shooting done."
Is there something preventing you from doing this, or is it just a move?

If you fired other weapons at normal BS then fire Ordnance, have you fired all other weapons as Snap Shots like the rule tells you to do? No you haven't so you would be breaking the rules.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: