Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 21:27:45
Subject: Re:The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
[DCM]
.
|
REMINDER!
ONCE AGAIN...
...IN THE 40K YMDC CALL FORUM...AS EVERYWHERE ON DAKKA DAKKA...
...RULE #1 MUST BE FOLLOWED!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 22:30:36
Subject: The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Alpharius (or insaniak, or Yakface, or any Mod really), the OP's question was answered back on page 1, and the thread has gone off topic into the constant bickering of what house rules do we us to make this power work. Can we please get a lock?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 22:40:47
Subject: The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
9 pages and Im still lost :(
Immovable force Vs well ya know.....
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 22:51:32
Subject: The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Ratius, the OPs question, RAW is the Patriarch cannot manifest Psychic Shriek, as it has a BS of 0, and therefore cannot make any shooting attacks. This was stated page 1. The last 8 pages have been bickering over whose houserule is better - 1 To Hit roll, which if you miss means the power fails to manifest or ignore th To Hit roll since the 3d6-Ld is not dependent on it.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/12 22:51:35
Subject: Re:The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:col_impact wrote:
We have permission to make 1 roll to hit. No one has successfully pointed to permission to make more than one roll so in the case of Psychic Shriek we make one roll to hit.
That is not a literal statement, though, just an assumption. Quantity, even one single, is never defined for this Power for rolling To-Hit.
You need to pay attention to permission though. This is a permissive ruleset and you can only proceed on permission granted.
I know with 100% certainty that I am permitted at least one roll to hit since I am told to roll to hit and must satisfy that rule.
I have zero certainty whether I am permitted to make more than one roll to hit. Automatically Appended Next Post: nosferatu1001 wrote:col_impact wrote:The rules require a roll to hit for witchfire.
We have permission to make 1 roll to hit. No one has successfully pointed to permission to make more than one roll so in the case of Psychic Shriek we make one roll to hit.
If you hit the rules require a successful To Wound roll to see if you wound the target.
If you lack the information required to make that roll the rules technically halt at that point.
The rules are broken in the case of psychic shriek.
To wound is a defined term. In order to wound, you just have successfully hit. Now please, show where your quote states that 3d6- ld requires a SUCCESFUL to hit. I'll wait
Blaktoof - you're back to ignoring, deliberately, the actual text stated I see. Your usual dishonest argument. Not worth responding to further.
Witchfires must roll To Hit and successful hits require To Wound rolls to see if you wound the target. If you cannot resolve the To Wound roll then you cannot determine if you have permission to wound the target.
A very popular house rule (and probably the most sensible) is that the Psychic Shriek text is a specific replacement of the To Wound roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/12 23:02:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 00:59:13
Subject: Re:The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
col_impact wrote: Charistoph wrote:col_impact wrote:
We have permission to make 1 roll to hit. No one has successfully pointed to permission to make more than one roll so in the case of Psychic Shriek we make one roll to hit.
That is not a literal statement, though, just an assumption. Quantity, even one single, is never defined for this Power for rolling To-Hit.
You need to pay attention to permission though. This is a permissive ruleset and you can only proceed on permission granted.
I know with 100% certainty that I am permitted at least one roll to hit since I am told to roll to hit and must satisfy that rule.
I have zero certainty whether I am permitted to make more than one roll to hit.
You have as much literal certainty permitted to roll one To-Hit, and that has been the problem with most of these pages.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 02:04:13
Subject: Re:The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:col_impact wrote: Charistoph wrote:col_impact wrote:
We have permission to make 1 roll to hit. No one has successfully pointed to permission to make more than one roll so in the case of Psychic Shriek we make one roll to hit.
That is not a literal statement, though, just an assumption. Quantity, even one single, is never defined for this Power for rolling To-Hit.
You need to pay attention to permission though. This is a permissive ruleset and you can only proceed on permission granted.
I know with 100% certainty that I am permitted at least one roll to hit since I am told to roll to hit and must satisfy that rule.
I have zero certainty whether I am permitted to make more than one roll to hit.
You have as much literal certainty permitted to roll one To-Hit, and that has been the problem with most of these pages.
Incorrect. The rules tell us to roll to hit so we know we have the permission to make at least one roll.
You don't have permission to do something unless you are granted that permission.
Point to the permission in the rules to make more than one roll to hit in the case of Psychic Shriek. The burden is on you. You will not find that rule so you don't have the permission.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 04:34:39
Subject: Re:The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Absolutely false.
There are no rules at all that tell us to roll only 1 die.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 05:39:05
Subject: Re:The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
col_impact wrote:Incorrect. The rules tell us to roll to hit so we know we have the permission to make at least one roll.
Then you can provide and properly reference a quote that literally states that every shooting attack rolls a minimum of one To-Hit except otherwise noted. Note, it must be literally stated as a minimum, and not an inference.
If you can, then most of this discussion has been wasted because no one has bothered to present it.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 07:38:06
Subject: Re:The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Charistoph wrote:col_impact wrote:Incorrect. The rules tell us to roll to hit so we know we have the permission to make at least one roll.
Then you can provide and properly reference a quote that literally states that every shooting attack rolls a minimum of one To-Hit except otherwise noted. Note, it must be literally stated as a minimum, and not an inference.
If you can, then most of this discussion has been wasted because no one has bothered to present it.
You have that the wrong way. You have the burden of proof to show you can roll any number beyond one. Remember any number beyond one includes a billion and you have big problems with your argument if it is based on a line of reasoning that says the BRB is giving permission to players to literally claim a billion To Hit rolls. Reductio Ad Absurdum. Look it up.
And besides this quote proves it.
At no point later in the BRB is it explained in more detail how a shooting weapon with an unspecified number of shots gets more than one shot. So psychic shriek is in the "most" and not the "some weapons" category. Unless you can find the spot later in the book and prove me wrong.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/13 07:55:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 08:38:28
Subject: The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Gun Mage
|
"Most" isn't the same thing as "default".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 08:42:21
Subject: The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Feel free to find the point later in the BRB that proves me wrong and explains how nonexistent profiles fire more than one shot.
Waiting . . .
Otherwise you are in the category of "most" and firing one shot, per the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/13 08:51:15
Subject: The new Genestealer Patriarch, Psychic Shriek and BS 0.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
We've had this argument before. It's unlikely to yield a different result this time around, so I think it's time to move on.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|