Switch Theme:

Tank Hunter and Rending  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nasty Nob






Gardner, MA

An Assault Cannon with Tank hunter, S6 Rending, re-rolling Armor pen rolls and glancing hits going against AV14

After rolling to hit, I make my first armor pen roll, hoping for rending 6's. Do I re-roll all non-6's here? Or do I pick up the 6's and roll a D3 for each six rolled and then re-roll these d3's. I know Im not re-rolling non 6's and the D3's I just dont know which one Im re-rolling.

After all that, I then have a choice to re-roll the glances in an attempt to convert to pen's.


A man's character is his fate.
 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator




Bournemouth

HIWPI, you re-roll the entire roll. ie:
you get: 4,5,6,6 then rolling the d3 you get a 4,6 giving you rolls of 10(6+4), 11 (6+5), 14(6+6+2) and 15(6+6+3). so you get to reroll the first two and can chose to reroll the glance, hoping for more Rends. Cause untill you roll the D3 you dont know if you pen, glance or nothing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/02 03:34:11


WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Actually covered by a GW FAQ, for once:
Q: If I have both the Tank Hunters and Rending special rules, and I roll a 6 to penetrate an enemy vehicle but subsequently roll low on my additional D3 (failing to penetrate the enemy vehicle), can I choose to re-roll only the D3 or do I re-roll the original D6 and hope to get another 6?
A: Re-roll the original D6.
Roll the first dice, separate out the 6's and roll a D3 for each of those. Have these totals separate. Any failed attempts start from scratch with the D6 roll.
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






 Quanar wrote:
Actually covered by a GW FAQ, for once:
Q: If I have both the Tank Hunters and Rending special rules, and I roll a 6 to penetrate an enemy vehicle but subsequently roll low on my additional D3 (failing to penetrate the enemy vehicle), can I choose to re-roll only the D3 or do I re-roll the original D6 and hope to get another 6?
A: Re-roll the original D6.
Roll the first dice, separate out the 6's and roll a D3 for each of those. Have these totals separate. Any failed attempts start from scratch with the D6 roll.


Not going to lie, I didn't even think to use the GW FAQ's to find an answer for this one. I just assume they have nothing of interest because of how they're not updated and move on.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






Gardner, MA

Thank you - I should have looked there first!

A man's character is his fate.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: