Hey guys,
I was thinking the other week while playing against my mate and his Orks about looted vehicles and how some of the rules (not necessarily current) relating to them were a bit odd. For example, I remember there was one rule that said that for all looted vehicles in the army, the owning player would roll a
D6 and on a 1 (or a 6, I can't remember), the vehicle would be non-functional and/or immobile for the entire game.
Now, that rule I just mentioned seems a bit unfair to me, but it got me thinking about the following (which I haven't imaginatively names

):
Da Loota Rool
Whenever a Ork unit that is - by default - Troop Choice approaches a vehicle that has been wrecked, X models from the squad that are withing 3" of the wreck may be nominated by its controlling player
during the Movement Phase to attempt to loot the vehicle. Models may be selected from more than one unit as long as X models are chosen from within 3" of the wreck. The model(s) selected
cannot contain your Warlord or any Independent Characters. This nomination may be done before or after the unit(s) have been moved and does not affect their movement.
A
D6 is rolled, and on a roll of 6, the model(s) are removed from play (but
not considered a casualty) and the vehicle is now considered alive and part of the corresponding Ork army/detachment with the following properties:
-- The vehicle retains all of its original characteristics with the exception of Ballistic Skill, which is set to 2.
-- The vehicle is treated as having one
HP remaining.
In the same turn the vehicle is looted, it may not move, but may proceed with the shooting phase and assault phase as usual.
If the vehicle is subsequently killed, the model(s) that "crewed" the vehicle do
not return to the table.
If an entire squad (or remainder thereof) was used to "crew" the vehicle, then they would from then on be considered a casualty of the phase and turn in which the vehicle was destroyed in (while in the control of the Ork player(s)).
If the result of the
D6 roll to loot is a 1, then the vehicle suffers an 'Explosion!' result with the following changes to the rules:
-- The explosion is is D3" instead of
D6".
-- The automatic hits are resolved at Strength 3 instead of Strength 4.
Now, I've said X models instead of giving a specific number because I'd be willing to bet a Dreadnought and Predator Tank would take different numbers of units to operate. As for how many for each model, I hadn't thought about that yet because I'd have to go through all the vehicles in every army to do that, not to mention balancing the numbers. This is something I don't have the capability or the time to do, so I figure it'd be best to 'House Rule' it should this rule ever be used.
As for the model(s) that "crewed" the vehicle not returning, I reckon that's fair considering you got to use the vehicle. It also makes sense as well because you never see the "crew" (drivers, etc) disembarking when the vehicle is destroyed.
And finally, the alterations to the 'Explosion!' result makes sense to me considering that it would be the result of tinkering rather than weapons fire or melee weapons smashing against the hull.
As for whether or not they can loot their own vehicles that have been wrecked but not destroyed, I don't think there's an issue there, but that is up for review and 'House Rule'-ing.
I think this is a really cool rule and may also give an incentive (even if it's an ever-so-slight one) to the opposition to be more careful with their vehicles. Thoughts, guys?
Cheers