Switch Theme:

Moves through cover issue  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



London

This C'tan again. Wants to move with its squad, the rest of the unit want to stay outside of cover and move, 6, he wants to get into cover and move through it (but he ignores natural laws so is unaffected by all terrain).

How far does this squad move?
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Unless I'm mistaken, C'tan shards are Characters, not Independent Characters, and cannot join units or be joined by Independent Characters. So this situation would never arise.

EDIT:

Ah I see, you must be using the Conclave of the Burning One. That has its own problems (given there is no C'tan Shard unit in the codex), but I'm assuming you're houseruling it somehow to make it work.

The problem you have is that 'Immune to Natural Law' is a model-level special rule and affects only the C'tan Shard, whereas per 'Moving Into Difficult Terrain' in the Battlefield Terrain section of the rulebook, you must declare at the unit level if you wish the unit to enter difficult terrain as part of their move, and therefore must make a difficult terrain test and that is the maximum distance that any of the models in the unit may move, even if they don't actually move into the difficult terrain.

How I would play it is that the difficult terrain test distance applies to the Cryptek models, but not to the C'tan Shard, although the C'tan Shard of course must maintain unit coherency.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/11 11:06:24


 
   
Made in br
Regular Dakkanaut




This is covered, and bolded, under the 'Difficult Terrain' section of the BRB.
 Mr. Shine wrote:
Unless I'm mistaken, C'tan shards are Characters, not Independent Characters, and cannot join units or be joined by Independent Characters. So this situation would never arise.
There's the Conclave of the Burning one formation consisting of a C'Tan and Crypteks in a single unit.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

ryuken87 wrote:
There's the Conclave of the Burning one formation consisting of a C'Tan and Crypteks in a single unit.


Yeah, you'll probably see I edited my post just before you posted - forgot about that one!

This is covered, and bolded, under the 'Difficult Terrain' section of the BRB.


I'm not sure it's quite so simple as that. Certainly moving into difficult terrain is a unit-level action and requires a unit-level difficult terrain test, but you've got a single model in that unit with a codex-level special rule which I believe needs to be taken into consideration versus the rulebook level rule of moving into difficult terrain.
   
Made in br
Regular Dakkanaut




Yeah I'd forgotten about that rule. I think your above interpretation is the correct one.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Mr. Shine wrote:
This is covered, and bolded, under the 'Difficult Terrain' section of the BRB.

I'm not sure it's quite so simple as that. Certainly moving into difficult terrain is a unit-level action and requires a unit-level difficult terrain test, but you've got a single model in that unit with a codex-level special rule which I believe needs to be taken into consideration versus the rulebook level rule of moving into difficult terrain.

Do not forget that the C'tan also comes with Move Through Cover being a Monstrous Creature, so movement through DT could be adjusted for the Crypteks if they went through.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Isn't the DT roll only applicable to models that actually enter the terrain? You make the roll and apply the Restriction to models that enter difficult Terrain. Any models that stay entirely out of the terrain get their full movement. The C'tan enters difficult terrain but is not affected by the restriction because of its special rules.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Charistoph wrote:
Do not forget that the C'tan also comes with Move Through Cover being a Monstrous Creature, so movement through DT could be adjusted for the Crypteks if they went through.


Oh yeah, the Crypteks would indeed benefit from there additional D6 roll.

WaughGoff wrote:
Isn't the DT roll only applicable to models that actually enter the terrain? You make the roll and apply the Restriction to models that enter difficult Terrain. Any models that stay entirely out of the terrain get their full movement. The C'tan enters difficult terrain but is not affected by the restriction because of its special rules.


Unfortunately difficult terrain test results apply to the unit:

"To take a Difficult Terrain test, roll 2D6 and select the highest result – this is the maximum distance, in inches, that any of the models in the unit may move."
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




But you are not obligated to enter DT just because you made the roll. You may roll then decide which, if any, models enter terrain. Any models that do not enter terrain are not slowed. The C'tan would be slowed if it entered terrain, except that it isn't.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

WaughGoff wrote:
Isn't the DT roll only applicable to models that actually enter the terrain? You make the roll and apply the Restriction to models that enter difficult Terrain. Any models that stay entirely out of the terrain get their full movement. The C'tan enters difficult terrain but is not affected by the restriction because of its special rules.


Unfortunately, no. Quote: "To take a Difficult Terrain test, roll 2D6 and select the highest result – this is the maximum distance, in inches, that any of the models in the unit may move."

It would make more sense for DT (difficult terrain) movement to affect only those moving into DT, but eh. That's the way the game goes sometimes. Same thing for charging thru DT - if just one genestealer out of a group of 15 charges through DT, they all swing at I1.

But to the original question, if you have a group of boyz, and want to move into terrain that is 4" away, and declare you are making a DT roll and roll snake eyes, the entire group can only move 1".




Automatically Appended Next Post:
WaughGoff wrote:
But you are not obligated to enter DT just because you made the roll. You may roll then decide which, if any, models enter terrain. Any models that do not enter terrain are not slowed. The C'tan would be slowed if it entered terrain, except that it isn't.


You are not obligated to enter terrain if you make a DT roll, this is true. But once you declare you're making a DT roll, and make one, there's no backsies. The entire unit can move the highest amount of the 2D6. You cannot, say, declare you're moving into DT, declare a DT roll, roll snake eyes, and then move 6" around the terrain. That is cheating. In the unique case of the conclave, I'd allow another D6 that allows to the c'tan only.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/11 22:18:30


"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Kap'n Krump wrote:
In the unique case of the conclave, I'd allow another D6 that allows to the c'tan only.


As Charistoph pointed out, the C'tan as a Monstrous Creature has Move Through Cover, which applies to a unit with at least one model with the rule so it would be a unit-wide additional D6 roll. Although yeah, as I said also, the C'tan's Immune to Natural Law rule I think would allow it to ignore being slowed by the difficult terrain test result.

WaughGoff wrote:
But you are not obligated to enter DT just because you made the roll. You may roll then decide which, if any, models enter terrain. Any models that do not enter terrain are not slowed. The C'tan would be slowed if it entered terrain, except that it isn't.


While this is true, 'Moving Into Difficult Terrain' makes it clear that you are still slowed:

"Even if the distance rolled is too short for any of the models to reach the difficult terrain, the unit is still slowed down as described above."

And also:

"You should also note that, if you take the Difficult Terrain test, you are not compelled to move the models, as you might not have rolled high enough to make it worth moving at all."

Fun fact: "obligated" is a back-formation from the noun "obligation" which of course is a noun. The original verb is "obliged"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/11 22:30:27


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Sure you can. Happens all the time.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

WaughGoff wrote:
Sure you can. Happens all the time.


See my edited post above - if you declare you are moving into difficult terrain you must test, and the unit is slowed, even if they cannot or do not move into the difficult terrain.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

If the C'tan is the only one that would be passing over/through the Difficult Terrain, he is not treating it as Difficult Terrain, just Open Terrain, so by himself, would not trigger it. If one Cryptek does, though, roll Difficult Terrain by Move Through Cover.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




RTFM:

If a unit starts its move outside difficult terrain, the player must declare if he wants his unit to try to enter difficult terrain as part of their move. If he chooses not to, the unit moves as normal but may not enter difficult terrain. If he chooses for a unit to do so, the unit must take a Difficult Terrain test.


That's it. If you want to get into terrain, you take a test, even if your dog tag says "Mr. Ctan", unless of course you're a unit that ignores difficult terrain altogether.
Does the Conclave of the Burning One have such a rule ?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: