Switch Theme:

Necrosius and Plague Zombies  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





In the new "Siege of Vraks" book the IC Nurgle Sorcerer Necrosius gains the ability to take Plague Zombies. Does he take the Renegade Zombies or the CSM ones? The book simply says "Plague Zombies," and says he is a HQ choice for Chaos Space Marines.
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

I would guess that you take the ones from siege of vraks book if the rule is in that book.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran






I would think he could take either? I think the vraks ones are better stat wise though, right?
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





 mrhappyface wrote:
I would guess that you take the ones from siege of vraks book if the rule is in that book.

At the same time there are rules in his profile that aren't in the book.

 Intercessor wrote:
I would think he could take either? I think the vraks ones are better stat wise though, right?

In some ways. WS, BS and I 2 instead of 3, no 6+ but a 4+ FNP, plus the "Warp Plague" ability.
   
Made in gb
Steady Space Marine Vet Sergeant




England

If he's a CSM HQ id say take the CSM zombies.

If you can't believe in yourself, believe in me! Believe in the Dakka who believes in you!  
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

 Vlad_The_Obliterator wrote:
 mrhappyface wrote:
I would guess that you take the ones from siege of vraks book if the rule is in that book.

At the same time there are rules in his profile that aren't in the book.

I meant that rules of his own codex probably trump rules of a different codex.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






This one is pretty simple!

CSM doesn't have plague zombies!

Vraks has plague zombies!

Take the unit from vraks.

To anyone arguing otherwise. Check your CSM book Profiles page. Hell check the whole thing. There is no "plague zombie" unit. What there is, is chaos cultists, which Typhus, can upgrade into plague zombies. However these are still cultists with a modified stat line. The rule "plague zombies" that Typhus has, is pretty clear on how the unit is created. He just nominates units of cultists to be zombies, he doesn't actually take zombies, he still takes cultists. Necrosius does not have this rule, so he cannot take Typhus style zombies. It's easy to forget this in the day and age of battle scribe and army builder.

Necrosius takes Plague Zombies from Siege of Vraks, it is the book he is from, and it is the actual Plague Zombie unit. Typhus takes modified cultists.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/03/16 14:33:16


   
Made in us
Crazed Zealot





Yet if the rule states "plague zombie" I would think that means from the chaos book, it doesn't matter that in the CSM book only Typhus can take them, if this character also has a rule letting him take plague zombies, then he CAN take them.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






 cmd__shepard wrote:
Yet if the rule states "plague zombie" I would think that means from the chaos book, it doesn't matter that in the CSM book only Typhus can take them, if this character also has a rule letting him take plague zombies, then he CAN take them.


There is a unit in the book that Necrosius is from called Plague Zombies. If it was to be the same as Typhus, the rule would be worded the same as Typhus. Typhus doesn't "take" plague zombies. Typhus takes cultists and upgrades them to plague zombies. They are completely different things. Chaos space marines have no units called plague zombies. There are only two places that a unit called Plague zombies exists. Imperial armor 13, and imperial armor 5. Typhus Plague zombies clearly states they are cultists with modified rules.

The same wording is found for the Covenant of Nurgle for the Master of Renegades special rule. "Plague zombie units", they both mean the same unit, the one in the FW book. Or would you argue that the Master of Renegades rule also allows you to take Typhus zombies as it is worded the same.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/16 16:09:40


   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Gwarsh, CSM zombies are called "Plague Zombies". The rule even goes on to still refer to them as Plague Zombies (and not simply cultists). You can't say they don't exist just because they don't have a unit entry
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

I agree with @gwarsh41.

Plague Zombies are an upgrade in the CSM book, it's not a unit you can select to build an army.

Plague Zombies are a unit in Siege of Vraks, it is a unit you can select to build an army.

Were CSM Plague Zombies to be allowed, it would also mean you could select Plasma Guns or Marks of Chaos as a unit. That's absurd.

   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The CSM doesn't treat Plague Zombies as an upgrade, its treat it as a type of unit. Just like how DE Trueborn units are now upgraded from DE Warriors, it still is a unit it just has a more specific way to be taken.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






 CrownAxe wrote:
The CSM doesn't treat Plague Zombies as an upgrade, its treat it as a type of unit. Just like how DE Trueborn units are now upgraded from DE Warriors, it still is a unit it just has a more specific way to be taken.


None the less, Typhus entry is very clear that you must purchase the unit as cultists, then you nominate them to become plague zombies. You don't build you army with 2 units of plague zombies, you build it with 2 units of cultists, then nominate them to become zombies. Typhus' entry specifically states "Plague zombies are Cultists that have the..." It even goes on to mention that they still have the guns that cultists hold are only used for clubbing, and cannot be fired.

Again, Necrosius special rule has the same wording as the master of renegades special rule. Both are in the same book, IA:5. Typhus is way over in his own book, which has nothing to do with IA:5. Has his own special rule, with his own upgraded cultists. If it was meant to be typhus zombies, FW would have just used the same wording as GW did in the CSM book. Instead they chose to use the same wording as the master of renegades rule, which references the vraks zombies. Or they would have just given necrosius the "Plague Zombies" special rule, same as Typhus, but again, everything about him is different.


   
Made in no
Dakka Veteran




Does it say plague zombies or plague zombie mob? Not at home to check my books, but iirc the csm and renegade zombies are named differently.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Vlad_The_Obliterator wrote:
In the new "Siege of Vraks" book the IC Nurgle Sorcerer Necrosius gains the ability to take Plague Zombies. Does he take the Renegade Zombies or the CSM ones? The book simply says "Plague Zombies," and says he is a HQ choice for Chaos Space Marines.



i'd say chaos space marine zombies as it states he's a chaos space marine hq. unless the book says he can be an hq for both, in that case, i'd say he takes the zombies from whatever detachment he's a part of
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





GrafWattenburg wrote:
Does it say plague zombies or plague zombie mob? Not at home to check my books, but iirc the csm and renegade zombies are named differently.

No they have the same name
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: