| Poll |
 |
|
|
 |
| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/20 23:53:26
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
Came up in a tactics thread on how to use Vanguard Veterans.
Saythings said "double vets that can charge out of deep strike Turn 1 on a 4+ and automatically any other turn." I actually think they could automatically choose to pass/fail their turn 1 reserve roll granted by the Sons of Corax detachment.
Relevant rules:
Sons of Corax strike force rule = " Know When To Strike: If any units from this detachment start the game in reserve, you can choose to make a Reserve Roll for any of them at the start of your first turn. If the roll is 4+, the unit arrives this turn. Otherwise it remains in reserve and is rolled for normally."
Shadowstrike Kill Team detachment rule = " On Time...: Instead of rolling to see whether a unit of Vanguard Veterans from this formation arrives from Reserve, you can choose whether to pass or fail that roll."
It says pretty explicitly (with capital letters even!) the Know When To Strike roll is a reserves roll, so the "On Time..." rule should be allowed to autopass that turn 1 roll.
Right? What say you?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 00:10:53
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!
|
Not a ravenguard player but the way those rules are set out makes it look like they are for two different detachments, so you would have one detachment automatically coming in on turn two and another having a 50/50 to come in on turn one.
Please correct me if these two rules can be taken by the same unit. Automatically Appended Next Post: If a unit can take both rules then I would agree that they can automatically come on turn one.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/21 00:12:46
Ghorros wrote:The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
Marmatag wrote:All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 00:13:45
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
The "Sons of Corax" thing is like the Gladius Strike Force. You have to take 1-2 "Core" formations, 1+ Auxiliary formations and 0-2 Command formations.
Shadowstrike Kill Team is an eligible auxiliary formation to bring within the "Sons of Corax" force organization.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 00:31:51
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Hierarch
|
Sons of Corax=Talon Strike Force. But yes, this is a viable tactic. As is first-turn DSing storm ravens.
|
Tamereth wrote:
We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 00:34:39
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
mrhappyface wrote:Not a ravenguard player but the way those rules are set out makes it look like they are for two different detachments, so you would have one detachment automatically coming in on turn two and another having a 50/50 to come in on turn one.
Please correct me if these two rules can be taken by the same unit.
It appears that they are from two different detachments.
However, since one is a Choice detachment which includes the other as an Auxiliary, so units in that Auxiliary would receive the Command Benefit and Special Rules of both.
... Ouch. Deathwing is feeling the pain on this one.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/21 00:34:48
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 08:17:02
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
Swampmist wrote:Sons of Corax=Talon Strike Force. But yes, this is a viable tactic. As is first-turn DSing storm ravens.
That brings up another question and if it doesn't get answered here, I guess we can make a new thread about it.
But, could you assault out of a deep striking storm raven? The vehicle moves at Cruising speed as per the changes in 7E to deep strike, so the squad should be able to disembark and because it's an assault vehicle, I am struggling to find a relevant rule that would STOP them from charging.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 08:20:15
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
SRSFACE wrote: Swampmist wrote:Sons of Corax=Talon Strike Force. But yes, this is a viable tactic. As is first-turn DSing storm ravens.
That brings up another question and if it doesn't get answered here, I guess we can make a new thread about it.
But, could you assault out of a deep striking storm raven? The vehicle moves at Cruising speed as per the changes in 7E to deep strike, so the squad should be able to disembark and because it's an assault vehicle, I am struggling to find a relevant rule that would STOP them from charging.
No, this is covered in the Deep Strike special rules section, under transports and Deep Strike.
|
WH40K
Iron Wardens 11k (Iron Hands Clan Raukaan with Blood Angels Allies)
Guard PDF 1.5k
Hive Fleet Celesta 3.5k
Irontoof Guttasnarks's Warghband 0k in development |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 13:10:41
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Hierarch
|
But what about vanguard vets from a kill team? As far as I know, it would work.
|
Tamereth wrote:
We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 13:21:22
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Swampmist wrote:But what about vanguard vets from a kill team? As far as I know, it would work.
Why wouldn't it?
They have explicit permission to ignore that restriction, so they can charge on turn 1 IF they arrived from deep strike reserves.
Or are you trying to put the Veterans inside of a DSing Storm Raven? I mean that's probably possible, but why would you do that? Cratch that, I found out why.
So you could put something which automatically arrives inside a regularily arriving transport. As you're free to choose WHICH of the units makes the actual role, you could deep strike a Vet Squad inside a Storm Raven and even attach ICs if there's room for them, and simply pick the Vets to "roll" for reserves - and since they automatically arrive (or not), that result will bring in the entire thingy.
I think there's something similar with Grey Knights allying to some Space Marine stuff, so I'd say that's entirely RAW, even though it probably wasn't meant to work that way.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/21 13:25:52
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 13:39:29
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Hierarch
|
You get to bring it in automatically turn one, with ICs (who probably can't charge) and a dreadnaught on the back. Also, I think there's an argument for having no-scatter, since the vanguard CAN still be within range of two scout squads while in a transport. Not sure on that one though.
|
Tamereth wrote:
We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 13:49:29
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Indeed, scouts can have used their deployment to get somewhere you wan to go
Or use Belial and use his no scatter ability, and then charge (presuming the rule allows the UNIT to chare, and does not require every model in the unit to be...)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 14:22:32
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Hierarch
|
It's one of those weird ones where ut specifies the unit entry of vamguard cets, so is very much up to debate.
|
Tamereth wrote:
We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 14:25:48
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Not really, then.
The unit of VV remains, no matter how many ICs you join to the unit - it is, and always will be, a vanguard vet unit.
So if the unit is permitted to charge, so is any attached IC
Now, ITC houseruled that you cant do this - likely for "balance" reasons (as it doesnt affect Eldar, which ITC seems to love to death) - whereas ETC play rules as written. So, as ever, discuss...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 14:38:23
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Hierarch
|
There has been a massive debate about it, so tournaments tend to er on the side of caution. Either way, its a great delivery service.
|
Tamereth wrote:
We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 14:43:42
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Some tournaments houserule, some err on the side of the rules such as ETC ones.
Its mostly a debate when people a) dont understnad the difference between a rule granted to a unit, and one granted to the models of a unit and b) where people decry the power of it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 14:52:15
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
@Iron_Warden: I knew I was missing something in plain sight. Thanks. I was too hyper focused on the section "deep strike and transports" but it's actually in the previous section so I kept glancing over it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 14:59:39
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Some tournaments houserule, some err on the side of the rules such as ETC ones.
Its mostly a debate when people a) dont understnad the difference between a rule granted to a unit, and one granted to the models of a unit and b) where people decry the power of it.
Can we please agree to stop this ridiculous "you're stupid because you interpret a rule different" tone? I'm firmly on your side when it comes to the actual interpretation of the rules as written, but I'm also able to see why people come to a different conclusion, and there's really no need to insult anyone over a rules dispute.
Why not just leave it at "ask your TO or discuss it with your group, there's no universally accepted ruling until such a day that GW starts releasing FAQs and erratas again". Anything else just leads to a massive circlejerk of "Incorrect!" - "No, you're incorrect!".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/21 15:11:37
Subject: Raven Guard "Know When To Strike" + Shadowstrike Kill Team = auto-pass turn 1 reserve?
|
 |
Hierarch
|
There has been a massive debate about it, so tournaments tend to er on the side of caution. Either way, its a great delivery service.
|
Tamereth wrote:
We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|