Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/22 02:40:57
Subject: When is a unit "Infiltrating"?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
So the term "Infiltrating" isn't defined anywhere in the rulebook. Going by the wording in the infiltrate special rule, Infiltrating doesn't seem to be optional. If says Infiltrators "...are deployed last..." not "...may be deployed last...". So if I set up my Striking Scorpions in my own deployment zone, are they still infiltrating and therefore gain the Shrouded special rule until they shoot/charge? What about if I hold them in reserve? Will they have the Shrouded special rule when they walk on the table? I'm looking to field Karandras and was wondering if his "Hunter's Strike" ability is worth it or not.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/03/22 02:54:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/22 04:43:23
Subject: When is a unit "Infiltrating"?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
It's not explicitly stated, but I think there's a hint in the first paragraph of the Infiltrate rules:
"Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed. If both sides have Infiltrators, the players roll-off and the winner decides who goes first, then alternate deploying these units."
The first sentence of course relates specifically to units with the Infiltrate special rule. The second sentence refers to Infiltrators on both sides, clearly referring to a situation in which both sides have units with the Infiltrate special rule.
That to me suggests Infiltrators are units with the Infiltrate special rule, which if going by the Infiltrate special rule are required to deploy last making them Infiltrating whether in your deployment zone or elsewhere on the table.
So far as keeping them as Reserves is concerned, the rule says, "...units of Infiltrators that are kept as Reserves." So once again I think they are always Infiltrators, i.e. units with the Infiltrate special rule, though I don't think that means they are always infiltrating. Infiltrating I think by common sense would be deploying via the rules for Infiltrate, rather than simply arriving from Reserves or via the Outflank special rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/22 04:47:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/22 14:02:06
Subject: When is a unit "Infiltrating"?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
That's pretty much in line with how I was interpreting it as well, which is a shame. I was hoping for some magic rule or wording somewhere that I had missed. It's strange that a Phoenix Lord's special ability would counter the special ability of his own Aspect., not that Eldar really need any more shenanigans. Anywho, thanks for the input!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/22 14:11:53
Subject: When is a unit "Infiltrating"?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
And the fact that Infiltrates must be deployed last, further reinforces that IC's without Infiltrate can never join Infiltrators during deployment. Even if the inflitrators deploy within your deployment zone, the IC has to have been deployed first and thus isn't joined until your first turn begins (and he "moves" into the unit). Not an issue if you are going first, but if you are going second, could mean you IC get sniped. So for the Daemon Incursion Tallyband, if people want to field only Nurglings, the Herald has to be deployed first (or put into reserve by himself), then the Nurglings get deployed. Best to field at least 1 Plaguebearer unit for the Herald to join
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/03/22 14:15:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/03/23 10:31:19
Subject: When is a unit "Infiltrating"?
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
London UK
|
Galef wrote:And the fact that Infiltrates must be deployed last, further reinforces that IC's without Infiltrate can never join Infiltrators during deployment. Even if the inflitrators deploy within your deployment zone, the IC has to have been deployed first and thus isn't joined until your first turn begins (and he "moves" into the unit). Not an issue if you are going first, but if you are going second, could mean you IC get sniped.
So for the Daemon Incursion Tallyband, if people want to field only Nurglings, the Herald has to be deployed first (or put into reserve by himself), then the Nurglings get deployed. Best to field at least 1 Plaguebearer unit for the Herald to join
This is covered in the rulebook errata which says,
An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment, and vice versa.
|
|
 |
 |
|