| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 00:18:02
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is it possible to use the grimoire of true names from a transport? It's not a spell and in its rules it just says that I may target a unit withint 12". Would like to use my grimoire herald from a transport!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/04/28 00:32:44
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
It certainly looks possible to me. Theres no restriction on using it while embarked
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 10:58:39
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
peirceg wrote:Is it possible to use the grimoire of true names from a transport? It's not a spell and in its rules it just says that I may target a unit withint 12". Would like to use my grimoire herald from a transport!
Well, it depends? How are you getting inside of a transport? Can a herald with daemonic instability enter a transport? It can't as far as I understand it. Otherwise I would think you could. As long as it doesn't specify, within line of sight etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 11:25:50
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
Australia
|
Whacked wrote:peirceg wrote:Is it possible to use the grimoire of true names from a transport? It's not a spell and in its rules it just says that I may target a unit withint 12". Would like to use my grimoire herald from a transport!
Well, it depends? How are you getting inside of a transport? Can a herald with daemonic instability enter a transport? It can't as far as I understand it. Otherwise I would think you could. As long as it doesn't specify, within line of sight etc.
Ally in a Transport from CSM codex, now that Battle Brothers can embark on each others transports (a change from 6th Edition rules). Demonic Instability has nothing to do with transports, just that you can't join a model with it to a unit that doesn't have it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 14:38:11
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If it requires line of sight, then no, as you cannot even use fire points for non-shooting line of sight checks. Otherwise I don't think there's a prohibition otherwise stopping it working. Page 89 under embarking covers it neatly I would say.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:00:52
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
GoonBandito wrote: Whacked wrote:peirceg wrote:Is it possible to use the grimoire of true names from a transport? It's not a spell and in its rules it just says that I may target a unit withint 12". Would like to use my grimoire herald from a transport!
Well, it depends? How are you getting inside of a transport? Can a herald with daemonic instability enter a transport? It can't as far as I understand it. Otherwise I would think you could. As long as it doesn't specify, within line of sight etc.
Ally in a Transport from CSM codex, now that Battle Brothers can embark on each others transports (a change from 6th Edition rules). Demonic Instability has nothing to do with transports, just that you can't join a model with it to a unit that doesn't have it.
That's awesome. Wasn't sure if there was something like with daemonic instability that pretended it from embarking in a rhino since its doesn't have the same rule or what not. I still think if it does require LOS it's a no go however.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:19:13
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Whacked wrote:That's awesome. Wasn't sure if there was something like with daemonic instability that pretended it from embarking in a rhino since its doesn't have the same rule or what not. I still think if it does require LOS it's a no go however.
Well, Embarking on a Transport does not join a unit to the Transport which is why Instability doesn't (currently) matter, but some Transports have Fire Points...
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:31:08
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Which can only be used for shooting. Does grimoire require line of sight? If so is it s shooting attack?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 18:56:47
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
.. there is no line of sight requirement .. and its not a shooting attack.
|
DFTT |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 19:30:39
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You do have to measure the 24'' which should be done according to the bases of the models. How do you handle that?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 19:37:04
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
killerdou wrote:You do have to measure the 24'' which should be done according to the bases of the models. How do you handle that?
Please see the last sentence of the first paragraph under the heading 'Embarking' ( pg. 80, main rulebook).
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 20:12:43
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Ghaz wrote:killerdou wrote:You do have to measure the 24'' which should be done according to the bases of the models. How do you handle that?
Please see the last sentence of the first paragraph under the heading 'Embarking' ( pg. 80, main rulebook).
If the FAQ draft goes live as is, then it will have to specify it can be used while Embarked or while in a Transport. We will see if it stays.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 21:33:05
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh
|
Why would it? The requirements are within 24". Not 24" with line of sight. It's also "cast" in the movement phase. So...not a spell, not a shooting attempt. Just a unit within 24". And that, in the past, was from any point from the hull. Being a permissive ruleset they've already given you permission for it to work.
|
Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.
Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.
Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 21:40:46
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
timetowaste85 wrote:Why would it? The requirements are within 24". Not 24" with line of sight. It's also "cast" in the movement phase. So...not a spell, not a shooting attempt. Just a unit within 24". And that, in the past, was from any point from the hull. Being a permissive ruleset they've already given you permission for it to work.
The FAQ Draft states that only Shooting from Fire Points and abilities which state they work while Embarked will operate while your unit is in a Transport. I think they said the reasoning is that the model itself is not on the table.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/04 21:43:28
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 08:05:31
Subject: Grimoire of true names in a transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Which is pretty much a return to 4th - the models aren't really there any longer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|