Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 13:55:42
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Charleston, South Carolina
|
My buddy put 2 10 man squads of scouts in drop pods. Dropped them into my deployment zone. Combat squaded them into 2 squads each. Dropped 5 vanguard vet squads without deviation within 9" inches of the scouts. Charged and murdered 5 units of Warp Spiders.
ALL ON TURN 1. Talon Strike Force allows 1st turn reserves on 4+. Shadow strike Kill Team allows to pass or fail reserve rolls, and deep strike charge.
1st turn assault in my deployment zone by 30 power ax wielding vanguard vets is a little broken.
|
Innocence is no Excuse
15,000
8,000
9,000
Nids:5,000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 14:03:04
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
What's the question?
Outside of needing a second detachment to get Drop Pods for Scouts, I don't see any issues here.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/02 14:07:18
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 16:22:29
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
There is a rule that states: "A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve." Arriving From Reserves is during the Start of the Turn, nothing separates the timing of the Roll with the timing of the deployment. So, while the Vanguard could still come in, technically they would not be able to use the Scouts to be On Target.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:25:20
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
...On Target specifically allows charging on the turn they arrive from Reserve.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:29:47
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ArmyC wrote:.... Charged and murdered 5 units of Warp Spiders...... You deserved it If you don't like this to happen buy screeners or play reserve chicken it isn't that hard not to get charged by them and you would murder all those vets in one or two rounds of shooting.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/02 17:34:51
Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:36:07
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
ArmyC wrote:My buddy put 2 10 man squads of scouts in drop pods. Dropped them into my deployment zone. Combat squaded them into 2 squads each. Dropped 5 vanguard vet squads without deviation within 9" inches of the scouts. Charged and murdered 5 units of Warp Spiders.
ALL ON TURN 1. Talon Strike Force allows 1st turn reserves on 4+. Shadow strike Kill Team allows to pass or fail reserve rolls, and deep strike charge.
1st turn assault in my deployment zone by 30 power ax wielding vanguard vets is a little broken.
I do not see anything in that formation that allows the Vanguards to arrive turn 1.
Was there something else that allowed the vets to arrive turn 1?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:40:39
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
DeathReaper wrote: ArmyC wrote:My buddy put 2 10 man squads of scouts in drop pods. Dropped them into my deployment zone. Combat squaded them into 2 squads each. Dropped 5 vanguard vet squads without deviation within 9" inches of the scouts. Charged and murdered 5 units of Warp Spiders.
ALL ON TURN 1. Talon Strike Force allows 1st turn reserves on 4+. Shadow strike Kill Team allows to pass or fail reserve rolls, and deep strike charge.
1st turn assault in my deployment zone by 30 power ax wielding vanguard vets is a little broken.
I do not see anything in that formation that allows the Vanguards to arrive turn 1.
Was there something else that allowed the vets to arrive turn 1?
You missed the bold part.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:41:36
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
|
Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:41:45
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
DarknessEternal wrote: DeathReaper wrote: ArmyC wrote:My buddy put 2 10 man squads of scouts in drop pods. Dropped them into my deployment zone. Combat squaded them into 2 squads each. Dropped 5 vanguard vet squads without deviation within 9" inches of the scouts. Charged and murdered 5 units of Warp Spiders. ALL ON TURN 1. Talon Strike Force allows 1st turn reserves on 4+. Shadow strike Kill Team allows to pass or fail reserve rolls, and deep strike charge. 1st turn assault in my deployment zone by 30 power ax wielding vanguard vets is a little broken. I do not see anything in that formation that allows the Vanguards to arrive turn 1. Was there something else that allowed the vets to arrive turn 1?
You missed the bold part. Weird, I didn't see that in the formations rules.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/05/02 17:44:43
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:44:03
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Because it isn't it is a raven decurion style benefit its not in the killteam formation.
|
Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:46:18
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
oldzoggy wrote:Because it isn't it is a raven decurion style benefit its not in the killteam formation. So the reserve rolls do not work for the Shadowstrike Kill Team formation. So how did he bring in Shadowstrike Kill Team members when they are not a part of the Talon Strike Force detachment? Unless it was the Auxiliary Formation then that makes sense.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/02 17:47:43
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:52:45
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ugh. Lets give you an hint.
The reason starts with Aux.. and ends with ..iary
|
Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 18:16:23
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
DarknessEternal wrote:...On Target specifically allows charging on the turn they arrive from Reserve.
True, but the no Scatter portion would not have been allowed on a turn that the Scouts Deep Striked.
DeathReaper wrote: oldzoggy wrote:Because it isn't it is a raven decurion style benefit its not in the killteam formation.
So the reserve rolls do not work for the Shadowstrike Kill Team formation.
So how did he bring in Shadowstrike Kill Team members when they are not a part of the Talon Strike Force detachment?
Unless it was the Auxiliary Formation then that makes sense.
It is. Zoggy just missed a comma or a period. It should have read:
oldzoggy wrote:Because it isn't, it is a raven decurion style benefit, its not in the killteam formation.
From the OP:
ArmyC wrote:
ALL ON TURN 1. Talon Strike Force allows 1st turn reserves on 4+. Shadow strike Kill Team allows to pass or fail reserve rolls, and deep strike charge.
The Shadowstrike Kill Team is listed as an Auxiliary Choice for the Talon Strike Force, which in turn provides the 1st Turn Reserves Roll.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 18:18:54
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Charistoph wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:...On Target specifically allows charging on the turn they arrive from Reserve.
True, but the no Scatter portion would not have been allowed on a turn that the Scouts Deep Striked.
What rules support that claim?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/02 18:23:42
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 18:30:24
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
oldzoggy wrote:Ugh. Lets give you an hint.
The reason starts with Aux.. and ends with ..iary
Did you read what I wrote?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 18:35:35
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
DarknessEternal wrote: Charistoph wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:...On Target specifically allows charging on the turn they arrive from Reserve.
True, but the no Scatter portion would not have been allowed on a turn that the Scouts Deep Striked.
What rules support that claim?
From what I said earlier:
Charistoph wrote:There is a rule that states: "A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve." Arriving From Reserves is during the Start of the Turn, nothing separates the timing of the Roll with the timing of the deployment. So, while the Vanguard could still come in, technically they would not be able to use the Scouts to be On Target.
The ability to Charge after Deep Strike is not dependent upon the Scouts, but the ability to Deep Strike without Scatter is.
…On Target: Vanguard Veteran Squads from this Formation can charge on the turn they arrive from Deep Strike. In addition, they do not scatter when arriving from Deep Strike if the first model is placed within 9″ of at least two Scout Squads from this Formation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/02 18:38:13
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 18:39:18
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Jup but I replied before or during your edit. ; )
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/05/02 18:40:46
Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 18:50:59
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Charistoph wrote:DarknessEternal wrote: Charistoph wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:...On Target specifically allows charging on the turn they arrive from Reserve.
True, but the no Scatter portion would not have been allowed on a turn that the Scouts Deep Striked.
What rules support that claim?
From what I said earlier:
Charistoph wrote:There is a rule that states: "A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve." Arriving From Reserves is during the Start of the Turn, nothing separates the timing of the Roll with the timing of the deployment. So, while the Vanguard could still come in, technically they would not be able to use the Scouts to be On Target.
The ability to Charge after Deep Strike is not dependent upon the Scouts, but the ability to Deep Strike without Scatter is.
…On Target: Vanguard Veteran Squads from this Formation can charge on the turn they arrive from Deep Strike. In addition, they do not scatter when arriving from Deep Strike if the first model is placed within 9″ of at least two Scout Squads from this Formation.
The Scouts aren't using the ability. The Veterans are. The Scouts are just sitting there. If you bring in the Drop Pods first and then bring in the Veterans, they wouldn't scatter so long as the first model is within 9" of two Scout Squads.
Is your contention that the Scouts are the ones using an ability? If so, I'm missing what they're doing exactly. Seems like they're just sitting there and the Veterans are the ones who are doing something.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 18:59:17
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 19:17:07
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Kriswall wrote:The Scouts aren't using the ability. The Veterans are. The Scouts are just sitting there. If you bring in the Drop Pods first and then bring in the Veterans, they wouldn't scatter so long as the first model is within 9" of two Scout Squads.
Is your contention that the Scouts are the ones using an ability? If so, I'm missing what they're doing exactly. Seems like they're just sitting there and the Veterans are the ones who are doing something.
The Scouts provide the ability and are incorporated in the rule. They are the equivalent of a Teleport Homer in many respects (though that ones still has its own language forbidding it).
But it is still an ability of the Scouts to act like that Teleport Homer and a rule the Scouts must have in order for it to work. And it has to work while Arriving From Reserves which is the Start of the Turn.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 19:26:54
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Charistoph wrote: Kriswall wrote:The Scouts aren't using the ability. The Veterans are. The Scouts are just sitting there. If you bring in the Drop Pods first and then bring in the Veterans, they wouldn't scatter so long as the first model is within 9" of two Scout Squads.
Is your contention that the Scouts are the ones using an ability? If so, I'm missing what they're doing exactly. Seems like they're just sitting there and the Veterans are the ones who are doing something.
The Scouts provide the ability and are incorporated in the rule. They are the equivalent of a Teleport Homer in many respects (though that ones still has its own language forbidding it).
But it is still an ability of the Scouts to act like that Teleport Homer and a rule the Scouts must have in order for it to work. And it has to work while Arriving From Reserves which is the Start of the Turn.
the rule just says if arrives within 9" of a scout unit, it says nothing or request the scouts should be already on the table or that this won't work on an unit who arrived in the same turn from reserves so RAW as long he deep strike at 9" of 2x scouts squads he can do it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 19:48:54
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Lord Perversor wrote: Charistoph wrote: Kriswall wrote:The Scouts aren't using the ability. The Veterans are. The Scouts are just sitting there. If you bring in the Drop Pods first and then bring in the Veterans, they wouldn't scatter so long as the first model is within 9" of two Scout Squads.
Is your contention that the Scouts are the ones using an ability? If so, I'm missing what they're doing exactly. Seems like they're just sitting there and the Veterans are the ones who are doing something.
The Scouts provide the ability and are incorporated in the rule. They are the equivalent of a Teleport Homer in many respects (though that ones still has its own language forbidding it).
But it is still an ability of the Scouts to act like that Teleport Homer and a rule the Scouts must have in order for it to work. And it has to work while Arriving From Reserves which is the Start of the Turn.
the rule just says if arrives within 9" of a scout unit, it says nothing or request the scouts should be already on the table or that this won't work on an unit who arrived in the same turn from reserves so RAW as long he deep strike at 9" of 2x scouts squads he can do it.
Would they need to repeat a rule in the unit's army list entry if its already covered by the main rulebook?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 19:52:10
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ghaz wrote:
Would they need to repeat a rule in the unit's army list entry if its already covered by the main rulebook?
Which of these rules, exactly, are covered by the main rulebook.
Specifically, where's the rule that says a unit arriving by reserve can't use rules which they are specifically given.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/02 19:56:10
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 20:00:18
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
DarknessEternal wrote: Ghaz wrote:
Would they need to repeat a rule in the unit's army list entry if its already covered by the main rulebook?
Which of these rules, exactly, are covered by the main rulebook.
Specifically, where's the rule that says a unit arriving by reserve can't use rules which they are specifically given.
The rule I quoted is in Moving On From Reserves.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 20:00:58
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
DarknessEternal wrote: Ghaz wrote:
Would they need to repeat a rule in the unit's army list entry if its already covered by the main rulebook?
Which of these rules, exactly, are covered by the main rulebook.
Specifically, where's the rule that says a unit arriving by reserve can't use rules which they are specifically given.
I think they refer to this part.
"A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve."
But as i pointed the Shadowstrike formation rules wich allow to deploy without scatter says absolutely nothing about the scouts needing to be in the table before reserves arrives, all it says if Vanguards deploy within 9" of 2x scout units of this formation they don't scatter.
I sure understand that RAI it's deploying near the scouts (under the premise they infiltrated ahead) but RAW there is no restriction.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/02 20:02:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 20:05:36
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I'm still curious as to how both pods came in Turn 1. Unless there was another Pod that wasn't mentioned.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 20:11:11
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Happyjew wrote:I'm still curious as to how both pods came in Turn 1. Unless there was another Pod that wasn't mentioned.
maybe there was a 3rd maybe he was just lucky as the formation allows to deploy reserves on 1st turn with a 4+, wich would explain why he choose to combat squad the scouts, as this allows it to perform the trick with just 1x pod and do it flawlessly if the 2nd comes too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 20:13:39
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
UK
|
oldzoggy wrote: ArmyC wrote:.... Charged and murdered 5 units of Warp Spiders......
You deserved it
If you don't like this to happen buy screeners or play reserve chicken it isn't that hard not to get charged by them and you would murder all those vets in one or two rounds of shooting.
This.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 20:14:13
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Lord Perversor wrote: Happyjew wrote:I'm still curious as to how both pods came in Turn 1. Unless there was another Pod that wasn't mentioned.
maybe there was a 3rd maybe he was just lucky as the formation allows to deploy reserves on 1st turn with a 4+, wich would explain why he choose to combat squad the scouts, as this allows it to perform the trick with just 1x pod and do it flawlessly if the 2nd comes too.
Except the Pod does not have permission to role on Turn 1, and if you are rolling for the unit, you are not rolling for the Pod (as required by Drop Pod Assault).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 20:17:39
Subject: Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I assumed the Pods came from a separate CAD, as that's the only way to put the Scouts in them.
Then, if there were at least 3 pods in the overall army, these 2 could have been the ones that arrive on turn 1.
The only Reserves being "rolled" for is the Vanguard, and they can choose to auto-pass. Automatically Appended Next Post: Lord Perversor wrote:
Specifically, where's the rule that says a unit arriving by reserve can't use rules which they are specifically given.
I think they refer to this part.
"A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve."
That rule is overridden by the formation though. And those rules have already been posted in the thread.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/02 20:18:47
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
|