Switch Theme:

Ravenguard Shadowstrike Kill Team 1st turn deep strike no deviation charge  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Ghaz wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
DarknessEternal wrote:Separate detachments are allies. You can be allied with your own faction, as battle brothers, it's on the chart.

If it is from the same Faction, you do not address the Matrix. "The Allies Matrix below shows the levels of alliance between units that have different Factions in the same army."

And yet the Allies Matrix shows the same Faction as being Battle Brothers instead of leaving the space blank as they did last edition

Supplements, man, Supplements.

Supplements don't change Factions though.

But a different book and some are allowed to be considered Allies.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Cog in the Machine




Washington, DC

There was a ruling in the Tau FAQ today that might be relevant to this conversation:

Q: The rules for Tau homing beacons don't say that the model has to be on the table for one turn before it takes effect. Does this mean the benefits can be used in the same turn it arrives from Reserves?

A: Yes, if the model bearing the homing become moves onto the battlefield from reserves before the unit you intend to benefit from it: Note that the model must disembark from any Transport it might be on if you want to use the homing beacon.

#dontbeatony

3500+
(Raven Guard) 7000+
(Scions) 1500+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not hugely - having to be on the table to use "aura" abilities that dont specifically state they work while embarked is in the main FAQ, and TAU Homing Beacons DONT have the same stipulation as SM ones.
   
Made in gb
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine




UK

Slightly on this topic, I used the Shadowstrike kill team yesterday, and completely forgot about the ability with the scouts! And they dropped down within 9 inches of two scout squads, And they scattered, And they mishapped!

(The scouts had been on since turn one however, and the vets didn't drop till turn two)

Luckily for me, they eventually came down turn three and munched through some stuff.

 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






Or just use Scout Bikers with locator beacons 2+ Jinx first turn and have a podding command squad with banner for +1 attack to all units within 12" with ignore cover relentless gravguns. Have the 2 mandatory scout squads for the STK be snipers in your deployment zone and stay within a 9" perimeter for no scatter incase of seize or counter to a alpha strike.

The question is do drop pods come in before the deep striking Vanguard or simultaneously, or is it the controlling players choice?

Has nothing to do with the Vanguard charging as they can straight out of deepstrike and codex always over rules BRB.
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





Valentine009 wrote:
There was a ruling in the Tau FAQ today that might be relevant to this conversation:

Q: The rules for Tau homing beacons don't say that the model has to be on the table for one turn before it takes effect. Does this mean the benefits can be used in the same turn it arrives from Reserves?

A: Yes, if the model bearing the homing become moves onto the battlefield from reserves before the unit you intend to benefit from it: Note that the model must disembark from any Transport it might be on if you want to use the homing beacon.


Also similar answer with Blood angels FAQ regarding their specific formation.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





I'm late to the party but I don't see how the OP works. Aren't the drop pods are using rules from another formation? Plus can't only one come in 1st turn?

Plus the scouts are using a special rule from the formation - which scouts could only utilize if they infiltrated or had arrived a turn earlier....at least that's how I am reading the rules. Any clarification wold be great, thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/14 19:21:59


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Spacewolverine wrote:
The question is do drop pods come in before the deep striking Vanguard or simultaneously, or is it the controlling players choice?

This falls under Sequencing, so the Player whose turn it is (so usually Controlling Player).

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






 Sautek Supreme wrote:
I'm late to the party but I don't see how the OP works. Aren't the drop pods are using rules from another formation? Plus can't only one come in 1st turn?

Plus the scouts are using a special rule from the formation - which scouts could only utilize if they infiltrated or had arrived a turn earlier....at least that's how I am reading the rules. Any clarification wold be great, thanks!


He had 3 pods total, so 2 could come in turn 1. So he deep struck the scouts in the pods then the Vanguard deep struck within 9".
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





 Sautek Supreme wrote:
I'm late to the party but I don't see how the OP works. Aren't the drop pods are using rules from another formation? Plus can't only one come in 1st turn?

Plus the scouts are using a special rule from the formation - which scouts could only utilize if they infiltrated or had arrived a turn earlier....at least that's how I am reading the rules. Any clarification wold be great, thanks!

The scouts didn't need to be there a turn earlier. The only real problem is whether or not you can put Scouts from one formation into a different detachment's Drop Pod. I'm in the "you can't" camp, but it's still up for debate.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 DarknessEternal wrote:
The scouts didn't need to be there a turn earlier.

Actually, they do. Any rules and abilities which are used at the start of the turn cannot be used when Arriving From Reserves.

 DarknessEternal wrote:
The only real problem is whether or not you can put Scouts from one formation into a different detachment's Drop Pod. I'm in the "you can't" camp, but it's still up for debate.

They can if they are the same Faction and the Drop Pod is not Dedicated. Allies rules only concern themselves with Factions, not Detachments. Different Chapter Tactics do not matter in this case, either, since if they have different Chapter Tactics, they are in the same Faction (currently) and they are not joined to each other.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





 Charistoph wrote:
 DarknessEternal wrote:
The scouts didn't need to be there a turn earlier.

Actually, they do. Any rules and abilities which are used at the start of the turn cannot be used when Arriving From Reserves.
.


The thing is GW FAQ does allow it unless the rule wording says "the unit must be in the table before" thus the FAQ ruling with units arriving turn 1 ( 1st scouts or units with locator beacons) and then allowing further units arriving the same turn to not scatter or be able to charge if their formation rules grant that.


   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Lord Perversor wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
 DarknessEternal wrote:
The scouts didn't need to be there a turn earlier.

Actually, they do. Any rules and abilities which are used at the start of the turn cannot be used when Arriving From Reserves.
.

The thing is GW FAQ does allow it unless the rule wording says "the unit must be in the table before" thus the FAQ ruling with units arriving turn 1 ( 1st scouts or units with locator beacons) and then allowing further units arriving the same turn to not scatter or be able to charge if their formation rules grant that.

The thing is that the rulebook does not allow it unless the rule is worded to allow it to work when Arriving From Reserves. It was implemented in 6th Edition, and did not change for 7th Edition.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





 Charistoph wrote:
Lord Perversor wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
 DarknessEternal wrote:
The scouts didn't need to be there a turn earlier.

Actually, they do. Any rules and abilities which are used at the start of the turn cannot be used when Arriving From Reserves.
.

The thing is GW FAQ does allow it unless the rule wording says "the unit must be in the table before" thus the FAQ ruling with units arriving turn 1 ( 1st scouts or units with locator beacons) and then allowing further units arriving the same turn to not scatter or be able to charge if their formation rules grant that.

The thing is that the rulebook does not allow it unless the rule is worded to allow it to work when Arriving From Reserves. It was implemented in 6th Edition, and did not change for 7th Edition.


Oh i see

so
Tau FAQ and this
Blood Angel FAQ paired with this Spearhead formation
wich is totally allowed according to rules is fine

Now the wording rule we are discussing wich is here shadowstrike kill team
Does not?

Sory but the TAU and Blood Angels FAQ allow to use such abilities as long THERE is no further requirement in the rule. Yet you argue the Shadowstrike one (wich is worded exactly the same way) is not?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/15 22:10:52


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Lord Perversor wrote:
Oh i see

so
Tau FAQ and this
Blood Angel FAQ paired with this Spearhead formation
wich is totally allowed according to rules is fine

Now the wording rule we are discussing wich is here shadowstrike kill team
Does not?

Sory but the TAU and Blood Angels FAQ allow to use such abilities as long THERE is no further requirement in the rule. Yet you argue the Shadowstrike one (wich is worded exactly the same way) is not?

1. It's a Draft, not live.
2. Plenty of the Draft FAQ Answers either ignore or directly counter the written word of the book. Battle Brothers and Transports in Deployment, for example?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






OP; how did your buddy get the scouts in drop pods to begin with?

Also did your budy have 2x with a possible -1 drop pods(if there were an odd number of pods to begin with) in order for those scouts units to all come in first turn?

the actual benefits of the formation should be tricky to pull off normally; adding in the scenario you describe should come down to impossible without several CADs getting involved.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





 Charistoph wrote:
Lord Perversor wrote:
Oh i see

so
Tau FAQ and this
Blood Angel FAQ paired with this Spearhead formation
wich is totally allowed according to rules is fine

Now the wording rule we are discussing wich is here shadowstrike kill team
Does not?

Sory but the TAU and Blood Angels FAQ allow to use such abilities as long THERE is no further requirement in the rule. Yet you argue the Shadowstrike one (wich is worded exactly the same way) is not?

1. It's a Draft, not live.
2. Plenty of the Draft FAQ Answers either ignore or directly counter the written word of the book. Battle Brothers and Transports in Deployment, for example?


Check Swarmlord special rule, check also Chapter Tactics rules, both state at the beginning of turn, and thus would work and be restricted much like you claim (any unit coming of reserves cannot benefit for those rules in the turn they arrive) but the one of Shadowstrike does not, it's just your personal interpretation linking it to the rule you mention.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Indiana

I think while it is a draft they very clearly said that the answers are not likely to change, only that the wording will be changed to clear up any ambiguities.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/17 06:29:57


People who stopped buying GW but wont stop bitching about it are the vegans of warhammer

My Deathwatch army project thread  
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Leth wrote:
I think while it is a draft they very clearly said that the answers are not likely to change, only that the wording will be changed to clear up any ambiguities.

When they have waited a while to do FAQs and release them after a while, it is not unheard of for them to reverse the answer in a following FAQ when feedback questions where they were headed or pointed out that it ran counter to what the book said (and they didn't choose to errata the book). It is not terribly common, but it is not impossible, either.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: