| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/28 16:08:36
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Dark Angels added 6/22)
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Red_Lives wrote:I disagree, the matrix is in the rulebook so it's part of the rules too. You can make that argument that 2 Space marine Detachments using different chapter tactics deploying in each other's transports should be disallowed too as it is currently worded (this may also be GW's intent)
You missed the point of what everyone else is saying.
Yes, the chart is there, but the chart does not become usable/accessible until you have units from different Factions in the same army. It is not a case of being ignored, it is a case of not being accessed. As an Ork player, do you use the charts for the Ranged Weapons in the BRB? For the most part, no. Why? Because most of the weapons an Ork player uses are unique to their codex and not rulebook weapons. The same thing applies. Ork units are the same Faction, so do not call upon the Allies rules.
The reason for that their Battle Brothers has been explained. The main is New Factions which use the Ork Chart position, ala how Genestealer Cults were before the Draft FAQ. This is how the Imperium of Man actually operates.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 16:06:27
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Ghaz wrote:... ongoing discussion in News & Rumours. FAQ can be found HERE.
Skitarii & Cult Mechanicus FAQs HERE.
Militarum Tempestus Scions, Inquisition, Adepta Sororitas and Officio Assassinorum HERE.
Imperial Knights, Genestealer Cults and Deathwatch HERE.
Daemonkin, Legion of the Damned and Blood Oath FAQs HERE
Codex Space Marines FAQ HERE
Codex Space Wolves FAQ HERE
Codex Dark Angels FAQ HERE
Codex Blood Angels FAQ HERE
This week, the Sons of Sanguinus receive a short FAQ.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 16:17:27
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Glad they fixed Scouts, but sad about their lack of Formation help. I'm not a Space Marine player by any means, but I don't like BA's being treated differently than other SM factions
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 16:29:17
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Galef wrote:Glad they fixed Scouts, but sad about their lack of Formation help. I'm not a Space Marine player by any means, but I don't like BA's being treated differently than other SM factions
Well, that's one of the disadvantages of having a completely separate codex. Its not like they would add Formations in an FAQ, after all.
An apparent discrepancy from the BRB FAQ with one of the 2 Template Weapons? I am not familiar with the weapon in question, but GW is saying it is a 1D3 instead of a 2D3.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/29 16:30:58
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 16:41:10
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
They contradicted the previous FAQ. It's not that big of a deal for me, since we got the 4 attacks in CC. I don't care about number of overwatch frags.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 16:46:45
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Charistoph wrote:An apparent discrepancy from the BRB FAQ with one of the 2 Template Weapons? I am not familiar with the weapon in question, but GW is saying it is a 1D3 instead of a 2D3.
The Frag Cannon is an Assault 2 Template weapon.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 16:57:17
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, someone correct me if I'm wrong, but it's a single weapon that fires twice, and not two weapons. As such, being a Template weapon, it just gets the one Wall of Death roll. Don't have the rule in front of me, so I couldn't be mistaken and correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure that rule just cares about being a model with a template weapon, and not how many weapons you have or how many shots that weapon fires.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 17:05:01
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Apparently Space Wolves and Blood Angels use a different order of operation between multiplication and addition.
Good luck trying to figure out what other factions are supposed to do with that precedent.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 17:44:55
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
And apparently Locator Beacons do not work when inside a transport. I wonder what other AoEs are blocked by hulls?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 17:50:07
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Any that don't mention they work when embarked.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 18:01:59
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Apparently Space Wolves and Blood Angels use a different order of operation between multiplication and addition.
Good luck trying to figure out what other factions are supposed to do with that precedent.
Well, they're saying their intent was that the Cyber Wolf changes the model's base stats. I'd say that's the exception, not the rule. However, I agree, it really should have been clearer.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 18:27:24
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
There is still a precedent in that temporary modifiers go Multiply/Divide > Add/Subtract, while wargear that gives permanent modifiers to you goes before temporary modifiers.
And if anyone argues that a weapon is a permanent modifier, then it would mean that any character armed with a Power Maul would always be S6, even if he's not using the maul (such as if he also has a Power Axe for AP2).
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 18:48:14
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
So everything, except for weapons (which only have permission via Fire Points)?
AFAIK there is not one AoE effect that states it works while embarked, but there are some that work differently when embarked ( KFF comes to mind)
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 19:28:53
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
MechaEmperor7000 wrote:There is still a precedent in that temporary modifiers go Multiply/Divide > Add/Subtract, while wargear that gives permanent modifiers to you goes before temporary modifiers.
Precedent, yes, but nothing that actually states that things like the Wolf Cavalry upgrade updates the base modifier by default. Part of the problem with GW rules and FAQs is that you need to have a drunken monkey decoder dart board in order to not have an argument about them.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 19:45:22
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Or just go by common sense. Wolf Cav, Bikes and Armor stuff have always been pieces of wargear that modified the profile directly, while Weapons and Special Rules never affected the profile.
For example characters that come with a pistol and a CCW by default with no options to swap them out (such as Kharn in every edition) never has that +1 attack stated in their profile for using two weapons, as that is a product of a special rule due to his wargear combo rather than an actual piece of wargear conferring it.
I would expect if they talked about that shield-wall phalanx thing the Dark Angels Terminators can do to increase their toughness would come after anything that would halve or double their toughness, as it's not something granted innately to them but only under specific conditions. Conversely, if a piece of wargear would permanently halve the toughness of a Nurgle Biker Lord, I would expect the end result to be a Toughness of 4 rather than 3, since the wargear halving the toughness, the bike, and the mark of nurgle would all be permanent passive modifiers and would go Multiply/Divide > Add/Subtract.
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 19:57:48
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
I see a lot of people complaining about that Augur Triangulation thing. What's the big deal here? I don't know much about Blood angels, but I like how they actually gave an explanation this time around. Plus it seems pretty clear to me. Minus the part about range I guess.
p.80 reads that you should measure any range involving an embarked unit from the hull. I don't see how that shouldn't count for the locator beacon.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/29 19:58:13
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:05:45
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Roknar wrote:I see a lot of people complaining about that Augur Triangulation thing. What's the big deal here? I don't know much about Blood angels, but I like how they actually gave an explanation this time around. Plus it seems pretty clear to me. Minus the part about range I guess.
p.80 reads that you should measure any range involving an embarked unit from the hull. I don't see how that shouldn't count for the locator beacon.
The deal is that they ignored their own rules yet again.
You can measure to a embarked unit as per the rules, but not for the teleport homers for no good reason.
Another rule change. They are so inconsistent it is laughable.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:07:52
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
Hmm, wasn't there a bit about embarked units in the BRB faq? I vaguely remember somethign along those lines.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:11:24
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Well it's nice they fixed the BA scouts. Even if I am...confused by it.
|
tremere47-fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:18:34
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
pm713 wrote:Well it's nice they fixed the BA scouts. Even if I am...confused by it.
What's confusing about it?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:30:08
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Roknar wrote:Hmm, wasn't there a bit about embarked units in the BRB faq? I vaguely remember somethign along those lines. FAQ? not sure, Actual rules Yes. Vehicles chapter, under the Embarking rules: "If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle’s hull." So yea GW just likes to ignore its own rules I guess.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/29 20:31:35
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:32:46
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend
Maine
|
Am I totally blind? I don't see the Scout fix...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:37:57
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
They Erratta'd all the scouts to have BS/ WS 4, just like their SM cousins.
Now Scouts and Dreads are more uniform across the Marine dexes.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:38:12
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Page five of the FAQ, under 'Errata'.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:39:38
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend
Maine
|
Ah, kudos to you both <3
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:40:23
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
There's the 4 paes of the BA faq, and then an additional Errata pic only for the scouts after that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:41:04
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
BA Scout units given boosted stats. SW equivalents are not. To be clear it's not so much the errata itself but the reasoning behind it.
|
tremere47-fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:41:50
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There was a clarification in the faq that said character with AoE abilities do not work whole embarked abd a section on psychic powers other then witch fire exception can not be cast while embarked.
embarked units are effectively treated as not on the board unless otherwise stated. The triangulation rule further supports that.
You can shoot via fire ports and use witch fires but essentially embarked units are not considered in the field of play. Certain abilities such as the Ork kff grants exceptions or alternate rules to this and is otherwise specifically called out.
Now the question I have is does open top transports change this rule? It appears to me to be no.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/29 20:43:44
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:46:26
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
DeathReaper wrote:Roknar wrote:Hmm, wasn't there a bit about embarked units in the BRB faq? I vaguely remember somethign along those lines.
FAQ? not sure,
Actual rules Yes. Vehicles chapter, under the Embarking rules: "If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle’s hull."
So yea GW just likes to ignore its own rules I guess.
No, you just happened to not read all the other FAQs
The First Draft Main Book FAQ
Q: I have a question regarding unit special rules that affect all or some units within a certain range of a model or unit. How do these interact with units inside Transports, and what happens if the unit with the rule is inside a Transport?
A: When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the battlefield and does not interact with anything on the battlefield. However, certain rules may create exceptions to this rule, with the most obvious examples being Fire Points and psychic powers and Transports. If a unit’s rules are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport, they will specify this.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/06/29 20:48:43
Subject: 40K FAQ first draft posted (Codex Blood Angels added 6/29)
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
winterman wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Roknar wrote:Hmm, wasn't there a bit about embarked units in the BRB faq? I vaguely remember somethign along those lines. FAQ? not sure, Actual rules Yes. Vehicles chapter, under the Embarking rules: "If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle’s hull." So yea GW just likes to ignore its own rules I guess. No, you just happened to not read all the other FAQs The First Draft Main Book FAQ Q: I have a question regarding unit special rules that affect all or some units within a certain range of a model or unit. How do these interact with units inside Transports, and what happens if the unit with the rule is inside a Transport? A: When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the battlefield and does not interact with anything on the battlefield. However, certain rules may create exceptions to this rule, with the most obvious examples being Fire Points and psychic powers and Transports. If a unit’s rules are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport, they will specify this. Honestly, that question should not even be a question if you actually read the rules. And As I said, they changed the rule and went against the RAW. They have done this several times in this FAQ. it is laughable at this point.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/29 20:49:55
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|