Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/13 06:12:26
Subject: Reaper of the Outer Dark, Corsair's first turn charge
|
 |
Araqiel
|
Hello,
The corsairs army that includes the prince with "reaper of the outer dark" must declare a charge if there's an enemy unit within 8" does that mean scouting, infiltrating and deep striking units can charge because of the rule saying that codex overrules the rulebook? Though RAI it seems that its within the corsairs background to do such manoeuvres.
Thanks Dakka
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/13 07:03:15
Subject: Reaper of the Outer Dark, Corsair's first turn charge
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Can't charge the turn you scout/infiltrate/arrive from reserve will override the must charge the corsairs have.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/13 07:36:04
Subject: Reaper of the Outer Dark, Corsair's first turn charge
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mulletdude wrote:Can't charge the turn you scout/infiltrate/arrive from reserve will override the must charge the corsairs have.
Indeed.
The FAQ First Draft also states this, I believe.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/13 07:39:49
Subject: Reaper of the Outer Dark, Corsair's first turn charge
|
 |
Araqiel
|
Wait, why does the rule book override codex? And isn't there a space marine formation that charges from reserves?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/13 07:56:53
Subject: Reaper of the Outer Dark, Corsair's first turn charge
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
hiveof_chimera wrote:Wait, why does the rule book override codex? And isn't there a space marine formation that charges from reserves?
Its not about "rulebook trumping codex" its about restrictions and how you have to specifically have permission to ignore a restriction to do so. Your rule does not specifically say you can charge when coming from reserves so you can't end of story. And the space marine formation specifically gives permission to charge from reserves. Your Corsair rule isn't doing that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/13 07:57:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/13 16:49:18
Subject: Reaper of the Outer Dark, Corsair's first turn charge
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
hiveof_chimera wrote:Wait, why does the rule book override codex? And isn't there a space marine formation that charges from reserves?
There are several that can Charge from Reserves, however, they specifically state that they can Charge From Reseves. I believe the rule in question does not state this, it just does not allow for a choice when a Charge opportunity is provided.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/13 22:23:58
Subject: Reaper of the Outer Dark, Corsair's first turn charge
|
 |
Araqiel
|
Charistoph wrote: hiveof_chimera wrote:Wait, why does the rule book override codex? And isn't there a space marine formation that charges from reserves?
There are several that can Charge from Reserves, however, they specifically state that they can Charge From Reseves. I believe the rule in question does not state this, it just does not allow for a choice when a Charge opportunity is provided.
Yeah that makes sense, thanks guys
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/16 02:23:41
Subject: Reaper of the Outer Dark, Corsair's first turn charge
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It has a few oddities, like charging units other than the one you shot at.
|
|
 |
 |
|