Switch Theme:

Potms whirlwind squad  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Charging Bull






 Mr. Shine wrote:
 Forcast wrote:
It does not "strictly" deal with Ballistic Skill

How many weapons can you fire? one more than normally permitted.

At what ballistic skill? Full ballistic skill.

At what target? CAN be fired at a different target unit...

Failing to see how you have you have a degraded ballistic skill in order to trigger the above. You can't use this in other phases because you follow "the normal rules for shooting


And the normal rules for shooting require all same-named weapon groups to be chosen and fired together.

You are twisting the wording of Power of the Machine Spirit. It does not say you may fire one more weapon than is normally permitted, and that you may fire it at full Ballistic Skill. It says that you may fire one more weapon at full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted.

What that means is it does not increase the number of weapons you can fire simpliciter. It increases the number of weapons specifically at full Ballistic Skill you may fire.


Which the "number of weapons specifically at full Ballistic Skill you may fire" is increased by one right? I am specifically firing 1+1 weapons at full ballistic skill (resolved at the same time), not seeing a problem.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Forcast wrote:
Which the "number of weapons specifically at full Ballistic Skill you may fire" is increased by one right? I am specifically firing 1+1 weapons at full ballistic skill (resolved at the same time), not seeing a problem.


Which has everything to do with the Ballistic Skill at which you fire the weapon and nothing to do with the way in which you're still required to fire them together.
   
Made in us
Charging Bull






So we are arguing:

You may fire one more (weapon at full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted.)

or

You may fire one more weapon (at full Ballistic Skill) than normally permitted.

   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Forcast wrote:
So we are arguing:

You may fire one more (weapon at full Ballistic Skill than normally permitted.)

or

You may fire one more weapon (at full Ballistic Skill) than normally permitted.



Yes, but I think you're butchering the reading of the rule when in fact the wording of your argument as I understand it to be would correctly need to be, "May fire one more weapon than normally permitted, at full Ballistic Skill."

Given vehicles may always fire all weapons though and the issue is simply at which Ballistic Skill they do so, I submit that's further evidence it relates only to Ballistic Skill.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/20 23:23:57


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Charistoph wrote:
Forcast wrote:So you are saying that a Land Raider that doesn't move can't fire its Lascannons at separate targets?

We are saying the rules are saying that a Land Raider can only fire its Lascannons at separate targets if one of them would normally be Snap Firing or otherwise be reduced BS.

RageofBlack wrote:How about this situation: a squad of 2 landraiders, each one only fires one TL lascannon, could they fire at different units?

Only if one of them would be Snap Firing or otherwise be reduced BS.

Keep in mind what the actual rule say, "this weapon can be fired at a different target unit to any other weapons..."


I thin Raw this probably correct. However, given the legacy of the POTMS and land raiders, I believe most events would indeed rule a squadron of two godhammer Land Raiders could target 3 targets thanks to POTMS whether it had moved enough to snap-fire or not. I suspect this was an unintended change in the rule from previous editions.

Still leaves it as pretty useless on Whirlwinds.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/21 00:50:19


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

barnowl wrote:
I thin Raw this probably correct. However, given the legacy of the POTMS and land raiders, I believe most events would indeed rule a squadron of two godhammer Land Raiders could target 3 targets thanks to POTMS whether it had moved enough to snap-fire or not. I suspect this was an unintended change in the rule from previous editions.

Still leaves it as pretty useless on Whirlwinds.


I'm inclined to agree that Power of the Machine Spirit is meant to function in some way other than it is written. I suspect its intended function would better match something like:

"...the vehicle can fire one weapon at a different target unit to any other weapons, subject to the normal rules for shooting. In addition, this weapon can be fired at the vehicle's full Ballistic Skill."
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





malamis wrote:
 RageofBlack wrote:
I meant to say a squadron of landraiders. So what i am getting from this, is that if i go cruising speed i could then use PotMS and target 3 different units with my squadron of whirlwinds?


Correct. It's arguable you could even go flat out.
Except for the whole specifically excluding flat out
   
Made in gb
Legendary Dogfighter





RNAS Rockall

 CrownAxe wrote:
malamis wrote:
 RageofBlack wrote:
I meant to say a squadron of landraiders. So what i am getting from this, is that if i go cruising speed i could then use PotMS and target 3 different units with my squadron of whirlwinds?


Correct. It's arguable you could even go flat out.
Except for the whole specifically excluding flat out


Well spotted >.<

Some people find the idea that other people can be happy offensive, and will prefer causing harm to self improvement.  
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





barnowl wrote:
 Charistoph wrote:
Forcast wrote:So you are saying that a Land Raider that doesn't move can't fire its Lascannons at separate targets?

We are saying the rules are saying that a Land Raider can only fire its Lascannons at separate targets if one of them would normally be Snap Firing or otherwise be reduced BS.

RageofBlack wrote:How about this situation: a squad of 2 landraiders, each one only fires one TL lascannon, could they fire at different units?

Only if one of them would be Snap Firing or otherwise be reduced BS.

Keep in mind what the actual rule say, "this weapon can be fired at a different target unit to any other weapons..."


I thin Raw this probably correct. However, given the legacy of the POTMS and land raiders, I believe most events would indeed rule a squadron of two godhammer Land Raiders could target 3 targets thanks to POTMS whether it had moved enough to snap-fire or not. I suspect this was an unintended change in the rule from previous editions.

Still leaves it as pretty useless on Whirlwinds.


Well considering Whirlwind weapons PotMS may allow to move 12 then shoot them at full BS, meaning you have now a very mobile weapon platform instead a sitting duck. Not the best but may come handy.

   
Made in us
Charging Bull






So a punctuation issue.

God I'm glad I don't play in a gaming group with just dakka dakka people...
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Forcast wrote:
So a punctuation issue.

God I'm glad I don't play in a gaming group with just dakka dakka people...


Sounds like a sore loser to me.

Remember there's a huge difference between arguing legalistic semantics on the internet and actually playing a game in real life for all involved to enjoy.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Forcast wrote:
So a punctuation issue.

God I'm glad I don't play in a gaming group with just dakka dakka people...


Punctuation makes rules. And it is more than just the punctuation in this case.
   
Made in us
Charging Bull






So how do you actually play it?

Also I'm still not convinced its even a legalistic issue.

I think this will just come down to you saying one thing and me saying another.

Especially when you can just drive in a 6" circle and and perform the same action I am suggesting you can do in the first place.

My ultimate opinion is that a simple rule is being way over analyzed to the point of a loss of rationale.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Forcast wrote:
So how do you actually play it?


Something like what I posted a copy of posts back.

Also I'm still not convinced its even a legalistic issue.

I think this will just come down to you saying one thing and me saying another.

Especially when you can just drive in a 6" circle and and perform the same action I am suggesting you can do in the first place.

My ultimate opinion is that a simple rule is being way over analyzed to the point of a loss of rationale.


It's not a legalistic issue, it's an issue of you reading the rule incorrectly on the basis of assuming it works in the way you wish/believe it to.

It is a legalistic discussion though, in that it needs to be broken down to explain why, the way it is written, it doesn't mean what you think it means.
   
Made in us
Charging Bull






And you don't have any assumptions at all?

I still am waiting for that breakdown then. and just typing out the same words in the rule is apparently not working for me.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Forcast wrote:
And you don't have any assumptions at all?

I still am waiting for that breakdown then. and just typing out the same words in the rule is apparently not working for me.


by the RAW, POTMS only kicks in if you are Snap-firing one or more weapons. How most folks play it is you can shoot a secondary target with one weapon AND/OR shoot one more weapon than normal at full BS.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Forcast wrote:
And you don't have any assumptions at all?


Considering I'm going by what the rule clearly says, no, I don't think so.

I still am waiting for that breakdown then. and just typing out the same words in the rule is apparently not working for me.


I have explained without simply repeating the wording of the rule. It's not really my problem if your reading comprehension isn't up to the task, I'm sorry.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion






Brisbane

Less trying to belittle other users contributions by going on about their "reading comprehension", more politely discussing it based on rules. Thanks

I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: