Switch Theme:

Deepstrike Question (Image enclosed)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So I recently had a game with my buddy last week, and we had a question arise from Deep Striking (specifically Gate of Infinity). My friend Deep Struck his Cent Star, it scattered, and ended up very close to a tall building (Impassable Terrain, specifically the GW Bastion Model). Here is a picture of what the Deep Strike looked like this:



Now a couple things of note, Draigo is a 32MM base (iirc), the Librarian was on a 25MM base, and the Cents are on a 50MM base. He placed Draigo first, then started building his circle around him. The space between Draigo and the building corner was just slightly smaller than a 25MM base. He built his first "circle" like ive shown above, then started to build his "second circle" behind the first with the last two Centurions. When I looked at his placement, I was curious due to the spacing near the building and the Librarian, because to me it looked like he didn't "Complete a circle" and so I thought it would be a mishap. I was under the impression per the rules that if you cant make a full circle surrounding the initial model, then it's a mishap per the rules.

Obviously this is an awkward situation because of the different base sizes, and in hindsight im pretty sure if he had put a Centurion in the middle he could have built a more cohesive circle . My question stems from basically those gaps that are created in essence due to the proximity of the building and how its "poking into" the "first circle".

I would love to hear others input on the matter. I stopped playing 40k back in 4th Edition, and have just now returned, and I continue to notice small nuances in rules, so I get the distinct feeling I might be making a mistake in that regard here.

In the end we ended up rolling off to determine if it was a mishap or not, which that roll went in my favor, and his Cent Star went into Ongoing Reserve (Pretty big deal, at the time I felt pretty mixed about it, I thought it was going to be game losing, and I felt like a dick, and thought about just letting him do whatever, but it feels like this is a core risk of running this kind of unit, so that's why we did the roll off).

We talked about it more at the end, and he felt positive he was right, and I was unsure. We came to the conclusion that had he Deep Struck and not mishapped, it would have changed the game, but being a Mishap didn't ruin the game either.

Thoughts?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/28 21:39:23


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

What he has done looks fine. With the Librarian there, there is no room for another Centurion, so starting a second circle is fine.

 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




Looks like he has technically completed the circle as you couldn't fit another Centurion into the first circle with the Librarian there.

tremere47-fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate, leads to triple riptide spam  
   
Made in us
Did Fulgrim Just Behead Ferrus?





Fort Worth, TX

I would also wonder if, even without the librarian, could a fifth centurion have fit anyway? Because of Draigo's smaller base size, could five centurions all fit around him in base to base? I don't have enough centurion-sized bases quickly on hand to test it out myself.

"Through the darkness of future past, the magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds: Fire, walk with me."
- Twin Peaks
"You listen to me. While I will admit to a certain cynicism, the fact is that I am a naysayer and hatchetman in the fight against violence. I pride myself in taking a punch and I'll gladly take another because I choose to live my life in the company of Gandhi and King. My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method... is love. I love you Sheriff Truman." - Twin Peaks 
   
Made in es
Screaming Shining Spear





 insaniak wrote:
What he has done looks fine. With the Librarian there, there is no room for another Centurion, so starting a second circle is fine.


that's pretty much the answer according the rules this is the only requirement for each circle "all models must touch the inner circle/model and each circle must include as many models as will fit"

so the librarian placement there was quick and right way toa void misshap.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If I understood correctly, your issue comes from the fact that the building is partially inside the red circle.
So you would agree that the exact same placement of the models, but without having the building there, would be a valid?
If so, then it means that the building doesn't prevent the models to be placed properly, and therefore it isn't a mishap.
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



London

this works really well with adding a couple of small base characters to the wraithguard d flamer team. You can end up having all of them able to fire.

   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






Perfectly fine. Different base sizes in DS units is not uncommon at all.
What I don't know is if the unit has to remain 1'' from the building if there is an enemy unit in it.
Actually it says that a claimed building is 'a unit in the controlling player's army', so I'd say yes.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/07/29 11:19:09


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, becuse you measure range to the unit by measuring the building (as it follows the vehcile transport rules)
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I appreciate everyone's responses. I think where my confusion stemmed from was the concept of "a complete circle". While my gakky paint diagram isn't perfectly to scale, when we had the physical models on the battlefield, it looked very possible to have Draigo in the center, and have all Centurions (I just realized my image has 6, they don't even go to 6) surrounding Draigo, and by that I mean, all 5 Cents touching Draigo's base, and all 5 of their bases touching each other. This to me is what looked like a "complete circle", and I guess once I got that image in my head of what appear to be a "complete circle", anything else would have been a mishap, and if they had been placed that way, they wouldn't have fit.

Thanks for taking the time to chime in, appreciated!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: