Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 11:45:45
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ive a couple of question they may seem simple but i cant seem to find an answer.
I have an imperial fist army + salamander allies.
1. I have a techmarine on a bike with a conversion beamer.im wondering is there anyway to take servirots with this IE one in the side car.
2. Imperial fists have the bolter drill rule,does this apply to bolters on a bike,or stormbolters on a rhino. Is it worth taking two storm bolters.
3. If i attach my other techmarine to a squad of 5 tactical marines in a rhino can the servitors also come along.
Sorry if these are stupid questions thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 11:56:49
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
baldrat61 wrote:1. I have a techmarine on a bike with a conversion beamer.im wondering is there anyway to take servirots with this IE one in the side car.
You can take both servitors and a Space Marine bike.
You may not take servitors in their own Space Marine bikes, or on the Techmarine's Space Marine bike.
2. Imperial fists have the bolter drill rule,does this apply to bolters on a bike,or stormbolters on a rhino. Is it worth taking two storm bolters.
Chapter Tactics explains what models they apply to. In the case of Bolter Drill, it applies to "Imperial Fists models". Chapter Tactics tells us that when a model is referred to by its chapter (e.g. 'Imperial Fists model'), it means a model with the Chapter Tactics special rule which is drawn from that Chapter. So a Rhino's storm bolter would not gain the benefit, because there are no Rhinos with the Chapter Tactics special rule.
3. If i attach my other techmarine to a squad of 5 tactical marines in a rhino can the servitors also come along.
No, because only the Techmarine is an Independent Character so only he may join or leave units, and an Independent Character may not be part of more than one unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/29 11:57:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 12:12:56
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok thanks,with regard to the bike and techmarine is there a mas distance the tech marine can be from the servitors. Ie can he ride off on the bike and leave them to footslog?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 12:22:07
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
baldrat61 wrote:Ok thanks,with regard to the bike and techmarine is there a mas distance the tech marine can be from the servitors. Ie can he ride off on the bike and leave them to footslog?
If he is part of the unit with the servitors then they must maintain unit coherency. You can find the rules for that, as well as the rules for Independent Characters joining and leaving units, which I suspect you might find interesting, in the rulebook.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 14:01:14
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood
|
baldrat61 wrote:Ok thanks,with regard to the bike and techmarine is there a mas distance the tech marine can be from the servitors. Ie can he ride off on the bike and leave them to footslog?
A Techmarine is an independent Character, but may not leave his unit of Servitors. ( FAQ) Im guessing that this is because the Servitors are an upgrade to his unit of 1, like a Tactical Squad must have 5 men, but can have additional marines bought separately
A unit may never break unit coherency, and if unit coherency is broken due to shooting or similar, they must try to get back into unit coherency in their next movement phase. So a unit with mixed movements like this must stay within 2" of each other.
This also means that he may not join that squad of Tactical Marines if he has no Servitors.
(Edited to correct myself due to IC or non IC status)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/07/29 16:40:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 14:13:07
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
False. A Techmarine does indeed have the 'Independent Character' special rule.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 15:34:08
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Ghaz wrote:
False. A Techmarine does indeed have the 'Independent Character' special rule.
Correct, but for some reason, the Draft FAQ says he cannot leave his unit of Servitors.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 16:17:00
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The Servitors are purchased as part of the Techmarine unit; that is why the FAQ says he cannot leave them.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/29 16:38:07
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood
|
Its strange - my digital version (epub) does not say Independent Character under the special rules but the Physical copy says that he is.
Ill edit the post above so that its correct
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/30 15:26:43
Subject: Re:Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hi sorry to hijack my own post but really hoping someone can offer advice on this. Im not looking for help with the list just wondering which of the squads on my list would be better served with my 3 transports i have a razorback,a rhino and drop pod. Thanks
HQ
Techmarine servo harness
Servitor with Heavy Bolter
Servitor with Plasma Cannon
2x Servitor with Servo-arm
Techmarine
Conversion Beamer Space Marine Bike Warhammer 40,000: The Rules
Elites
Sternguard Veteran Squad
5 Veterans
1 Veteran with Multi melta
Vanguard Veteran Squad
Jumppacks
Veteran Power Sword , Storm Shield
Veteran Power Sword , Storm Shield
Veteran Power axe , Storm Shield
Veteran Lightning Claw , Lightning Claw
Veteran sergeant Power Fist
Troops
Scout Squad
4x Boltgun Scouts
Heavy Bolter Scouts
1 sergeant Storm Bolter
Tactical Squad
1 Heavy Bolter marine
3x Space Marines bolters
1 sergeant Storm
Fast Attack
Land Speeders
Land Speeder Heavy Bolter, Multi-melta
Heavy Support
Contemptor Dreadnoughts
Kheres Pattern Assault Cannon
Devastator Squad
4x Lascannon marines
1x boltgun Space Marines
Sergeant Storm Bolter
Allies Salamanders
Allied Detachment
HQ
Chaplain Jumppack with assault marines
Elites
Dreadnought
Twin-linked Lascannon Heavy Flamer
Troops
Tactical Squad
1 marine Flamer
1 Multimelta Marine
Sergeant with Combi Flamer
7 Marines with boltersFast Attack
Assault Squad
Jump packs
2x Flamer Marines
Eviscerator Marine
Sergeant power sword
3 x bolt pistol chainsword
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/30 16:21:37
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:The Servitors are purchased as part of the Techmarine unit; that is why the FAQ says he cannot leave them.
But does not lose his Independent Character Special Rule which allows for leaving the unit he is in. Nothing aside from this FAQ states indicates that he can't leave a unit he was in beforedeployment in after the game starts.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/30 17:29:20
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Context bro.
All the subheadings are the relevant rules behind the rule: Independent Character, which is: Independent Characters can join other units. They cannot, however, join units that contain vehicles or
Monstrous Creatures. They can join other Independent Characters, though, to form a powerful multi-
character unit!
Other units.
Under the context of this rule the next subsection is joining and leaving units; where the rule that dictates leaving a unit as simply moving out of coherency.
But all that is the academic; I was merely addressing your "for some reason". The reason is that the servitors are part of the Techmarine unit entry.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/31 15:35:11
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Context bro.
All the subheadings are the relevant rules behind the rule: Independent Character, which is: Independent Characters can join other units. They cannot, however, join units that contain vehicles or
Monstrous Creatures. They can join other Independent Characters, though, to form a powerful multi-
character unit!
Other units.
Under the context of this rule the next subsection is joining and leaving units; where the rule that dictates leaving a unit as simply moving out of coherency.
But all that is the academic; I was merely addressing your "for some reason". The reason is that the servitors are part of the Techmarine unit entry.
And "context bro", there is nothing to state that he cannot leave the Techmarine unit full of Servitors later on in the game according to that same section you referenced on the side.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/31 21:44:15
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Are the servitors a separate unit that he has ever joined?
Or a separate unit at all?
No.
They are part of the same unit purchased as unit upgrades.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/08/01 08:09:51
Subject: Couple of marine rule questions
|
 |
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood
|
It makes sense that as a Units upgrade, the Techmarine cannot leave it. It would be forcing the Servitors to mindlock.
The FAQ ruling (in this case) does make sense
|
|
|
 |
 |
|