Switch Theme:

Recon Drone + Deep strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





I'm sure I'm missing a FAQ somewhere that explains this but I couldn't find one and I couldn't find in the BRB where it stated they needed to come in first. Here's my scenario, I have a recon drone (deep striking units don't scatter if placed within 6") in a unit of pathfinders who are embarked on a devilfish. I am using the Retaliation Cadre (a bunch of units that auto deep strike turn 2). I don't see where deep striking units HAVE to be moved dropped in first so top of turn 2 can I move my devilfish 12" then use that position to use my recon drone from or do I have to use the location the devilfish ended the bottom of turn 1 from, aka deep striking units come in top of turn 2 then I can move my transport?
   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






From what I can understand (I don't understand all your sentences), I would say that in any turn deep striking occurs before you can move any other unit (cf. the rules for units arriving from reserve). So it will be from the position of the Drone at the end of turn 1, for units arriving in turn 2.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/08/03 11:48:17


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Moving on from reserves is done BEFORE anyone else moves that turn.
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






No but if those pathfinders are also coming in from reserve you can make them arrive first, preferably outflank, and then deep strike around them.

3000
1500
2200 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

 Hades wrote:
No but if those pathfinders are also coming in from reserve you can make them arrive first, preferably outflank, and then deep strike around them.

Except that the unit with the homer needs to start the turn on the board in order to be able to use the homer for unit arriving by deep strike. As in, you can't outflank a homer and then use it as a homer.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






 jeffersonian000 wrote:
 Hades wrote:
No but if those pathfinders are also coming in from reserve you can make them arrive first, preferably outflank, and then deep strike around them.

Except that the unit with the homer needs to start the turn on the board in order to be able to use the homer for unit arriving by deep strike. As in, you can't outflank a homer and then use it as a homer.


The homing beacon (p. 122) does not have such restriction. Does it comes from a FAQ?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 RenegadeKorps wrote:
 jeffersonian000 wrote:
 Hades wrote:
No but if those pathfinders are also coming in from reserve you can make them arrive first, preferably outflank, and then deep strike around them.

Except that the unit with the homer needs to start the turn on the board in order to be able to use the homer for unit arriving by deep strike. As in, you can't outflank a homer and then use it as a homer.


The homing beacon (p. 122) does not have such restriction. Does it comes from a FAQ?


The draft FAQ actually confirmed that the homing beacon doesn't have to be on the battlefield at the beginning of the turn.

It also states that the homing beacon can not be embarked upon a vehicle. This is however superseded by the reckon drone special rule (from codex TE p120).
   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






fresus wrote:
It also states that the homing beacon can not be embarked upon a vehicle. This is however superseded by the reckon drone special rule (from codex TE p120).


If the FAQ states it, it is not superseded by the codex : the codex is superseded by the FAQ.
This is in line with other GW answers where they state that the special rules of an embarked model are ignored while the model is in the vehicle.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






The FAQ is only talking about the homing beacon wargear on a passenger(generally an ethereal); the recon drone, while treated as a passenger, also gives the devilfish a homing beacon and a positional relay.

So yes you are right, the recon drone's beacon and relay do not work while embarked; while it is embarked the devilfish also has those items of wargear.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in fr
Tough Traitorous Guardsman






Oh I understand. I thought only the recon drone could have a homing beacon.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/08/04 20:48:53


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yeah Ethereals can get it too(the question was actually specifically about an ethereal). Can't remember if anyone else can get it other than I think it is a vehicle upgrade and possibly a stealth suit upgrade.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Reliable Krootox






Tetras come with a Homing Beacon. With their ability to Outflank 12" onto the board, they are great at getting Deep Striking suits where they need to go, then supporting them with Markerlights.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




In which order have reserves to come in? In a 4 person match I wanted to bring pathfinder first to get in some accurate deepstriking Crisis suits. But my opponents said, deepstriking units are coming first. Then other reserves. As all 3 said the same I looked not up in the brb. Is this correct?
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




No. You choose the order in which your units move. the only restriction is that units arriving from reserve must move on first, then units which were already on the table may move.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

ItsPug wrote:
No. You choose the order in which your units move. the only restriction is that units arriving from reserve must move on first, then units which were already on the table may move.

And any special rule that is defined as being used at the start of the turn cannot be used when a unit arrives by default.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Relevance?

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA


The beacon has to be on the table before an arriving unit can use it, as was mentioned earlier in the thread.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






A) the beacon does not state anything about Being used at the beginning of the turn or movement phase. So Christoph's statement is not relevant.

B) As was stated earlier in the thread; the FAQ says it can be used(or the benefit applies as a more accurate phrasing) the same turn it comes on from reserves.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: