Switch Theme:

Quick question about razorbacks  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Chillicothe, OH

With the heavy flamer, how do you measure the template? It seems if you have to shoot something in front, you're missing most of the template and your vehicle is under it.

My Painting Blog, UPDATED!

Armies in 8th:
Minotaurs: 1-0-0
Thousand Sons: 15-3

 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Georgia

The template comes from the weapon itself. The template cannot cross the razorback itself, meaning it has a limited arc of 180 degrees. Ironically, being directly in front of the razorback is one of the safest places to be, as the flamers can't hit you.

"The undead ogre believes the sack of pies is your parrot, and proceeds to eat them. The pies explode, and so does his head. The way is clear." - Me, DMing what was supposed to be a serious Pathfinder campaign.

6000 - Death Skulls, Painted
2000 - Admech/Skitarii, Painted 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





 Vitali Advenil wrote:
The template comes from the weapon itself. The template cannot cross the razorback itself, meaning it has a limited arc of 180 degrees. Ironically, being directly in front of the razorback is one of the safest places to be, as the flamers can't hit you.


I'm pretty sure that vehicles exclude themselves from the AoE of their own template weapons.


ATTENTION
. Psychic tests are unfluffy. Your longing for AV is understandable but misguided. Your chapter doesn't need a separate codex. Doctrines should go away. Being a "troop" means nothing. This has been a cranky service announcement. You may now resume your regularly scheduled arguing.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Chillicothe, OH

I was wondering that, because it doesn't make sense. The turret is 360 and in the center of back half. It'll hit itself no matter what.

My Painting Blog, UPDATED!

Armies in 8th:
Minotaurs: 1-0-0
Thousand Sons: 15-3

 
   
Made in gb
Assassin with Black Lotus Poison





Bristol

Wyldhunt wrote:
 Vitali Advenil wrote:
The template comes from the weapon itself. The template cannot cross the razorback itself, meaning it has a limited arc of 180 degrees. Ironically, being directly in front of the razorback is one of the safest places to be, as the flamers can't hit you.


I'm pretty sure that vehicles exclude themselves from the AoE of their own template weapons.


This. There are no special rules for vehicles firing template weapons, so they just follow the rules in the Template Weapons special rule. This means that the template must be placed such that it touches the most models in the target unit without touching any other friendly models, including in the firing unit. It then also says that a template weapon never hits the model firing it.

So your razorback is fine to have the template go over its own hull as the template is only barred from touching other friendly models and the model firing the template is immune to the template.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/08/30 00:40:42


The Laws of Thermodynamics:
1) You cannot win. 2) You cannot break even. 3) You cannot stop playing the game.

Colonel Flagg wrote:You think you're real smart. But you're not smart; you're dumb. Very dumb. But you've met your match in me.
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Georgia

Oh, I must have been thinking of some other model with the 180 degree sponsons. My mistake.

"The undead ogre believes the sack of pies is your parrot, and proceeds to eat them. The pies explode, and so does his head. The way is clear." - Me, DMing what was supposed to be a serious Pathfinder campaign.

6000 - Death Skulls, Painted
2000 - Admech/Skitarii, Painted 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






No you are just thinking of direct-fire arc of fire.

A predator blocks its own lascannons from firing through it at a model in front-center, but templat weapons excuse themselves from that restriction.

Of course we really don't have any rules on how a redeemer fires its sponson flamestorms but oh well.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Legendary Dogfighter





RNAS Rockall

BRB pg 173, Template weapons boxout, paragraph 2 wrote:
A template weapon never hits the model firing it.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
No you are just thinking of direct-fire arc of fire.

A predator blocks its own lascannons from firing through it at a model in front-center, but templat weapons excuse themselves from that restriction.

Of course we really don't have any rules on how a redeemer fires its sponson flamestorms but oh well.


What is fast becoming my favorite line in the book:
BRB pg 15 column 2 heading "own unit" wrote:

Firing models can always draw line of sight through members of their own unit just as if they were not there.


which contests the position that a model firing is not part of its own unit.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2016/08/30 09:53:14


Some people find the idea that other people can be happy offensive, and will prefer causing harm to self improvement.  
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

The requirement to not touch friendly models only mentions other friendly models. If the template touches the firing model it's irrelevant.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Chillicothe, OH

It still seems pointless to fire at anything directly in front of the razorback though lol. You're losing like 5" of the template... Well, that's assuming you don't have that nifty Promethium Pipes purchases.

My Painting Blog, UPDATED!

Armies in 8th:
Minotaurs: 1-0-0
Thousand Sons: 15-3

 
   
Made in gb
Legendary Dogfighter





RNAS Rockall

 nintura wrote:
It still seems pointless to fire at anything directly in front of the razorback though lol. You're losing like 5" of the template... Well, that's assuming you don't have that nifty Promethium Pipes purchases.


Which, sadly, only work on non-vehicle models.

Some people find the idea that other people can be happy offensive, and will prefer causing harm to self improvement.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Chillicothe, OH

 malamis wrote:
 nintura wrote:
It still seems pointless to fire at anything directly in front of the razorback though lol. You're losing like 5" of the template... Well, that's assuming you don't have that nifty Promethium Pipes purchases.


Which, sadly, only work on non-vehicle models.


Well....poop. Would have been amazing for Bray'Arth...

My Painting Blog, UPDATED!

Armies in 8th:
Minotaurs: 1-0-0
Thousand Sons: 15-3

 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

The solution is super simple.
Always pivot so your turret is not over the hull.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Corennus wrote:
The solution is super simple.
Always pivot so your turret is not over the hull.


Alternatively follow the rules which don't consider it an issue in the first place. There is no restriction on placing the template over the firing model.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Chillicothe, OH

 Mr. Shine wrote:
 Corennus wrote:
The solution is super simple.
Always pivot so your turret is not over the hull.


Alternatively follow the rules which don't consider it an issue in the first place. There is no restriction on placing the template over the firing model.


Good thing too, poor Defiler....

My Painting Blog, UPDATED!

Armies in 8th:
Minotaurs: 1-0-0
Thousand Sons: 15-3

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: