Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 08:05:45
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
Looking for a second opinion here, I'm hoping that I'm wrong but does a unit actually have to officially disembark from a transport or have the transport destroyed around it before it can charge from it?
This is with regards to counter-charge special rule.
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 08:13:00
Subject: Re:Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Not quite sure what you're asking. A unit must be on the table at the start of the Assault phase in order to charge - it may not charge directly out of a transport vehicle, regardless of whether that vehicle has the Assault Vehicle special rule.
Also not seeing the link to the Counter-charge special rule.
Could you give us an example of what you mean?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 08:13:37
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Not really sure I'm getting the question here.
A unit cannot be in it a transport when it charges, it has to be outside of it.
I don't understand how this relates to the counter-charge special rule. Counter charge gives you +1 attack when an enemy unit charges your unit. The enemy cannot charge a unit that is in a transport.
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 08:56:43
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
|
Just trying to unravel this...
So what (I think) you're trying to ask is: " If my unit was forced to disembark from their transport, are they allowed to benefit from the 'Counter Charge USR' since units cannot charge out of a transport without the 'Assault Vehicle' type?
(After a quick google since I don't have my rulebook with me at work so if anyone could double check that would be welcome) - Counter Charge- At the end of your opponents Charge subphase, you can declare a charge with any unengaged units from this detachment, so long as each enemy unit that you attempt to charge is locked in combat with another unit from this detachment. Any units that do so count as charging for all rules purposes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/01 08:59:36
Hawky wrote:Power Armour's greatest weakness is Newton, the deadliest snfbtch in space.
"You're in the Guard(ians), son! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 09:36:40
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
I know one of you has Counter Charge mistaken for Counter Attack, I'm suspecting both do.
Counter Charge is a situational detachment bonus that allows an unengaged Space Wolves unit to declare charges on enemy units that have declared charges that turn. In short, you charge my stuff and at the end of your charge phase I declare charges with any unengaged unit that can reach that combat.
Example: I drop three drop pods in front of some close combat units, one pod bearing Long Fangs armed to the teeth with heavy weapons and two with Wulfen, Long Fangs make their presence known with snap-fire shots accompanied by my cursing, Wulfen can't charge because they arrived from reserves this turn. I pass turn. My opponent takes the bait and charges the Long Fangs to off them before they shoot again. Opponent finishes their charges and I start declaring Counter Charges with the Wulfen at the end of their charge phase.
This works because Drop Pods bail everything out when they land. This doesn't work because I can't get a unit of Wulfen with access to both drop pods and Counter Charge.
I can however get units of Wulfen with access to both Land Raiders and Counter Charge. Question is can they charge from the inside of the Land Raider or can they only make the charge after they've exited for whatever reason.
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 09:46:13
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Second sentence after 'Declare Charge' in the Assault phase section:
"A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit that it cannot see,"
How do you propose to determine a unit's charge range when it is not on the table?
How do you propose to determine whether the unit can see what they wish to charge when it is not on the table?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/01 09:46:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 10:29:27
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Second sentence after 'Declare Charge' in the Assault phase section:
"A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach, nor can it declare a charge against a unit that it cannot see,"
How do you propose to determine a unit's charge range when it is not on the table?
How do you propose to determine whether the unit can see what they wish to charge when it is not on the table?
Range from the Land Raider's assault ramp.
Both range and sight in the same way a unit that's not technically on the board judges range and draws line of sight through a Rhino's firing hatches.
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 10:37:06
Subject: Re:Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Apologies for getting Counter Attack and Counter Charge mixed up. Never heard of it before now.
You are only allowed to draw line of sight from firing points (or open topped vehicles), and only explictly shooting or witchfire attacks. You cannot use fire points for other reasons, such as non-witchfire psychic powers.
Since a land raider is neither an open topped vehicle, nor has any fire points, you're doubly out of luck to try and draw LoS from within it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 10:52:04
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Dakka Wolf wrote:Range from the Land Raider's assault ramp.
Both range and sight in the same way a unit that's not technically on the board judges range and draws line of sight through a Rhino's firing hatches.
The Land Raider's assault ramp isn't the unit, though, and there's only a few specific ways in which you're allowed to disembark from a Transport vehicle. Charging isn't one of them.
And as Quanar said, a Land Raider has no Fire Points and is not open-topped, and even if it did/were, they are very specifically used only for drawing line of sight for shooting attacks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/01 10:52:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 11:26:08
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
So the Wulfen are a bust, leaves one last option - Murderfang in a Lucius Pattern Drop Pod.
Murderfang can get Counter Charge and choose to stay on board the Lucius Drop Pod which is an open topped vehicle so he can draw range and line of sight.
Can Murderfang Counter Charge out of the Lucius pattern Drop Pod?
|
I don't break the rules but I'll bend them as far as they'll go. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 11:50:08
Subject: Re:Assault Vehicle
|
 |
World-Weary Pathfinder
|
Still no. You only have range and Los for shooting from an open topped vehicle, not other purposes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 12:05:51
Subject: Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dakka Wolf wrote:So the Wulfen are a bust, leaves one last option - Murderfang in a Lucius Pattern Drop Pod.
Murderfang can get Counter Charge and choose to stay on board the Lucius Drop Pod which is an open topped vehicle so he can draw range and line of sight.
Can Murderfang Counter Charge out of the Lucius pattern Drop Pod?
By the rules, no. Of course, if you and your opponent agree to make this a house rule, then that's pretty epic, and I personally think it makes sense (even if it would be pretty powerful to do so).
But by the rules, no, you can't. The rules only allow a unit that's on the table to declare a charge. While thematically the unit in the transport is RIGHT THERE, by the rules it's not on the table, but rather off the table in the realm known as "embarked" (Population: your unit). It's only once the unit performs the disembark action that it can change from being embarked to being on the battlefield. Thematically, this represents the unit getting out the transport, but by the strict rules the unit pops into existence at the hatch before being moved so many inches in such and such a direction. Even if the transport is modelled such that you can see the unit it's carrying, the rules still treat it as not really being there, and that includes not being there to measure charge ranges to and from it.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/01 12:09:18
Subject: Re:Assault Vehicle
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
Quanar wrote:Apologies for getting Counter Attack and Counter Charge mixed up. Never heard of it before now.
You are only allowed to draw line of sight from firing points (or open topped vehicles), and only explictly shooting or witchfire attacks. You cannot use fire points for other reasons, such as non-witchfire psychic powers.
Since a land raider is neither an open topped vehicle, nor has any fire points, you're doubly out of luck to try and draw LoS from within it.
Sorry for missing your post, was still busy typing a reply on a phone. Counter Charge is new and has a lot in common with Fear. Seems like a cool idea until you realise how few times you'll actually get to use it. For a start, Space Wolves are the only army that has it and who in their right mind charges Space Wolves...that's why the whole scenario revolves around leaving loaded Long Fangs out as bait.
Guess the last option is sticking Murderfang in a normal pod and hoping he doesn't get blown up when it ejects him.
|
|
 |
 |
|